Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In the Black

by HybridMind - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can you bring a failing mine ore back to profitability?

Misc notes:
* Leave your score in the comments if you'd like!
* Yes, I wrote/played/recorded the banjo music during the competition.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#41Audio3.90
#144Mood3.64
#308Theme3.55
#357Overall3.39
#420Fun3.17
#512Humor2.49
#574Innovation3.05
#836Graphics2.72

Comments

sirival says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

Well done! I really liked the mood and gameplay. Reminded me of drug lord a little bit gameplay-wise. NIce!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Cool! Funny and evocative game. I really enjoyed the rustic banjo music, fits super well. I also liked the unintentional humor when I won:

Boss: Well done, well done indeed!

Me: OK.

Anyway, good work on this, had fun.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48am

Very innovative game play and the art style was very fitting.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

The presentation of this was spot on. The black background with white text reminded me of silent movies.

It was a little easy though as I won on my first play.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Quite stylish and slick for a text game!
Did you make the music? It works perfectly for the game.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01am

Took me a couple of tries, but I finally beat it! Great presentation, and even though it's entirely text-based it still has a nice feel to it. Good job!

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:42am

The music is really amazing. Probably the best I've heard so far. I also really liked the concept. Would love to see the progress represented visually somehow, but thats just me cause mines are rad to look at :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48am

So old-timey... that takes me back to the text adventure days. Catchy tune, interesting sim. I made the boss happy in the end, but at what cost? Those poor, poor workers.

It would be interesting to see this game with more UI indicators - perhaps a progress to $10k bar, and current mine stats - the whole show don't tell thing.

Good work, thanks for putting in the time!

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:53am

Banjo music is nice. The font fits your mining theme pretty good, but it is sometimes hard to read.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

"You've now earned $9994 towards your $10000 goal."

Gah!

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29am

Nice atmosphere, there. ;)

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:02am

I didn't expect to enjoy this, since I don't usually like "text" games, but this was pretty fun! Got $11580 on the fourth or fifth try. Cool!

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30am

Thanks for playing and all the feedback everyone, I appreciate it! I've never done a game in this genre before but I'm pleased with what I was able to accomplish. I added a note to the game's description, but I'll post it here too. Yes, I wrote, played, and recorded the banjo music for this competition. I'm glad so many seem to be enjoying it. Playing clawhammer banjo is one of my favorite things in the world.

hbocao says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:49am

Nice job! Simple and quick to play but also addictive. It would be very interesting if you expand this concept and throw it at the mobile market.

ryangatts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Interesting mood, but I didn't feel like I had much control other than figuring out the ideal path of decisions.

Raiyumi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:13am

Really cool game. It took me about 4 tries to get over 10k. The music is awesome too. :)

vilya says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:37am

Nice! Took me a few goes before I made the $10,000. Love that banjo soundtrack!

JayPC says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:47am

Love this game! Got 10k on my first try. The music was really good, i'm Jealous :P I feel like adding more options and adding an infinite mode where the monthly quota goes up every month and you have to keep making more and more money would be cool.

Mase says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:52am

Maybe some random events or something would help... or a visual representation of the mine growing... or something. It's a bit dry as is. Very nice banjo-playing though.

Penguincat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:43am

This was a lot of fun! Although it's very minimalistic, it's very good at what it does. And of course, that music was great! I also love the silent movie feel to the text. The only downside is it's very light on content, it would be cool if there were more complications and choices along the way, especially randomized events and a wider range of strategies, because as it stands once you figure out the best order to do things in then there's not much reason to play it again. If you expanded this into a deeper management game, I'd probably be quite addicted to it for a while!

May 1, 2014 @ 7:11am

Interesting we did a similar take on the theme.

Anyway, good work =)

Zerkruemler says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:32am

Nice Idea and cool fitting music. Well done

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:56am

Woohoo, I made it!

Cool stuff. Neat little game that does excellent on portraying the mood! Great music, too.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Interesting concept. Surprisingly good sense of mood for a text based game, with the font and the music. Some graphical accompaniments would have been nice, and a bit more depth to the gameplay, but otherwise pretty good.

TaoPhoenix says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:19am

For those of you who were hoping for more depth, he was trying for it, but got jammed in the stat balancing. See his writeup here:
http://hybridmind.com/games/ludum-dare-29-in-the-black-post-mortem/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=ludum-dare-29-in-the-black-post-mortem

Meanwhile, there are at least a few paths to a win, so if you beat it once, look for one of the other ones.

MaesK says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Nice work, both audio and font style create a good atmosphere for the game.

I achieved the 10.000$ goal the first time (with caution), but it looks you may fail with ease with bad decisions. It seems well adjusted and choosing the same choice could be dangerous. Nice system.

Katamori says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Amazing in every aspects, especially Theme!

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:04pm

That is some amazing music, especially considering the time constraints. And I love the concept and presentation. It's actually surprising how, in essence, three choices (expand mine et al.) can form the bedrock of a really good game. And I don't often see text games in Unity, so that was interesting too (in a good way!)

HeroesGrave says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:11am

Great mood.

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Nice mood and a good tune. The interface was clean and stylish, and it wasn't obvious what decisions should be made to maximize profits and minimize risk at each point. Good work. :)

MrLeePerry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:38pm

That was fun, even as simple as it was, I dug it. (har har)

Larzan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Great concept, failed three times, captivating!

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Amazing entry! I archieved $10.037 :)

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Enjoyed that. Simple but satisfying.

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Fun game and very complete. Simple idea and works well with the theme. Met goal second time through.

mark.goetz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I like this a lot! You added in a bunch of strategy within such a short timeframe - it reminds me of a board game that I'd want to play. The music and visual design add a lot to it, too. My only criticism is that it is a bit short of choices and other interesting things happening, but it made it really fast to replay and try different strategies. Nicely done!

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:41pm

The music was great! The game was very engaging and thoughtful. Really great writing.

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Managed to scrape together the agreed upon 10k$ after three tries. Felt like Cookie Clicker with a time limit in a good way! Lovely atmosphere with the banjo and the black and white graphics.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Striwx says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very cool ! I think it's need more graphics to illustrates what is going on for the game beeing more intuitive. Love the music !

csanyk says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:14am

It reminds me of the Apple ][ game Lemonade Stand, except I could understand and win it pretty easily.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice I liked the mood you set with the white on black, the old west style font, and banjo.The gameplay seems well balanced, I got $9,200+ my first play through which was so close I needed to play again, which is something I like to see but after that it's way too easy.

~AlucardX60

Anoarith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:17am

Very cool game :) ! I liked the music a lot and the game mechanic was nice.

wademcgillis says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:04am

At the end when it said I had thousands left to make by the end of the week, I thought I'd lose. I won at the last week and it was a surprise.

If you work on it more in the future, try adding different color schemes because the white on black is difficult to read sometimes.

Crowbeak says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Nice! My first LD game was a simulation done entirely in text, but I did it in Python and couldn't make builds to distribute and had no fonts or music or anything. You have me beat on those fronts. xD Dunno if this is your first or not, though.

PetorialC says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:54am

Nice little management game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]