Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mine[ing]

by MrBlade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hundreds of years ago, the Narcissistic Secret Authority who some call "NSA" scattered five pieces of a priceless relic throughout the country side. Not to be discovered until 314 years later by a bomb squad worker named Edgar, who was scanning the field for explosives. Sadly, because of a work related accident, Edgar does not have arms. Luckily though, through his extensive job experience, the man has learned how to create mines from thin air as well as be protected from all explosions. Will you have what it takes to blow the five relics out of the ground?

*Controls:*
W = Jump
A/D = Move left or right
Left Shift = Place mine.
Space = Blow up mine(s).
R: Reset player position to the top of the world.
C: Restart the world, regenerate the relics, reset player position.

*Tools That I Used:*
Notepad ++ - Text Editor (Website: http://notepad-plus-plus.org/)
C++ (Base) - Programming Language
SDL - Library (Website: http://www.libsdl.org/)
OpenGL / SDL (SDL_opengl.h) - Library (See SDL link^)
SOIL - Library used for loading graphics. (Website: http://www.lonesock.net/soil.html)
SFXR - Sounds. (Website: http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html)
MinGW - Compiler For C++ (Website: http://www.mingw.org/)
Photoshop CS2 - Graphics. (Website no longer available.)
Audacity - Audio. (http://audacity.sourceforge.net/)

I have had an issue where the game will go non-responsive on startup, make sure you have extracted the folder WITH the DLLs to a location before running it, if it still goes non responsive, restarting the application worked for me almost always.

While there are still some MAJOR kinks to work out if I wanted to do something with it outside of a jam, or something, I am quite pleased with it for a game I made in only 48 hours. While some things like collision don't work 100%, it's much much better than my last LD game, and that's all that really counts to me. Sadly, I feel like I had to rush to finish this game, and it's not as polished as I would like.

Play it and let me know what you think!
~Blade

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#734Humor2.19
#970Audio1.78
#980Theme2.65
#983Mood2.48
#1172Fun2.13
#1222Innovation1.93
#1250Overall2.06
#1251Graphics1.59

Comments

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

More playable than my game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29am

A good effort, though I can guess from the execution that you might be a beginner. I would suggest that, especially at this stage, rather than slogging through C++ and SDL, use a tool that simplifies game creation as much as possible. I highly recommend Clickteam Fusion though Game Maker is an excellent choice as well. I'm a professional programmer and know C++ inside and out but I still used Fusion for my entry, it just makes sense for gamejams unless your game has very special tech needs.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

Did you draw the relic yourself? It seems completely out of place art-wise.

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

@UltimateWalrus Thanks for the feedback! I used Unity and other programs like it for a couple of years before deciding I wanted to move on. While I can see the benefits of using something like Game Maker, Twine, Unity, etc, for Ludum Dare, I want to use C++ as is a better fit for me, and I think it will help me more in the long run.

@Suese I cut away a portion of this image, http://images.wikia.com/indianajones/images/archive/6/63/20110317221530!Chachapoyan_Fertility_Idol.jpg, then used filters and edited it to make it how I wanted. Re-reading the rules for clarification, "2. All game code and content must be created within the 48 hours." I think I may have broken the rules by not drawing it / not 100% creating it. Re-reading the further clarified rules (on the front page, http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/25/rules-and-guide-re-written-for-maximum-clarity/) "2. All images, models, textures, music, and sound must be created during the 48 hours. You cannot use any pre-existing art of any kind, whether you created it or found it online." Wow, I feel bad now. Hm. Does this really mean we can't use images based of stuff online and then edit them to make them fit our game? The only time I did something similar to this was in my first Ludum Dare and I entered it in the Jam, perhaps that is why nobody had a problem with it. In any case, I won't do it again, sorry. Thanks for pointing that out.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I think the collision detection can be a little wonky. I jumped towards a wall, got embedded in it, then ended up under the level I think...

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

This game is fun but relics look strange x)

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Decent try, keep honing those skills!

Myyyvothrr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:49am

Nice start, collision detection wasn't working, I could "fly" up on the walls so no need to restart the level.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:04am

I am sorry that you did not complete your game, but its a great start! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) youtu.be/HquvNllyc50

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:10pm

NOW I CAN SMITE EVERYONE FEAR ME

I mean, uh, nice game. Graphics obviously need work, but otherwise a solid concept, if a little bit 'trodden ground' in terms of the digging mechanic. Still, any game where I can blow up stuff as a method of archaeology is a good game in my books. Good effort!

CiderPunk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:11pm

shows promise but not keen on the all-left-handed control scheme!

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:31am

good!!!

May 4, 2014 @ 11:55pm

wowww a c++ game... good job!

koe415 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:04am

Good attempt at a digging game. Wonky collision made it so that I could easily end up within a block just by holding down jump.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]