Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ocean WildLife

by belva1234 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Is a normal day in the dark ocean for "GreenTern",help him survive the day in the wild ocean

04/30/2014 updated the version for a bugfix(collision to the fishing hook)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#171Mood3.55
#202Graphics3.78
#308Theme3.55
#318Audio3.14
#544Overall3.19
#608Innovation2.98
#699Humor2.24
#886Fun2.64

Comments

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Very nice! I love the graphics!

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Nice, dark game.
The level design is nice, even if there is in effect only one design with a few objects moved around a bit.
Dynamic lighting is very pretty, and all of the resources are done to a high standard.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Love the mood, the audio and the mechanic of luring enemies to common deadly traips, but collision detection on the hook is meh.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Amazing graphics, interesting exploration-based gameplay... Only complaint is that the moment is a bit slow, but other than that, all very good... Excelent aesthetics!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Neat graphics, a little dark and hard to see on my laptop screen, though.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Quite a nice game, I really like how it uses the light system, and the music is really catchy. I don't like how it restarts suddenly if you even get close to a hook tho: a sound or some sort of warning would have been really cool!

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I think this is the highest score I've been given yet, I really enjoyed it, the graphics are amazingly well done and the game all in all is really cool, I did have a hard time finding the exits tho :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Cool idea!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

BEST LD game I've ever play for sure. The graphics, audio, collisions... Just everything is perfect.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Really neat graphics! The gameplay felt a bit slow, but the engine was nice and solid; I liked the shark-luring gameplay.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

Very very good! Go on Belva!

belva1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46pm

ty all so much for the feedback,after the compo i will make a better version and put it on Android , so follow me #belva12341 and stay tuned

v3games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Love the mood.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Love the idea, very good work ;)

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

The mood in this game is great! It didn't really make intuitive sense to me that touching the side of a fishing line would kill you.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Really nice work !
I like the atmosphere !
(the fish is maybe to slow)

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

A bit slow paced, but good graphics and general feel of the game.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

If you could just find a way to make everything else completely dark and maybe make the minimap brighter and maybe add one checkpont I think the game would be much better

BigRat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Cool Game.You Know what i mean.

Kep says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Not too bad. Nice control of mood.
I could really use some checkpoints. I gave up after losing a lot of progress. (sorry)

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Nice mood, although a bit too dark for me. Keep up with the good work! :)

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Very cool. Nice mood

May 1, 2014 @ 3:05am

Love the graphics and feel of this game! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) youtu.be/HquvNllyc50

May 1, 2014 @ 8:33am

Nice exploration game, the mood is great although it will gain with a little bit more of contrast (I ended up playing only with the minimap cause I couldnt see the rest).

Techblogogy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:45am

Cool game and graphics, but it was a bit hard to see

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:21pm

I liked the aesthetics of the game and its simplicity. However, I would have liked to have of a challenge for exploration to be more exciting.

Harsay says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Nice game. I wish there was some checkpoints, but I liked details like light and coral reef and fish animations. Good job!

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:56am

Pretty cool game graphics and mecanism.
Exploration is a bit hard, I wish my lamp to light a bit more far.

MidCry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Neat yet cool idea ... Great work

gwa says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Cool Game I like the Graphics

TomboFry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I know it's supposed to be dark, but I still had trouble spotting where I was going. With that being said however, I really like the graphics, and the music was very fitting.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:58pm

The level kept starting over... was I dying? It was too dark to see anything.

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:16pm

i really like the atmosphere to this game, well done!

paps says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:47pm

love the graphics, and the music

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I like the dynamic lighting and the deep sea effect. Very dark.

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Now I know what an angler fish feels like :)

PaperBlurt says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:47pm

I've always loved these deep water fish.
Why haven't anyone made a game about them before?
(or maybe someone has?)

belva1234 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:17pm

@PaperBlurt follow me and you will see the final result of this game on andorid :)

thaaks says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Good colors and graphics - they create a wonderful mood.
I would have loved a bit more different shapes for the corals/spikes but that's a minor issue.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:30pm

nice mood!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]