Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trench War

by Deity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A team deathmatch game where you control a squad of units.

Fighting beneath the surface, in trenches gives you damage, movement and armor bonuses.

Made using Unity 4.3 (C#) engine, Paint.net for graphics and Audacity/BXFR for some audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#700Fun2.86
#730Audio2.42
#757Innovation2.79
#800Graphics2.79
#830Humor2.05
#836Mood2.67
#876Overall2.86
#1076Theme2.42
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Neat! Some silly AI :)

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Very fun game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

Nice concept! It reminds me of Canon Fodder.
Next step: improve IA!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice idea for the theme. Killing a guy was very satisfying. Perhaps would have been more fun if there was more fine grained control.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Fun little game! Didn't notice too much of a difference while in the trenches.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

Interesting way to use the theme! The AI was a little frustrating, but overall nice idea :)

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Pretty cool ! toot bad the injured soldiers don't go to the back of the team ^^. Nice exploding gory pixels

Wertle says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:07am

I like the idea of amorphously controlling a single squad of people, the trenches worked out well as a way of getting powerups just by wrangling your group.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:31am

good!!!!

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nice entry. Is there a winning condition?

Deity says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:46pm

There is no winning condition. It just gives you a score at the end based on how many kills you were able to get.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Simple but well-implemented game. Good job!
Perhaps you could add a way to let new soldiers spawn or upgrade/train your current soldiers.

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:30am

reminds me of lemmings + smash TV!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]