Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Extinction

by loxo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's sunday evening as a global disaster happened. Nobody really knows what happened, but one thing is clear, only beneath the surface is life still possible. The sole survivors are the 5000 participants of the first cave game jam. The catastrophe happened only a few minutes after the submission for the game jam ended. Now the survivors have one task besides rating each others games: prevent the extinction of mankind.

Mine coal, iron and water to sustain the survivors and extend the existing buildings.


The game is far from finished, not every mechanics is working, a tutorial isn't included and mostly placeholder graphics are in the game. In the beginning the concept seemed really simple, but in time I realized I was too ambitious again. Maybe I will eventually learn to make smaller games.


Tools:
11" MacBook Air
GIMP
TextWrangler

Technology:
HTML
Javascript

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#608Innovation2.98
#623Theme3.19
#793Humor2.12
#895Overall2.83
#902Graphics2.62
#926Mood2.57
#1010Audio1.59
#1029Fun2.43

Comments

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57am

Looks good, lasted quiet long. link to the js file rather than back to the page for the source

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Interesting. I can see its not finished ( but then again its a game jam :P).

I really understand what you mean when you say you're being too ambitious. I do this all the time. Great job on the game, its fun even unfinished.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice game.

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

It looks like it has a lot of potential.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice :)
The name is well chosen ^^'

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05am

Well, as you said, the game is still quite rough, but I can see the jewel beneath the rock :-)

I hope that you take the time to polish and improve - I think one of the most important things right now is to show clearly what are the needs of the colony - you have bars over the menu, but a more colorful and explanatory HUD would be great.

Cheers!

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Seems like a few of these things don't actually have any noticeable effect, like the air scrubbers, hospital and workshop. Interesting concept, though!

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Nice, first of all I do like your setting :D "5000 cave game jam participants" *rofl* I build and build and it was somehow funny to see the underworld city grow, but in the end I go extincted. I see that you have the main-framework done and would be ready to start now with the real gameplay... maybe you find strength to go on. Nice job anyway

May 2, 2014 @ 8:41am

Really nice work. This quite a solid game for only 48 hours, it feels really polished gameplay wise. Great work :)

DeathBread says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Wow, impressive, what you were able to accomplish in just a few days!

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:14am

Nice concept. Could be cool with some more work.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Interesting game, wish to see it expand! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

Cake&Code says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:54am

As others have already pointed out, you've got a great start here. The mining and building all work and you've got the rudimentary population system going, now all you need is to make the real game part of it :)

May 8, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I think this game has potential. I agree that music would add a lot to this game, and without the tutorial, I really didn't know how to keep the population alive.

Loneshark says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I managed to stabilize my population to oscillate between 402 and 403, but I found myself questioning the mechanics for structure placement and ultimate goals.

In the end I found myself spamming mine clicks around the frontier borders of my cave town.

May 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

The story is awesome xD the game has a lot of potential :D Great work :D

Erkberg says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Quite unfinished, but I can see a lot of potential here.

TobiasW says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:01am

Your texts are nearly impossible to read in chrome (center) and hard in Firefox (left). Guess I'll actually use Internet Explorer (right) for this one... http://puu.sh/8ISri/486d121e4d.png

I have to admit that I'm not really sure what I was doing. I started digging and mining stuff, but there is no indicator of how much I have or need, and I just build some of everything, and for a while that worked out until it didn't. I'm sure you had a lot of cool stuff planned there, it's a pity you didn't finish it!

I also like your setting a lot! I wish there was actually a separate panel where I have to vote on things! :D

copain says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Not finished, but we see where you wanted to go and it seems good.
and nice story!

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice game. There is very cool different game mecanisms and already quite good in 48 hours. In my compo I also wanted to have different buildings and much more game mecanism but haven't unfortunately enough time for that, so I can understand.

on Chrome/Windows, the text of items are barely readable (font issue?) but it seems fine in your screenshot.

May 13, 2014 @ 5:00am

I like that you start with a simple space, but as your area grows, you end up with exponentially greater area to expand to.

Hexadecima1 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:09pm

The basis for the game seemed good, but it didn't explain anything. Your description indicates you are aware of this though.

kristof says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I like simulation games like this. My game developers died like flies and I couldn't really see what caused it. You should make the simulation a bit more transparent and show the player more stats. Still, a good start!

pikkpoiss says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:10pm

I wasn't sure whether placement affected things and my cave jammers died like flies, but I found myself enjoying the "let's build a bunch of these and see if people die slower" gameplay. Cool that you got this much done in 48 hours.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Gameplay definitely has potential that leaves me feeling sad that it wasn't developed further. Good luck with keeping your ambitions in control next time (but not too much, that will just get boring ;) )

Clinthoney says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:29am

Wished they was some audio but the graphics looked great.

george12 says ...
Jun 10, 2014 @ 6:50am

looks interesting

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]