Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beam Islands

by mjau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beam Islands is a puzzlescript game featuring beams and isl-- platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#45Innovation4.08
#173Overall3.65
#243Fun3.43
#566Graphics3.16
#680Audio2.53
#758Mood2.77
#830Humor2.05
#1103Theme2.36

Comments

increpare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

rad, though pretty tough. haven't finished it yet

Draknek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:02pm

This is fantastic! Great work, lovely puzzles :)

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

One of the best in my opinion. Good idea and good design!

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16am

Very nice! Clever puzzles, liked that it was made with puzzlescript too :)

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27am

Great job, very difficult but not frustrating. One of the better entries I've found!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I love the overall retro style of the game. Great work :)

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Best puzzle game I have played so far in this LD! Nice job, it's hard to come up with original ideas on so little time

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

What a cool puzzle game. Totally awesome retro graphics!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:09pm

My brain explodered!

oranebeast says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Didn't quite understand the concept, But good job on the gfx

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Very clever, and very nice pixel art. :)

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Nice puzzle game! You made it give a funny look, and the puzzles are tough. I'm missing the theme though.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:08pm

wow. Absolutely freaking brilliant. Clever mechanics and superb application of them. Well done, sir. Well done.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:33pm

This is such a nice puzzle. Maybe its just my thing but designing puzzles for game jams is just so hard. You did an awesome job!

Kiyaku says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:38pm

This is a really cool idea, very creative :)

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:57pm

fun puzzler, good job!

Ariake81 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:04pm

good concept, needs a little more clarity, or im hungover which could be the issue....

bombjack says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:08am

nice game play

f7f5 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice puzzle mechanics. A bit difficult.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Well made; I didn't get the idea at first but when I understood how the beams worked it was a pretty fun game.

garygreen says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:09pm

That was really tricky, but fun. I'd not heard of Puzzlescript before - it looks interesting.

ashdnazg says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Seeing your lovely comments I had to give you a detailed one, so here:

I played your game twice, the first time I didn't know it's an LD game (you might want it to be written somewhere in future games).
It appears I skimmed the controls part, so I didn't see the undo and restart buttons (I did figure out that r is restart). Either blame me as a rash player, or have it in small letters on the screen.

Levels 1&2: The introduction of mechanics one by one is excellent!
I did not understand what dangerous means at first (to me? aren't they covered?) but the design of the second level forces you to witness the meaning which is good.

Level 3: Same as before, good introduction of the merge mechanic, with one nitpick. I didn't understand at first that it merges all adjacent parts on the map. I've found out later the hard way

Level 4&5: Easy overall.
Level 6: Lot's of moving, but not too hard
Level 7: At first it seemed easy, but then it took some thinking, a good level!
Level 8: The bloody +'s. I haven't managed to finish it the first time, but did on the second. To be honest, I really feared there might be another level, but seeing as this one was the last, its difficulty is appropriate.

Your graphic style is nice and works well with your game, the 'waves' are quite natural looking too.
Audio effects are alright, and I'd really have loved to hear some music with them.

Very good puzzle concept and design, well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]