Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Plumber Brothers

by arrogant.gamer - Jam Entry

Shouts!

Programming by @nomoon & @arrogantgamer

Words and arrangement by @clangmuir

Attention! This is pretty buggy game, and we apologize for that but we think our vision was there. I hope that you will at least give it the time to understand "what" exactly you are playing.

UPDATE: We've been getting some weird reactions to the content in the game, so I thought I should add this little disclaimer.

---

All characters appearing in this work are fictitious. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

---

Also: the goal is to collect flowers! Let us know your high score (mine is 11).

UPDATE: if you find that you keep getting sent back to the beginning of level 1-1, there are two strategies to avoid this.

a) rage quit and leave a comment to that effect

b) don't jump diagonally up when standing in a right angle corner ^o^//

Sorry, the collision detection has major problems (as you know) and what is happening is this: when you are standing in a right angle and jump diagonally towards the wall (or pipe, or stair) the collision resolution throws you back into the floor. You get sucked into the ground and die (which, in 1-1 puts you at the start of the level). My apologies, and I promise I'll make better collision detection next time :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#579Audio(Jam)2.36
#674Mood(Jam)2.33
#683Fun(Jam)2.23
#696Overall(Jam)2.48
#702Innovation(Jam)2.19
#717Theme(Jam)2.08
#740Graphics(Jam)2.09

Comments

nomoon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

Indubitably.

Cjrpos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45am

My brain. So fried.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:56am

Wasnt't there a "Mario" Bros game once?

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09am

Who, or what, is a "Mario"? Wait, don't answer, I'll "google" it.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:13am

My character kept getting stuck in world 2. :(

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:50am

Hey this is like that other game, what is it?

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51am

wat

May 1, 2014 @ 1:07am

Not bad, made me feel like I was playing Mario while on acid. :) I got 6 flowers.

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

wow!great job

Sestren says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:31am

I can't seem to jump over the first pipe and I've tried everything. I'm not sure if this behavior is intentional or not, but I can't seem to progress.

BoneDaddy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:46am

I couldn't stop laughing at this. Really funny. Got stuck in a block once though. Also could use with way smoother controls, some variable jumping maybe. I got 8 flowers. Saw 3 more before i got stuck though. So I kinda matched your highscore

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:57am

Doesn't this break Ludum Dare rules by using art that you don't have rights too? (Yes, even though it is a jam game)

May 1, 2014 @ 2:12am

Are you asking because you know we are in violation, or are you just curious? If you are curious, perhaps read the rules: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/rules/

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:55am

Looks familiar...

ninjacharlie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Wait, what?

JoeProgram says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:47am

I just kept getting reset to the beginning of world 1-1. At first I thought this was some sort of gimmick, but after I tried all sorts of things - falling down the gaps in the floor, trying to go down pipes, running as fast as I could - I just kept being reset. It didn't seem to happen at any particular time - sometimes it was when I was near the end, sometimes it was right at the beginning.

Suese says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:11am

SMB on acid for sure.

ghRibacki says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:34am

Why even bother posting an unplayable game? Is it suppose to be like this?

HeroesGrave says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:21am

Sorry about plugging it here, but I've uploaded a new version of my game that includes GLFW (or you could download the SDL version). That should fix the linking errors and allow you to play it.

As for your game, well... o_______O

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Sorry, the bad hit detection made it really hard for me to play this all the way through. Still, it's a really neat idea.

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Concept is, well, interesting and pretty damn funny. Yeah, the controls are a bit off -- and at one point I somehow got stuck, quite literally, beneath the surface. If that wasn't a bug then it's a wonderfully cruel joke.

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Really?

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:54pm

10 flowers and then I got stuck in the ground. Yes, broken collisions, yes, but it was fun. Broken rules maybe (or so I believe), but it was fun.

May 7, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Really.

May 7, 2014 @ 9:56pm

10 Flowers! That's great! We are busy toiling away at a post-compo version with collision detection that doesn't throw you into the floor.

ActionRemix says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Hey guys, I figured out how to break blocks.

There is another Mario clone where you fall through the floor most of the time. You got ground detection down ;)

I got 9 flowers before I got stuck in a wall. Amazing amount of secrets in this game.

cageinabird says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

I managed 11 flowers before getting stuck in a floor. That was unintentionally funny, but there was a lot of humour in the concept and game that I really liked!

It would be interesting to see just how far you take this idea, although I guess there would be legal issues.

billhung says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I got 3 flowers. (could have been 6 if Mario didn't go through the ground and got stuck).
Like the re-imagination of the game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]