Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Obolos

by TeamEagle - Jam Entry

Oculus Rift version now available, seperate download:

https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/obolos/Obolos-Oculus-Mac.zip
https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/obolos/Obolos-Oculus-Windows.zip
https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/obolos/Obolos-Oculus-Linux.zip

Row as the story unfolds, maybe even meet a stranger along the way.

Can you tell what's going on?

HOW TO PLAY
Play together with your friends or strangers! (it's multiplayer, not required but more fun)
Left + Right mouse, or A + D to paddle
Hold shift to check your progress

TEAM EAGLE IS
Benjamin de Jager (@M0rph3v5)
Fedor Jutte (@fejuto)

TOOLS
Language: C# client, node.js server
Editor: Unity


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#19Mood(Jam)4.24
#48Audio(Jam)3.98
#66Graphics(Jam)4.31
#103Overall(Jam)3.67
#114Innovation(Jam)3.63
#203Fun(Jam)3.28
#474Humor(Jam)2.31
#501Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

tenpn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20am

So atmospheric and emotive. Loved the ending.

_Rilem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:41pm

A very moody and atmospheric experience. I spent 15 minutes rowing around to find the last lantern. But the clue was already spoiled because I found the lantern with the last word earlier. :<
When I found the last lantern the voice acting improved significantly. :P Other then that top notch audio that really fits the atmosphere.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I had a hard time playing this on a macbook pro track pad.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

The only complaint I really have is the speed of movement. It goes so incredibly slowly! However, beautiful, atmospheric game. Love it.

pragmascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

nice :)

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

Really great atmosphere. I too had a hard time paddling with the mac trackpad, but I still enjoyed the open sea :)

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:55am

Love how it looks. Great teamwork!

Rock48 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

This is going to fall into one of my favorite games of all time ever. This is one of the most beautiful things I've ever played.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31am

We've added A + D controls for people with a trackpad, which we noticed as well when we showed it to people. Thanks for the great comments thusfar! :)

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Beautiful! 10/10!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very nice atmosphere, really relaxing!

Capitals says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Nice, atmospheric and beautiful game. I really enjoyed it.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Great atmosphere and nice game! So moving, and the music and water effect are wonderfull.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Wow, very lovely! I just spent some time hanging around with the others trying to chat via voiceover.

The dialogs were so funny:
- "Who are you?"
- "I'm not sure"

or

- "Pay the fare"
- "What?"

FyberOptic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

This one was gorgeous, and the music was perfect. Good work!

shasharala says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:53am

That was so touching. Being led along by another I deciphered everything.
I was impressed and filled with great sorrow.

Almost says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:54am

Who are you? Go. Follow. I'm confused.

I can move around but have no idea where I am supposed to go. I tried following some other boats but they didn't seem to go anywhere so I now think that I am telling them to follow me, not the other way around.

I think I'm finding lanterns out of order now. 4 -> 6 -> 5 -> 7

It's really hard to tell where I have and havent been, and I really don't want to go to a lantern I've already visited when I move so slowly.

Almost says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:56am

ohhhh, the other boats were real people spamming commands. A lot of things make sense now.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Relaxes. Thank you :)

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:10am

Beautiful.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:22pm

A very interesting and atmospheric entry. The amount of work put into this project is really impressive.
I am pretty bad at paddling with the boat and it took me really long to get the first lantern, but I got the hang of it.:)

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Very relaxing entry. I was drawn into the world by the nice music and sound affects. Although I was not sure what do to at first once i went to the first lantern it was clear. The controls of the boat and camera could be improved.

Shide says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:34pm

There were no strangers in my walkthrough, but surelt that could be fun to yell at them all the time with some strange phrases. Graphics and audio is great, the tides were going through the boat sometimes though

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I also didn't find anyone in my playthrough. Would I be able to communicate with them by using the phrases I picked from the lanterns? That would be pretty interesting. Great atmosphere.

TeamEagle says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:53pm

@Make_A_Game

yeah, whenever you would press a number the other player would also hear it (when around).

King_Mew says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:43pm

That was amazing! It was interesting playing with other people. I didn't even realize it was an actual person until they started responding to my own voice commands. :P

Beautiful!

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Love this.

But why backward moving?

May 4, 2014 @ 6:59pm

First of all : add a menu/quit button & an end! A hate game you can't quit cleanly =(
But anyways the graphics are really cools, at first I didn't understood it was a multiplayer game, good job!

Twijgjes says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Reading these comments it turns out I was lucky. Got enough of the poem to start contemplating its meaning and on the edge of getting it I found the last sentence. I actually felt some emotion.

Logically the next thing I did was try to move on. First I tried rowing in one direction for a while, which resulted in seeing the same two other rowers again and again. Then I tried looking down in defeat. The change in light made me think the screen was fading out, but it was probably just the lantern. I tried visiting a floating chest again, nothing. Finding another yellow lantern was also impossible. Lastly I tried hanging around the other two 'people' that were there, we floated around for a bit blabbering incoherent sentences. Finally one of them disappeared and I realised moving on was probably going to be ALT+F4...

TeamEagle says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:18pm

@dector

ever rowed a boat before? ;) http://www.newfound.com/images/rowboats/rangeley15.jpg

mcapraro says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:51pm

lovely mood to this but i didnt know much about what i was doing...

May 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Very relaxing game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/LetpuBbjABA

DannyG59 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Really nice! Bet it's lovely with rift, mood and audio design is fantastic

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]