Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inside Yourself

by nerdybirdy346 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Twine game that didn't go exactly as planned, but I'm still proud. Set goal, achieved goal. I'll take it. And a HUGE thank you to the person (you know who you are of course, you're in the link) who put my game on his server until I can solve my dropbox/twine conflict. THANK YOU!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Mood3.80
#293Theme3.57
#876Overall2.86
#899Innovation2.60
#1147Fun2.19
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

Can't seam to open the game, I think you may have linked to the dropbox page rather than the .html file itself...

Galvus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

Unable to run game dropbox wants to download the html.

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

Sorry guys, for the life of me I cant figure out what's going on here. I'd love to blame in on a headache, but I'm trying my best, promise :)

finefin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

here, I put it up my server until you fixed the dropbox woe:
http://finefin.com/ludumdare/beneaththesurface/Beneath.html

You can link to this anytime, if you want. It'l be up there until you tell me to delete it. okay?

now I'm going to test it ;)

finefin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07am

wow, that was creepy! very nice interactive story!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

Better to play online, but I donwloaded it played it.

Good mood, eerie ending.

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

finefin you are AMAZING lol thank you! I've figured out it's some glitch with twine that's doing it, it's been a bit funny since I had my comp redone but it's really being a hassle!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Wonderfully disturbing, especially the ending.

iamwhosiam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

whoa a journey of the mind!!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40am

It is a weird interesting story. Well done.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Very creepy but good! It wasn't so much a game, as much as a story that you have to click to advance to the next section, but it was really great. Awesome job!

Jeffalisk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:35am

Creepy atmosphere and a nice sense of foreboding building throughout. Good work.

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:39am

A great journey

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I liked the story, though after the ending I still felt like some things were unresolved, and there were some grammatical issues along the way (mostly in the use of past tense). You did a great job with the unsettling mood. This is one of the more interesting takes on the theme I've seen so far.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]