Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Sunken City

by petrocket - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I fixed the crash bug so you can now play it outside XCode (see below) - also ported to windows, but post processing not working so it looks worse.

It's not really a game, I just wanted to post what I had because I had fun making this much.

Short video of gameplay:
http://youtu.be/5xcL7qYm-fU

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#319Graphics3.56
#432Theme3.40
#922Overall2.80
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Nice. Wish there was more gameplay, but still very nice.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17am

Well, the screenshot looks awesome!

Mythalore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40am

Maybe work on fixing what ever issue is causing the build to crash and then upload a link to that playable build. You can fix crash bugs after the deadline, just not add features. I'll be waiting until then to rate, obviously as you shouldn't rate unplayable games.

BigRat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51am

I think it's cool game

MarsBar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:54am

I would have loved to see a web build, but it's all good, there is a lot of potential here.

petrocket says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Crash bug fixed! Not sure what it was but probly due to running out of memory while loading the models from disk all in one go. Anyways, now you can play it on OSX at least

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:45am

good!

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:24pm

achieves quite a pleasant mood :)

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:42pm

I know you said it's not a game, but it definitely needs some kind of challenge or risk element. I like the exploration and the movement feels pretty good (although maybe he could be sinking?).

The animations and 3d art are all very impressive for 48h.
I like the mood the music and fog/colors create.

Slick menu ui for losing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]