Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Order of the Mind

by Crefossus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Talk to npcs to see what they say, but then delve into their minds to see what they really think. Reveal the past to unearth the secrets of time.

******COMPO GAME HELP*****
STUCK? You can get past the guard/Thomas. Have you tried all the commands? Interacted with NPCs?
END OF GAME: Reaching the spaceship room (you cannot get the fuel).

Extra command help:
Use talk and delve without any target: talk not talk susan.
Thomas doesn't have any talk text.

No give command (sorry girl)
*******************

********
POST COMPO: additions:
tutorial,kill,bribe,give,train,skills,7+ NPCs,winning condition, word wrap, short cut to many commands, tags on items for easy pickup, spell check, etc...

Post compo linux 64:
http://gamejolt.com/games/order-of-the-mind/download-distribution/27778/?os=linux
********

Linux compo src:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/86120857/Order%20of%20the%20Mind/OrderoftheMindSrcLinux.tar.gz
(no up command sorry linux)

*********
Follow me @Crefossus :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#498Innovation3.14
#514Mood3.03
#515Humor2.48
#564Overall3.18
#618Fun2.95
#641Theme3.17
#1031Audio1.47
#1138Graphics2.18

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

crashed for me when i looked at thomas ("look thomas")

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

Ho boy! Another text game! I enjoyed it, especially the "minimap" in the corner!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

more info: It did the "the program stopped working" windows dialog.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26am

Cool idea! I had never actually played a text adventure like this before.. It crashed when I tried to look at Thomas though.

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28am

very interesting start, I had the same crash problem as commented above. I also don't think I could talk to Thomas.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

I too liked the minimap! Not a lot to do yet, but a good start.

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Well written, very interesting.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

Thanks for reporting Jan Peter! Should be fixed. It's because I never got to add chest/pants to him and my code assumes that exists for all npcs. Uploaded a new build with a check for null pointer/empty slots.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00am

I love this retro games!

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

This game is very-old styled and requires a bit of patience to play it but it's good.

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51am

Is there a way to give the teddy to the girl? Also is it possible for it to become unplayable/winnable? Good effort btw, really nice to see a text adventure game!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10am

Well the spaceship is the silent end of the game (win) - it has no exits. Unplayable? No, not before this point - if there is LMK.

Teddy to girl - not yet. She's supposed to give you a gear that you give to the mechanic which lets you in the mine,etc.

There will be more lose conditions - in theory from forcing you to sleep/suicide to regain delve/reveal points and progressing the days.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I'm normally wary of parser IF that's not written in an established authoring system, but this actually works quite well, especially with the useful addition of a minimap. It's well-written too and sets out an immersive mood from the get-go.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Really well written

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26am

I love text adventures, and the mind delving and looking into the past were interesting features.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42am

Old school interactive fiction.
Fun as hell, and retro-wise it's awesome.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25am

Not a fan of text adventures. But enjoyed this!

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:13am

Not my favorite kind of game.

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45am

Really cool I like where this is going. Looks like the beginnings of a really deep adventure.

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Old styled text adventure games are a good thing, and a very brave way to make a game, so this is nice!

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Writing a parses IF game from scratch is always tricky because lots of stuff that are usuallt taken for granted will be missing (like command shortcuts), but it's not a bad the job. The minimap was delicious, and the delve/reveal was a refreshing innovation.

I got the pass from the secretary and the teddy (I don't know what to do with this one) and then explored the mine, moved to the spaceship and had to commit suicide.

On day 2, the girl kept crying for the Teddy, but it was no longer in the past (reveal past 1,2,3...). I think I'm missing something.

Penguincat says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:34am

I couldn't find much to do in the game as-is, but the delve/reveal past options are neat, and it seem like an interesting setting to explore. I'd like to see more in a finished version of the game.

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:42pm

I really enjoyed the delve mechanic and the whole "reveal past" thing. It could be explored more in order to make a full fleshed game.

Sparrow says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:52am

Quite an elaborate adventure, I have played for some time now. Still haven't finished it though. Will be playing this till I finish! :D

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:58am

Always glad to play another text adventure. Brings me back to the days of Zork & MUD's.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Very interesting, it's been a while since I played a text adventure. Would be cool to take it from a real terminal to a web based one though :)

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:36am

Reveal command is key here. It was the only thing standing in the way of me completing this without help. Lots of different directions time travel could take in a text adventure. Maybe the player travels to the stone age to find the now tapped out cuerlium.

TobiasW says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:57am

> "No give command (sorry girl)"
Aww. I was wondering about that.

Also, why doesn't the spaceship have any exits? I did't have any cuerlium fuel, but I don't see why I can't leave it anymore.

> END OF GAME: Reaching the spaceship room (you cannot get the fuel).
Oh. Okay. Gotcha. That's why.

It's a pity that this is unfinished! It looks promising to me. I liked the little map showing the exits, and the delve/reveal past commands seem to be interesting, albeit at the moment a little limited.

A tip for future texture adventures: Shortcuts make everything more bearable. "r 1" would've been much nicer to type repeatedly instead of "reveal past 1"...

CodeNMore says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Text games!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]