Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

VRAM hacker

by fizzics - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HACK, HACK! Now using video memory in this puzzle game!

There are many surfaces in our world. One is graphical surface. Most of you had seen some graphical artifacts and some of you even had fun exploring video memory. Why not to use this information to steal some private information?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Innovation4.12
#240Overall3.53
#281Fun3.38
#568Theme3.25
#585Graphics3.13
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

I've been thinking of making a game similar to this for a long time, I'm glad someone finally has. Excellent job :)

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47am

Great game! I really like this one!

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51am

This game is awesome, challenging and fun. I gave up at the first level but this is awesome.

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

Challenging, but I like it anyways. Was a bit too easy to cheat by unzipping the JAR file and looking at *some* files, but anyways I like the game, especially the interpretation of the theme

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Damn great concept!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:44am

Interesting, even if very hard. This would be a cool game to expand on!

GertJohnny says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:53am

Pretty interesting, a new twist on a classic mechanic.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:07am

interesting idea but I had no patience for it - sorry - nice effort

rincewind_cz says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:44am

Nice, but puzzle mechanics need some work - it's not really user friendly now (swapping of tiles for example...), and sometimes the piece just disappear without reappearing!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]