Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

LD29 Jam : You Are The Magnet

by robopossum - Jam Entry

You Are The Magnet

A game designed and created by Robopossum and MrAffen in 72 hours for Ludum Dare 29.

Controls and Gameplay

You Are The Magnet beneath the surface of a table/desk. Your goal is to move the ball above the desk into coins for points, fortunately it's magnetic.
Unfortunately, there are also other magnetic (and non-magnetic) obstacles on the table/desk which you will have to compensate for.
Control your magnet with W, A, S , D and adjust the music volume using + and -, you can also mute it with M.

Coin values
Gold = 10
Red = 20
Blue = 50

Achievement Hints

Dinner
Fork off! - That fork would look great on the floor...
Pea'd off! - Hide your greens.
Greek Wedding! - Smash those plates!
What a mug! - Who needs coffee anyway?

Desk
Coup d'etat - Topple the ruler!
Last screening - Real pros don't need no monitor.
No pen left behind - I love the smell of falling pen in the morning
Squeaky clean - Mice squeak...

Score
At least you tried - Fail completely
Become the magnet - Rack up the points

Additional notes:
The game screen starts at a very small resolution but is resizable and i recommend sizing it up a bit.
To play on Windows you need Microsoft XNA Redistributable
Link to it is in the download links
To play on Mac you Mono runtime,
Link to download is in the download links

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#23Innovation(Jam)4.00
#59Theme(Jam)3.85
#160Humor(Jam)3.16
#161Overall(Jam)3.54
#304Audio(Jam)3.20
#332Graphics(Jam)3.49
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#398Mood(Jam)3.00

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

This game looks great!

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Fun game, very interesting to navigate based on the magnet mechanic. Graphics were fun and the music was good.

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Interesting aproach on the theme. The game is much more difficult that one would expect. Yet it's fun. I like that you added two different settings as well. Heck, even a tutorial and achievements. Well done!

SonicRaptor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Love the concept, very nice game

AdamSwaggoner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Cool game, I was sorta lost with the magnet, but I enjoyed it nonetheless!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Original, pretty nice game! :)
The sound is really quiet, though...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Amazing game! That ball is a little heavy though :P

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Hey nice game but pretty hard :)

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Found this to be quite difficult. A glass table would be good for training :)

Great graphics!

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Really like the concept of this :) The idea of not directly controlling a ball is very fun.
3D objects look great and feel very realistic but I think 'pixel' art style feels out of place.
Music gives it a nice mood. Great game!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

This is a very cool idea, but very hard. The ball seems to fly away quite easily, hm. Stil, I love the originality!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

I like the idea. Could have used at least one level where the magnet was visible the invisible magnet was a bit overused.

VanMerwan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04am

Nice. Maybe the magnet should attract the ball from a more far distance.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09am

Liked it , yet it was a bit hard though to keep predicting the location of the magnet.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:53am

Great game!
But its always Game Over for me. But fun to play around with.
Great work on the achievements.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00am

Windows zip is corrupt?

robopossum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

@Kwrky I've just checked the windows download and it's working fine, perhaps try downloading again. For the game to run you'll need microsoft XNA installed, the link to download it is in the download links of the entry.

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Graphics look good. I like the achievements!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Good idea, it's just need practice.
Original :)

RobotParking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I HAVE ALWAYS WANTED TO BE THE MAGNET

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Nice concept ! Interesting mechanics, really not as easy as I first thought ;) Great work and nice interpretation of the theme ;) The achienvments are funny, good idea ;)

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Ok, I admit I spent all my time trying to knock stuff all the desk. Fun!

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice idea and good graphics, couldn't get the hang of the magnet controls though but that's just me being bad.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

I like your take on the theme :) And the graphics coupled with a good gameplay idea make for a very interesting game!

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Pfff, very hard. Nice idea! :D

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:51am

Pretty nice idea

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:37am

Magnets are always a cool thing!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40am

I really enjoyed this game. Great interpretation of the theme.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Super original!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Ever since I was young, I've said that I wanted to be a magnet when I grew up. They mocked me. All of them. Teachers, friends, my grandma. They said it was impossible. They said I could never be a magnet. Well look at me now, grandma. Look at me now.
(Great game btw)

SoupWithBits says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:31am

Really awesome take on the theme!

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:47am

Quite fun but time pressure killing me :(

jtpup0 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Awesome concept and game, I used to do this with paperclips in class at high school to scare people haha

Delca says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:53pm

A great entry, and a surprisingly hard game! Still got a couple of (easy) achivements.
However, even when I knew where my magnet was, it was still hard to control the ball, especially to make it stop.

Clinthoney says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:20am

Absolutely loved the game. The uniqueness of it is great. But I wish there was a way to see were the magnet is while its under the table because personally I get confused.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]