Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Bored Room

by evilDan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Bored Room - about what's happening under the surface of someone's facade during a boring meeting.

Please play it in Google Chrome!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#48Humor3.79
#402Innovation3.29
#467Fun3.11
#515Audio2.84
#871Mood2.64
#912Theme2.79
#917Graphics2.60
#971Overall2.74

Comments

evilDan says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Crappy, but finished! Hopefully someone will get a laugh :)

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12am

I laughed ;)!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Loved it! Helps that my surname is Jones too, that absolutely is me in meetings :D

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

I like the idea, but it's really too short.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35am

Lol... Exactly like me XD

madflame991 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

Had a laugh, short but fun!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Heh, I know that kind of meeting, very true to life... Happens like this all the time ! :) Nice work!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37am

It's actually a really cool idea. I think if it was fleshed out more, with questions and platforming interlaced for a longer game, that would be a lot of fun.

Akihidas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39am

Love the idea behind this :)

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

I loved the concept! It would be nice if it were a little longer, maybe with different types of daydreams. Great job!

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Man that was a really neat idea. Everything is in place for a really interesting game. I liked the sense of discovery when I hopped out of the thought bubble. Even though the game was so short, there was this brief " I can go anywhere! " sensation. I would have been content slaying slimes all over the desk.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:53pm

A bit short indeed, but I totally know what it feels to be stuck for hours in meetings :)

Nice take on the theme, I liked it

May 1, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Really funny! I liked the idea behind this lots and the voiceover was just like a meeting I came out of about 2 hours ago!

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:34am

After playing this, I'm pretty sure we must work together.

Pixlexia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:39am

Blablablablabla LOL. Really funny entry!

evilDan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Thank you everyone for giving it a go! Sorry it was so short :$

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:12am

Lol!! Yes I definitely laughed, I wish this was longer though, heaps of potential!

Teesquared says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:15am

Bleh ...

littleball says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Good humor. Short but sweet. Well done.

Hexadecima1 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:16pm

The game was very funny. It could have been longer and have had multiple endings depending on my response, but heh, what ya gonna do?

jorgemoag says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Wow, very interesting concept! I really like the graphics

Seme says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nicely done! Good work

Alucard J says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:35am

Great fun idea, nice job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]