Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Octopus !

by Monoquartz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Since the beginning, men reigned on the ocean. But now, it's time for the underwater wildlife to revenge from this evil master. So Stacato, a young octopus decided to fight those boats !
Arrow keys to move. S to open and close the shop. Spacebar to activate shield (10 secondes delay between 2 uses).
Have fun ! The have only 8 waves due to Scratch's memory lacks.
You need to shot several time boats to explode them. But you have some upgrades in the Shop which help you to jump higher, or make more damage or...
(For information, healthbar on the top is the octopus's life, and the hull of the boat hurt you.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#404Graphics3.40
#432Theme3.40
#559Audio2.78
#617Humor2.35
#832Fun2.71
#834Innovation2.69
#983Mood2.48
#989Overall2.72

Comments

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Can't access it because the project is "not shared"

tacs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

Also getting 'project not shared'

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

Same here :( 'Project not shared'

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Also got project not shared error. Look forward to hopefully being able to play it.

Monoquartz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Sorry guys for this. Problem will be solved at 8h00 PM GMT +1 =/

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:20pm

The first Scratch submission I've seen. Like they said, not shared.

Colthor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Still not shared, I'm afraid.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice game, the sprites were a bit small, but on the overall the gameplay was nice, good job! :)

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Sorry, but the frame rate was so poor I could not really play your game.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Not sure exactly how to play and get currency but i still had fun playing. really enjoyable

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Cute game! I really got into getting those boats

madalaski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Gameplay was nice, but unfortunately the platform does mean that you had to sacrifice a lot in terms of overall quality of the game. =l

shane1090 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Wasn't too sure what I was meant to be doing - was the top bar meant to represent the boats health as I got it down on a number of occasions but nothing seemed to be happening :( I liked the visual representation of the game and the audio.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:37am

I enjoyed this! My game is much similar but with a shark :)

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:43am

Quite difficult but nice and straight forward:)

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24pm

very cool! thnk you for making it

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Good, and most importantly game completed yet!

May 1, 2014 @ 11:50am

looks smooth and pretty nice but a tutorial would be nice :)

renatopp says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Nice job adding a shop

Muciojad says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:45am

Nice idea, but at first I don't know what I must do, but I get it ;)

Chinchilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:47am

I like the art and music, and the controls felt pretty good. But I wasn't at all clear on whether I was supposed to be ramming the boats from below or jumping on top of them, or how to use the shield.

Also I couldn't tell how the resources in the top right, the icons you collect, and the prices in the shop related...

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:27pm

I really liked the game but the controls worked against it, constantly tapping Up to jump over the water got tiresome quickly. Though everyone is praising them, so I don't know if I got a bug or something.

May 19, 2014 @ 4:46am

Neat game, Im not exactly sure how I was supposed to be attacking the boats, I jumped at them from underneath but I'm not sure what that was doing. The art is cute though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]