Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Project Isla

by Dualhammers - Jam Entry

An Island Adventure for game-weary travelers.

Right click to zoom. Left Click to lock mouse/interact. Escape to unlock mouse in Standalone versions.

End to unlock mouse in Web version.

Resources used:
sxfr
http://tf3dm.com/
https://www.freesound.org
Blender
Audacity
Norihiko Hibino
http://torahhorse.com/first-person-drifter-controller-for-unity3d
GIMP
Unity Free

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#85Mood(Jam)3.81
#168Humor(Jam)3.14
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#286Graphics(Jam)3.59
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#297Overall(Jam)3.33
#469Fun(Jam)2.81
#505Theme(Jam)2.88
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Kep says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Well that was bizarre. That's a good thing. It was an interesting experience. Also, I think I am now so stuffed with art that wont be able to consume anymore for a while...

May 1, 2014 @ 3:44am

I waited for slenderman to come get me.

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:51am

Nice job! I can honestly say that was a unique experience :)

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:51am

Awesome game! Kind of reminded me of a mix between Lost and Antichamber lol. One of my criticisms I guess, would be it seems kind of repetitive waiting in the room with the spinning Russian guy statue, as there isn't really anything to do as far as I can tell. (But great music)

And thank you for your feedback and support on my game, it is much appreciated!

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:17pm

And now all the art has gone... Nice statement piece, with a cool atmosphere.

King_Mew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Dang, that was pretty amazing.

Daveloper says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I got a Jazzpunk feel from this, which is a good thing! Interesting concepts but they're well implemented.

TobiasW says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Haha. Well, that was unexpected after my initial impression upon entering the island, but then again - the theme IS "Beneath the surface" after all!

The sound effects were generelly good, but the sound effect for the appearing arrows - it didn't fit, is hard on the ears and it was too loud at the same time. I like the ambiance the waves generate! A little bit of ambiant music would've been nice.

And now excuse me please, I have to consume some more art.

DarkMeatGames says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Nice job! Really attractive, great audio choices. I was excited for a myst-like though, and even though I liked 'the end' I wanted more ominous puzzles.

May 6, 2014 @ 12:39am

So bizarre! Very nice work for such a short time!

elfeck says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:06am

I just love this!

Wertle says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:36am

Very strange, unusual experience :) I thought there were a lot of nice little touches, especially the mind trippy parts, like some kind of crazy unfinished anti swan chamber. 3 minutes is a hair cruel though. Nice work!

DonovanWu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:40am

Why a sculpture of Lenin? XD

soy_yuma says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:35pm

I think I'm the only one who didn't get the message...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]