Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep South Motel

by iossif - Jam Entry

Welcome to the DEEP SOUTH MOTEL!
Your guests are waiting impatiently having no glimpse of the management and processes below the surface of a highway-side motel.
While every guest brings income they will also get your rooms dirty. Clean the rooms to make them ready for the next customers.
The more personell you have and bigger your infrastructure the more guests you can manage faster.
Try to get the highest score possible in 5 minutes!


ABOUT:
Code - @iossif
Art - @leafthief

CONTROLS:
- Click the [+] to add a Guest or Utility Room
- New Rooms cost money (as indicated on the bottom left)
- A dirty room will show the clock symbol - click it to clean the room
- Click a vehicle to assign a clean room to a guest
- Wait for the guest to leave the room

Utility Rooms can boost your motel:
1) Laundry rooms will reduce the time it takes to clean a room
2) Staff rooms will increase the number of your cleaning stuff, allowing you to clean more than one room at a time.

---
known issues: some icons got blurry when we exported the game. we will try to find out what causes that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#22Graphics(Jam)4.56
#75Mood(Jam)3.86
#133Overall(Jam)3.59
#177Innovation(Jam)3.43
#222Fun(Jam)3.25
#436Humor(Jam)2.41
#486Audio(Jam)2.75
#575Theme(Jam)2.69

Comments

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10am

I really like the art style!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Hi! This is cool. I dig the graphics, the interpretation of the theme, and all that... I've got to say, though, that there not only doesn't seem to be any win/loss state, but I'm clicking on things frenetically and the only change in difficulty is based on a. how fast I click and b. how much stuff I have. There's no difficulty curve... there's a difficulty slump.

toebee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15am

I love the style and the game play loop. My biggest problem was finding the conection between staff (which limits interaction) and interface. I think that the interaction elements don't sufficiently show when they are available.
Great work!

idovingx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

cool and fun

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Fancy! good audio, good art, good gameplay! I like this game. Not sure how it relates to the theme though.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Good idea and a very striking graphic style. Liked it.

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Great job on creating the atmosphere. The graphics and audio are really fitting. But the gameplay is rather lacking in variety. Don't get me wrong, it was fun to play, and it gets challenging to keep up with the pace after you've got more rooms, which is a nice effect, but it could use some more variety.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Very fun and absorbing for a little while. Then it randomly ends... is it timed? And I think it's reporting my high score wrong? It said I had$100.. I had like $300. Aside from that great work.

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Awesome. Awesome awesome awesome.
The graphics are cool, the way your handled the theme is cool, the gameplay quickly gets cool... Too bad there's no sound.
I hope you'll expand the idea further. Very, very solid entry. Kudos!

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

took me a little too long to figure out how to get a customer into the room but after that i got a score of 840 really cool idea and with a little polish this could be something special! awesome art style as well GG

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

This is a really nice looking game, I love the look of the sky, it's fantastic. The gameplay was fun and addictive. One thing that I wasn't so keen on was the highscore calculation through. It would have been nice if the amount of rooms and staff had been taken into account. At the end I had a massive amount of rooms but only 20 score to show for it because I was spending as I was playing and that seemed like the most fun way to play.

Great work guys!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Awesome entries guys! Nice animations and the concept is simple but addictive and well executed! Congrats!

someone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

That was great after I I eventually figured out what was going on. Got a score of 1620, there didn't seem any reason to upgrade much as I could accommodate everyone who turned up in 5 rooms.

More of a difficulty curve would be nice. Perhaps the number of guests turning up should increase with your popularity or something.
I can see this working well on touch screen devices.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

It's a very nice idea for a game trying to think and balance between the different options. My best attempt reached 1700, when I had 3 (total) cleaners, 4 rooms and no laundry.

The timers everywhere are excellent as they put all needed information on the screen!

The audio loop got tedious after a bit, and it's quite a long time until the high scores.

