Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Dive

by John Drury - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mouse for controls.

Dive to the beginning and the end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#216Audio3.34
#356Mood3.21
#585Graphics3.13
#895Overall2.83
#927Theme2.76
#935Fun2.57
#1037Humor1.62
#1092Innovation2.26

Comments

Rahazan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

The sound effects (keys hit) seemed a bit random, would've been awesome if they played the melody together. The graphics were pretty nice, I love particles!

Good job!

Score: 74

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:20am

Very nice! Loved the mood, the music was beautiful. The different levels had different feels, and I appreciate that!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

Feels more like a particle system test/demo/showcase than a game.

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

Agreed that it would have been cool if the particles played the melody. Not particularly innovative, but smoothly executed.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

Really loved the mood and the style as well. Music tags along nicely and I found myself trying to keep to the rythm slightly while capturing souls.
"Particle system tests and demos" like some might like to call them, can be really addictive. And this game, as I call it, is. Good work.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

The aesthetics are very soothing but the gameplay seems to clash with that some by being so quick. I liked playing this but the harmony isn't quite there.

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

Very pleasing audios and visuals. Its great how much atmosphere for a game you were able to creating using such simple particle effects. I wish there was a little more something in the gameplay, but overall I thoroughly enjoyed the game. More particles please.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

cool visual effects

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40am

Good audio work, but a bit hard to see the graphics..

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41am

A nice free falling style game. I also agree the collision notes would do really well to be notes within the chords of the music. Quite mellow and soothing =]

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Couldn't hear any music - Windows

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24am

very pretty :) fun gameplay too!

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

Played it all the way through! The music was lovely, and would have benefit if the sound effects played along.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:56am

Pretty good.

Might need an epilepsy warning though, haha.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

Great experience. Loved the music and how fx and music seems connected.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Nice aesthetics and idea. a bit dissapointing that the sounds get out of rythm.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03pm

A very pretty and relaxing particle system test.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I like that you achieved a nice aesthetic with very little actual assets. Would've been nice to see more interesting gameplay than just grabbing things, though.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00am

It would be really awesome if the sound played when you hit the orbs matched the music, so when you missed one you felt like you truly messed up. Other than that, this was neat, and fun as well. Good job :)

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

That's a lovely game, i liked it

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

loving this as a core concept idea, would love to see this played out bigger with melody as you run into souls. The diving part felt cool, and the sound/music was the key part of this game for me.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

Certainly beautiful music, I'm glad that not each pickup was the same sound. Would be cool if the pickups were a different note according to their position on the screen (like a piano roll)

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:17am

Pretty cool. Nice music. hitbox on the notes were a bit tough to hit.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:59am

Others have suggested for the sound effects to coincide with the different chords of the song, kinda like in Super Mario Galaxy. That's the main thing I would change about this, personally. I like the minimalism and the calm tone.

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28pm

With a little bit polishing for the audio it would be an awesome game. The graphics and the mood are great. Just the sound of the collected spots didnt fit that well. Thank you for this game.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Nice little game. The mood was spot on.

jacklehamster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:55am

Nice relaxing entry, with excellent music

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]