Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hero Arcade Edition

by Hyoga-3D - Jam Entry

Hello guys,

Hero Arcade Edition is a frenetic shooting game, now you are in the cave and need yo kill the monsters to survive, inspired in the old Atari game Hero, we made it using Unity 3D, Hope you like it!

Controls:
A W S D - Move
Arrows - Shoot
Shift / Double-A / Double-D - Dash

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#84Fun(Jam)3.59
#178Overall(Jam)3.51
#188Audio(Jam)3.47
#189Humor(Jam)3.09
#267Mood(Jam)3.28
#368Graphics(Jam)3.39
#506Innovation(Jam)2.70
#540Theme(Jam)2.79

Comments

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36am

Awesome! I really liked the opening little exposition. The graphics with shooting and the movement feels really epic, though I just can't seem to empty my clip. ;)
This one would have been more awesome with controller support though, overall nice job!

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

Fantastic .. Loves the Hardcore action .. i Wish there was a mouse support ..Fx are just superb.. Excellent work..Would like to see a more refined version of this in future..

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Dying all the time breaks the game flow a bit. Awesome effects!

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Hahaha. Fun game :D
Its so addictive ^^

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

This game makes me feel old and slow! Wheeeeeeeee.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Damn! Look at those gunblasts! :P
Really cool!
Mouse support would make it even more awesome though :)

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

The graphics and music make this so epic.
Controls were hard to grasp, but once I was able to stop dying all over again, it was really fun.

Goodjob.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47pm

OOoooo thats gun is so satisfying to use! Good fun! The only thing that could be improved is the camera jumping as I changed shooting direction, which made me lose my character. Not the most innovative game, but a good hardcore shooter with a quirky introduction.

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47pm

I foudn this very challeging. I had fun :)

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

GREAT!

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

This was a real blast and very addictive. The camera jumped around a bit erratically which made the game harder than it needed to be to play.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

GI Joe Style logo.

Nice game with nice style and a gameplay that works well..

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Awesome, but shooting in 8 directions only sucks

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Thank you guys, we are working on putting gamepad and mouse input to make the controls better, also we are working on a Online highscore, so you can play it and make it to to top!

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Nice Game, love the fast pace very fun

cavf88 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

This game is awesome! I had so much fun playing it. The graphics are really slick, the shooting is really cool. The game is fast paced which is fun and feels right. The camera movement was too fast though, something smoother would have been better. Also if the shooting controls would have been with the mouse instead of arrows, the game would be much better. Overall a fun game! Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

That was fun. Like, really fun :D great work.

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Good job, I like the choice you made to swing the camera when the player changes direction, and the gun is super satisfying. I might suggest letting the music continue after dying - I heard the opening riff quite a bit, haha.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I wonder if you saw the talk from Jan Willem Nijman - The Art of Screenshake :D Great job!

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

For some reason, I couldn't play your game, the controls weren't working for me.

mat1er says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Great and fun, all we need!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Nice and good game.

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

The game looks and feels very good, so energetic. Although there is some terrain clipping sometimes, and i hate strong screen shaking, it can be a little more subtle, without losing the game's pace

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Very frantic and difficult . . . I like it! :D

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Superb! Was looking for such a game... that explosion... beautiful!

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

This was a lot of fun. My only real complaint is the camera. The way I play this kinds of game(very twitch) makes it very disorienting. It feels like it needs to most a bit smoother when changing directions. Other than that I love this.

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

It's hard as hell!! But fun haha
Meybe it could be better if the camera didn't change so much

garbagetrucks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

I like the concept and with a bit more tuning I think it would feel great to me. The shooting feels awesome.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02am

The camera flipping back and forth when turning was a bit disorienting. Some more varying level geometry would've been nice, and perhaps the bad guys could have collided with the blocks as well.

Gun feels nice, the controls are good.

I used to love Hero on my C64. Nice homage.

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13am

Haha, nice game! I'm a sucker for bullets n' dashes n' all these "gamey" stuff. I wish the A and D double tap would be optional, though. I dashed unintentionally to my death more than once.

Maniulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Great camera work, and very nice game overall!

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17pm

My chrome isn't running unity games for some reason. ;/ But now I managed to play your game.

I really liked your game, it is a pretty hard shooter with nice details such as the dash and the bombs. My best was 18k.

giginet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Shooting good feeling! I will challenged many times. I want playing in the portable game machine.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Really cool, but I wait a mouse support. It may be better - I think. THX ++

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Great mechanics, music and art!

vexille says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I love the music! Reminds me of battletoads!

To add to what a lot of people are saying, this really should have controller support! At the very least, you should be able to shoot in more than 8 directions when using the keyboard. Like if you're shooting right and you press up, your aim gradually moves towards up instead of instantly. Or mouse support!

Also the dash felt kinda unnecessary, since you're already flying and all.

All in all, very cool!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18pm

JETPACKS + SUPER SATISFYING MACHINE GUNS = AWESOME!

Nice job with this one. It was one of my favorites :)

The graphics could use a little work, because the explosion art style and the pixel art style didn't really mix. Other than that, it was really polished and well done. Good job :)

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Very fun and fast paced game. The particle effects were really nice! My only complaint would be that the dash was a bit too easy to accidently perform. I would have prefered just a seperate key rather than the double tap.

Great work!

matt_j says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:37am

BAHAHAHA! This game is madness! I highly recommend this one :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18pm

is very difficult at first but once you get the hang is so much fun! congratulations.
Nice job! =D

ps: I hate that giant worm!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33pm

MADNESS ?? THIS IS SPARTA!!!! kkkk

Thanks for the feedback guys, soon we will make some upgrades.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:40am

Nice slippery gun sound and Big Beef explosion. Insect corpses! I wanted to kill the subterranean thing. But I didn't. Camera jerking made it hard change shooting direction.

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:12am

The game is pretty cool, but I kept accidentally dashing into monsters. I would rather it be only shift or have a smaller time threshold to detect double tapping.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:53am

Lol wow those particle effects are awesome! died reeallly quickly allot though :(

xdegtyarev says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:34am

Nice fast paced game. Liked it a lot.
Had some unexpected deaths because camera changes directions too quickly and I lost visually my position on screen. But nonetheless great work!

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:28pm

The music felt so good I just wanted to play more. The thing I didn't like was the camera movement when switching sides, It kind of made me lost

May 3, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Quite a cool game, very intense. The camera swinging actually made me a bit disoriented, and could probably do with toning down. The explosion effect is awesome. Nice music too.

AlbertoSM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Very accesible gameplay, but with some bugs on the movement, like I once was facing left and when I turned I suddenly appeared a few yards to the right, apparently wanting to hug some of the bugs lol! Pretty good looking game overall :)

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:49am

Fun game, but camera swung way too fast when switching directions in shooting.

Lacaranian says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Controls felt a little jerky, but nice design!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:21am

That was fun. Effects are cool. Challenging, but nice.

vilya says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:29pm

It seemed like sometimes the controls didn't work when I tried to move. Whenever I started by trying to run to the right, I was stuck in place.

I love classic arcade-style gameplay (my game was inspired in part by Defender) but this kind of threw you in at the deep end without enough time to figure out how to play. I'd suggest making everything move a bit slower to start, then ramping up the speed over time. Do that - and sort out the bug with the controls - and I think you'll have a great game on your hands!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]