Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Descent

by sirdorius - Jam Entry

Ooops... You're stranded on an alien planet. Get to the core to find energy for your ship and then escape before the planet explodes. Use your fancy harpoon gun that bounces off enemies and acquires their power. How many different attacks can you chain with your gun?

Unfortunately we didn't manage to polish or even finish the game as we wanted it, but this a great learning experience nonetheless, and we had fun. So if you like the concept stay tuned for an updated Post Ludum version in the coming days!

Update: Fixed a game breaking bug where the player didn't take damage and sometimes the teleporter to the next level didn't spawn

WASD - Move
Space - Jump
Mouse - Aim
Click - Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#58Graphics(Jam)4.35
#140Overall(Jam)3.58
#150Innovation(Jam)3.51
#181Fun(Jam)3.32
#184Mood(Jam)3.49
#206Theme(Jam)3.49
#246Audio(Jam)3.34
#403Humor(Jam)2.48

Comments

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12am

Good job !
I like your concept (: And your little robot is so cute !
Need polishing, but it's cool

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Beautiful! Little robot reminds me of Eve from WallE. :D Good use of the theme as well. My energy bar never seemed to go down?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Cool stuff :) It's pretty fun to play but it doesn't have much mechanics yet (or it might just be me being stupid, hehe). The sound is a bit weird (all the bombs that suddenly go boom :p) but I thought it was pretty fun and set a good mood for the game :)

RetroEpic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Cool! after killing all the monsters on the surface I didn't know what to do after that, how to get monsters below me.

ezolotko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

This is a fun game.

cirpig29 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Enjoed it. Unfortunately my comuter has no sound now - so I could not rate the audio.

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

nice colours and graphics!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Great idea. But It seems thant ennemies deal no damage to me ( maybe the gamedev mode ? ) . Also I was stuck 2x times because teleport didnt appear. I could finish the gam on my thierd attempt. Nice ending and nice colorful little planet :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Great style, like all the different characters and the ship crash landing is a nice intro to the game.

Hippolyta says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Very nice game - superb presentation, beautiful graphics and fitting audio!
The gameplay is also good - the whole piece looks very polished to me... :-)

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Great approach to the theme, and beautiful graphics (I love the way the planet layers are drawn) :D

Well done!

tenpn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:13pm

the arcing harpoon in a small round planet is a cool idea.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:18pm

i like the concept a lot. the background looks really cool!

demonshanker2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:18pm

This is a really neat concept and a good play on the theme, good job!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Really nice graphics, I like how the planet is round and you can walk around the whole thing, and going down into the various layers of the planet is cool too. Pretty fun game.

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice gameplay, it gets addictive. The robot reminds me of Eve from Wall-E XD.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Got stuck on the surface, but this has a lot of polish and smooth controls.

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Solid, with an original mechanic. physics are good, music is good, graphics are good. Nothing is perfect, but everything is done to a high standard.
Fun to play.

eteeski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Amazing art :) I also love the particle effects. Cool level with the layers. Really awesome :)

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Pretty good art! I would have liked a death screen instead of just restarting the game. But it's overall good :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:01am

Very nice art, but the gameplay could be improved a little bit, maybe you could make the gun shoot faster, nice overall.

MrLeePerry says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:08am

Great visuals and style, and really love the circular environment. Wish the shooting was faster/more responsive and I wasn't sure if there was a goal. I got to the lower level and thought that was a great mechanic. Really slick though!

ALobker says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:36am

Awesome game. Is there any way to regenerate health?

zorfmorf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:42am

I like the direction this is going (concept, art style and music) and would love to play the polished/finished version.

Things I noticed during my playthrough
- Very often random explosion sounds while playing even when no enemies are on the screen. Takes a little bit away from the otherwise good music
- The camera position when walking makes it hart to see where I am going and often I will run right into an enemy because I can't see them coming
- Jump seems to be not working more often than not and is not high enough to be of any use (to jump over a portal f.e)
- If you play on after the first death enemies often drop several portals at once and they lead all over the map (it doesn't seem to happen on the first run so I guess that's a bug?)

sirdorius says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Thanks you all for the feedback. To answer some of your questions:

- no, there is currently no way to regenerate health.
- jump height is low because you can actually quadruple jump (we failed to explain that properly)

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Very Cool!

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Really great graphics, I love the art style. And the sound is pretty good. The robot is the cutest.

I had a pretty difficult time figuring out what to do, I kept hitting myself in the head with harpoons. I wasn't able to finish the game but I think I got to the last layer.

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Really great art, though game could have used some polish. Maybe checkpoint and health pickups?

angelk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:27am

I love the character and enemy designs.

May 10, 2014 @ 5:55pm

nice game ,love the art!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Interesting game, I think it'd much better if you could tell which teleporter goes up and which goes down; in all my playthorughs I kept returning to the top level by mistake instead of keeping going deeper.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]