Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Journey to the Center of the Hole

by dcolgan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game is inspired by the scene from Lord of the Rings where Gandalf falls down the hole with the Balrog. In this case though, you are not very powerful, and a giant chomp monster is chasing you down.

Avoid the sides of the walls, the tree roots, and the fireballs of the monster. Each time you get hit, you will spin around backwards, and you must press spacebar to reorient yourself. Each hit also moves you closer to the monster, and when he hits you, you lose. WASD or arrows to move, and try to survive as long as you can!

Made in front of a live studio audience at http://twitch.tv/dvcolgan.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#110Humor3.44
#228Audio3.31
#231Graphics3.72
#236Mood3.44
#256Fun3.41
#328Overall3.42
#342Innovation3.38
#364Theme3.47

Comments

Cezel_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02am

Fun game and intresting idea. I had a little bit of a problem when I was flipped because I had no idea what was under me. So each time I reoriented myself I got flip back immediately, that only happened like 3 times so it's not a big deal. Anyways I really enjoyed this game. Great work!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

I swear to god, seeing a fireball whiz past your face (probably giving you a great bread-shaving) is the scariest thing ever. Really fun, and makes me want to keep trying, also I love the monster, looks very clean and overall the whole game was really well done! :)

oxysoft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

Very nice game colgan, a very nice improvement since your last entries to ludum dare. The music on the main menu is especially cool, I assume you played it with your ukulele. It's hard though

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

The red balls are a little bit too easy to anticipate (maybe it needed some more randomness; random interval, bouncing off walls etc). The mood is good, it feels like i'm stuck forever in this hell hole and I just wanna fall and get out while not being eatn by that horrific monster xD. Imo it was pretty innovative as I have not seen alot of games like this one. You get extra bonus points in fun for the awesome gameover music(?). Also respect for trying out tools (three.js) where you were not comfortable/highly skilled with!

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

The death music is incredible. And I made to 950 meters (miles?, milliliters?).

Great work, love the sense of speed.

samooJAM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

I got 556m only :|.
I'm really impressed how well you managed to finish this three.js+cannon.js game without much experience with those! Graphics, effects and audio are top notch! Thanks for the stream and see you next time!

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Good game, watched quite a bit of the stream :)

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Very cool graphics, I especially liked the monster and his chomping. The game-play was a little simple but definitely fun. The sound effects were also very neat.

Great work!

kivifreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:35am

Best sound effects ever ^^

mimiga says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:54pm

this is well cool simple but a lot of fun to play. the chomper and the grafix in general put a smile on my face

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Awesome sense of speed. Also make an oculus version so I can crap myself.

noom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:19am

omg that was so fricking scary. Audio was awesome, SFX were also great, the way the monster sounded louder as he got closer added to the atmosphere (and adrenaline). Fantastic game, great work, bravo!

vilya says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I like the idea, but I could never really tell whether I was going to hit something or I was clear of it. I think it would work better with a 3rd person perspective, so you get more feedback about that. It would also give you a chance to spot the fireballs coming at you from behind before they hit you!

Hexadecima1 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:54pm

I liked it! The mood and general execution were great. Better visual cues for the fireballs would have been useful though.

JordanFitz says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:16am

This is the best Gandalf simulator I've ever seen, hands down.

Mase says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:59am

The visuals are thrilling but I didn't feel like I had a lot of control. It seemed like there was no way to avoid the fireballs. Usually when I got flipped, I'd be flipped again immediately after righting myself, which felt unfair... some temporary invincibility would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]