Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rewire

by drilltail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Peer into the world's inner machinery. Rearrange it as you see fit.

Rewire is a platformer where you can peek at the rules behind the game world, and then "rewire" them to solve puzzles. Steal a fast monster's speed and make it your own. Give your own ability to walk to a lifeless rock.

Controls:
- Walk: A, D (arrow keys work too if you really want)
- Jump: W
- Toggle Rewire Mode: Space
- Rewire properties: Drag with mouse

How to rewire:
- Press Space to enter Rewire Mode
- Drag a property onto yourself or another object to move it
- Green properties are yours
- Blue properties belong to something else
- Red properties cannot be moved

Remember to press 'R' if you get in an unwinnable situation.

NOTE: You may have to click the screen before the game will accept input.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.64
#32Overall4.03
#54Fun3.86
#285Audio3.19
#451Graphics3.32
#528Theme3.30
#530Mood3.00
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

Love the concept for this game. I feel some may not understand it though so maybe tweak the tutorial a little. Time to go play a bit more.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:35am

Very creative! Although I couldn't for the life of me figure out how Level 4 was meant to be solved due to how everything is knocked back randomly from explosions. It felt impossible to plan.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I did it! Stage 4 took a while to figure out, but it is perfectly solvable by wits alone :-)

The boss fight was quite hard, but I still managed. This is a really new concept, I like it a lot, full score in innovation! The graphics are good, and it matches the theme.

Why does this have so few ratings? You should go out and rate others so you become more visible, this game deserves it.

Only thing that made it a bit hard is that sometimes it doesn't understand where I want to attach a property, maybe the interface needs a few tweaks.

All in all a great entry! I was really entertained!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Super clever!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:21am

Very clever Idea for game play, I like it quite a bit.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

That was seriously impressive. Very clever use of the theme for the mechanics, fun to play. I hope you take this farther after the competition.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:30am

That was completely rad! Definitely one of my "Game of the Jam" picks. I loved the last boss fight, for sure. The first time I had to give up my ability to walk was also a super cool moment. I'd like to see this polished up (in terms of graphics and controls), and given maybe a plot and some more levels.

Good job!

ruthiepee says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:34am

Wow, that was really difficult. LOVE the mechanic of swapping abilities-- that's so clever. The sprites are really cute too.

ReactorScram says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:42am

Music is good, the graphics are really cute. Wish it wasn't made with Flash. Could use some sound effects.

I defeated the boss but lost the ability to walk. Does my character live in a wheelchair after the game ends?

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:46am

wow great concept! its exactly like another one of the entries though, cant remember which. super fun!

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:46am

What a great idea! I had a ton of fun playing this game.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:48am

This concept is awesome!

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:55am

What a game, really good concept. I hope to see more of this.

Brian Corr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:10am

This game is baller as shit. What a great one. Good job.

I think the controls are a little janky on moving components: it would be nice to have a visual cue of where exactly to drag things. It was kind of annoying. Also, in stage 4 there was a bit of luck, sometimes the explosion destroyed the block on the button and I had to retry.

Would be nice to have some more sound, and some more animations. Still, that's 48h for you...

Overall this is great. Nice boss battle, too. SUPER

Mr. Jif says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:33am

I absolutely love this concept. And it was well implemented I thought. Good job!

Kep says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Neat! I actually liked this idea better that having both a property and a value, like Hack 'n Slash. I like not spending a chunk of my time pressing up and down arrows.
Well done!

May 4, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Well this is marvellous. Love the idea and the music! :D

Sestren says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:03am

Great audio and a great concept. Grabbing the fields was a little finicky at times, but overall, great job!

jacklehamster says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:06am

The idea seems interesting but the gameplay is complicated. I think if the system was simplified and the gameplay smoothened (like avoiding the [spacebar] interruption), it would be more enjoyable.

wschorn says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:49am

wow really innovative design! you pulled off mechanics and levels both really well ;D

Rustam says ...
Apr 16, 2017 @ 9:49am

Maintain the nice perform, My partner and i examine handful of content with this internet site and also I do believe your net website will be genuine intriguing and contains received sectors regarding great details.
http://mariyaaleksandrovich03.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]