Good job :)

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Yeah, like this game) the art part is brilliant!

iossif says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35pm

some people wondered: there is a timer in the lower right corner - it counts down 5 minutes and shows the score afterwards. for a highscore you need to balance investment time and collecting times :)

thanks for the feedback so far and have fun with it!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Beautiful artwork and animations, but so slow -- speed up the timers?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Great graphics with the vehicle silhouettes against the colorful background.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I found the gameplay to be just clickclikclick to try keep up. But there's a great atmosphere and the graphics are neat
well done ~ Boa

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Very nice! I struggled a bit to figure out how the bottom floor worked, but beautiful art style and great concept!

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Wow. Just... Professional!!! Graphics, gameplay, it's all good. I'd like to add just one little comment : I think the final score should also reflect the development of motel.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Great pixel art style!

Sparrow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Very nice game, at first I didn't fully understand how the game worked but after a while of clicking and then pressing help (I read the controls on this page beforehand) I finally figured it out. I also didn't know there was sound till I pumped up my volume. You should make the customers move up in queue because when you have a lot of rooms it's hard to switch around and still click everything.

Not to sound negative because I enjoyed your game and it also looks very smexy, but if you improve on these things in a post-compo version you can sell this game and make a lot of $$. :D

Linkigi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

The game looks great and has a nice atmosphere to it. I think the gameplay could much more interesting. Non of the decisions I made felt like they had much impact since they were very similar in what they did. I get the feeling that you were planning on including more resources for the player to manage but you weren't able to implement them due to time constraints.
So yeah, I think if you continue to add more variety to the gameplay then you could be onto a really addicting game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Nice polished presentation, and great sense of atmosphere. I liked the concept too. I like how frantic it gets once you've got a lot of rooms on the go at once.

Hob623 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

The game looks pretty great and the crickets in the background sure set the mood for a motel. The gameplay was pretty tedious and got boring quickly though.

lasergans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

What a cool game!
A really funny simulator with nice graphics ;)

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Fantastic art and mood. Hoping for a little more behind the hotel simulation though.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Neat idea, and nice art style.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

loved the art. cool game

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

Some kind of aim would have been great. Still an amazing entry.

lekochen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55am

Amazing graphics and funny motel simulator, I like it!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:34am

Absolutely love the art style. Knew I would have to check this out when I saw it in the feed. I feel like this setting is so rich that you could do a lot with it, and I hope you do. Awesome work!

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:02am

the atmosphere for this is great, i really love the graphics.

Scam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:07am

Nice art style. Becomes repetitive quite fast. I'd like to see this expanded.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31am

Nice game with a fitting atmosphere. After a few playthroughs I found that 4 rooms with 3 staff and 3 laundry rooms happened to get me 1500+ and is actually very manageable?

~AlucardX60

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54am

The base mechanics are there and are working great but I wish there were more depth in the game. It becomes too easy and a bit boring after a while. I would love to play expanded version though, and the current progress is great for 72 hours. Keep up the great work!

bowatatoy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Amazing. :)

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Beautiful art obviously, but without a win/lose condition there's not much reason to play.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11am

like the style a lot. could use some more sfx. definitely found my self playing it for quite a bit.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:23am

Nice job! great graphics and mood.

ezolotko says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Picture is cool, inspired by KRZ as it seems

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Great graphics, but I didn't seem to lose or win

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:33pm

The graphics are great and I like the concept, but having to scroll everytime to get where you want is a little bit of a hassle.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Well, this genre is not my cup of tea and I get bored fast.. I still enjoyed the graphics :)

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Very like the art and the mechanics

SoupWithBits says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:12am

Love the art. Simple but addictive gameplay!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:42am

Loved the art, but the game felt a bit unresponsive (Yes, I had some people available to do the job)

hathol says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Really nice take on a time management game! Difficulty curve felt a bit off near the end since I could place customers faster than they arrived, so it got a bit bland. Maybe increase the arrival rate progressively? Other than a really fun little game. And the art is just lovely :)

kiririn51 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:08am

Lovely game, it took me quite a bit to get the hang of it but I really like it how simple it is, it also has a great atmosphere, would like to see a more fleshed out version in the future.

BenTurbine says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Good game. Centered on a clean and simple idea, pretty fun too. Getting the hang of it is the hard part though. I found the tutorial screen confusing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]