Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface Integral

by SlamBlasta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For the Ludum Dare 29, 'Beneath The Surface'

This game takes you into the Gaussian Surface where the evil Dr. Spoink has planted field disruption devices which are ruining science experiments everywhere! Can you defeat Dr. Spoink in time for the expirements to complete?

Note: All downloads contain the 1600X900 AND the 1280X720 versions (that's why they are so big, sorry!) except the first Windows one (labeled appropriately).

Note 2:Mac/Linux versions are not tested and my not work (sorry again if they don't!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#312Fun3.33
#329Audio3.12
#603Overall3.14
#639Mood2.90
#648Graphics3.02
#653Humor2.30
#805Innovation2.72
#1023Theme2.55

Comments

Zathalos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Cool game. I liked the ability to upgrade my ship. Once I got the damage upgrade, things went a little more smoothly. The game doesn't have too much else to do though. Good job.

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Very asteroids-y. I didn't quite understand what the goal was though (something about experiments) so just shot everything.

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

Goal was a bit vague but I loved the feel of the game. Very Asteroids feeling. And the upgrade was pretty snazzy :)

ultramailman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

I don't understand the math, but that's an interesting interpretation of the theme

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

It was really smooth and had great colours. There didn't seem to be a win or loss condition, though.

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47am

I thought the story premise was pretty fun, but the blaster shot sfx got old REALLY fast. I liked the effects of the scrolling textures. Oh, and your Web link is just to the .jar

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30am

Loved the music. I'm a sucker for games where there's a grid, so I liked this one. Good job!

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30am

Liked it :) Though balance is a little bit too harsh to my taste... I didn't got the surface twist at first, but then it felt really neat. It's a bit of a shame that surface's impact on gameplay isn't that big :(

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33am

Graphics are simple but aesthetically pleasing. Game is a lot of fun. Great audio.

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35am

Even though there's no endgame, it's still fun to mess around in.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35am

Seems to be a very hard game, but quite cool.
My main suggestion would be to have a little thing in the corner saying "Press Escape for Upgrades" or something along those lines.
Because many people (like me) will completely overlook the help document on their first play. :)

Naouak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36am

I don' t understand what is the goal of the game. I was able to move a ship and change its angle with the mouse but I didn' t found how to shoot. Mouse click did not do the trick.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

There's a bit of a lack of guidance. I wasn't quite sure what I was meant to be doing, but the graphics are beautiful, and it handles nicely. Good job.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

I really like the textures, that's such a cool effect! Nice music too, it fit the graphical style well.

I wasn't totally sure how the rules worked but I shot some things, got some upgrades, my bullets got bigger, it was a good time!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

That was a lot of fun.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46am

Nice game, simple and I didn't run across any bugs

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54am

Yeaaaaaah! I LIKE it! :D

Loneshark says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:18am

I lasted 600 seconds once I figured out I could try to group the purple things using re-spawns.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nice game, good polish on the gameplay. The combat mechanic could have been more interesting than just click and shoot everything.

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15pm

C'mon! I'm on AZERTY keyboard and my WinXP can't change keyboard's layout without reboot. Please, if you don't want to lose time with key bindig (like me), at least bind movment on the arrow keys!

May 6, 2014 @ 1:15am

T'was fun. And I hadn't even noticed the upgrade stuff.

Clean and pleasing audio and visuals. And I'm both curious and scared as to how the theme led you to this idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]