Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get Kraken

by McFunkypants - Jam Entry

============================================
Get Kraken - by McFunkypants
============================================
A turn-based strategy game of naval warfare.
============================================

Welcome aboard,
brave captain.

On behalf of the royal Navy,
we beseech thee to undertake
a perilous mission.

beneath the surface
of the northern seas, a
hideous foe awaits thee...


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Overall(Jam)3.65
#179Graphics(Jam)3.87
#181Fun(Jam)3.32
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#228Innovation(Jam)3.32
#291Audio(Jam)3.23
#295Theme(Jam)3.30
#300Mood(Jam)3.20
#2090Coolness14%

Comments

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08am

I liked the turn-based gameplay and the setting. I do wish there was a tutorial of some sort.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43am

I found the difficulty to be very high, but it was absolutely lovely.

voidqk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19pm

nice! graphics are great, gameplay is fun (though hard!), control is easy... well done!

Custard Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Awesome entry. I figured out the trick in the end. Turn 1 move toward the kraken. Turn 2, move again so that it is in a line above you, then fire wave thingy and hope to kill it. From there it is just running as far as you can, while shooting at them when you have the chance. Also, fire wave thingy when you are far away from them! Played it for awhile to figure that out. From the perks menu, it seems like the game was set up for much more! Will look out in the future.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53pm

I really like the visual style of this game. The kraken won, but I will try it soon again!

Statman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Very difficult but very cool ! Strategy game in 3 days, wow ! respect !

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Thanks for all the kind words! This is actually just a WIP of my current game project, and I had to comment out like half the source to get it ready: there's an RPG hidden in there that will appear in future projects. =)

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:46pm

My computer isn't a Unity fan, but from what I could play it was really impressive!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:43pm

The music was very 'McFunky'. I really enjoyed this even though it was way too hard :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50am

I liked how the tentacles could move across the land - magic! I like the turn based movement - my barrage did nothing - I died at sea - curse you! nice job

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:43am

Brilliant game! You had the cheek to call it terrible on Twitter. :P

I love the art style and the game in general. Really like the way the tentacles of the kraken are represented individuals. Lovely game!

Can't wait to see the whole game when you've got all your pieces together! :)

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Really nice turn based game, I was just expecting more attack effects from the name of the attacks

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:57am

Hehe, how big is this Kraken? :O Really nice turn based strategy, would make quite a cool boardgame, actually!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Great! Mighty Cthulhu/Kraken is a bit too power fool for lone ship, but i had fun trying to kill him.
Overal nice game!

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:47pm

This was really fun, although a bit hard. I liked the turn based aspect, which I find pretty unique to a LD entry. Nice work :)

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:14am

Looks great and was fun to play! Looking forward to the finished game.

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:39am

Pretty nice game! It would be nice if there was a gentle tutorial to explain some of the details like AP usage. Yes I eventually figured it out, but when I was initially moving around, it made me nervous to use AP. xD Pretty good turn based system, although I had a lot of trouble winning. One tentacle felt like it could kill me dead in two hits!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:38am

Cool music and graphics. Nice use of theme. Vote to get more people to see your game ;)

kristof says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Very nice to see another turn based strategy game. And a well made one too! The difficulty is quite high and I didn't made it to the end, but I had a lot of fun anyways.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:47pm

That was tense! Good fun. I like the various attacks and the moody soundtrack.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]