Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Office Simulator 2014

by FuzzyWuzzie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I decided Friday that I wasn't going to participate this time as I have work to do.

Saturday morning I changed my mind. Here's the result!

*Note: the theme may not be readily apparent until you play through.

Tools used:

* Unity
* Unity 2D Toolkit
* PyxelEdit
* WolframTones
* Sublime Text 2

It's sadly completely unpolished and not thoroughly tested, and the ending was too rushed. Time got away from me again! :( But, hopefully next time I'll actually learn to manage my time!

Thanks for taking a look anyway!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#13Humor4.13
#213Audio3.35
#221Overall3.56
#224Fun3.46
#241Graphics3.70
#249Mood3.41
#342Innovation3.38
#823Theme2.94

Comments

nigelmnz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

It's like I'm really working at an office!

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Damn it Paul, where are you. Took me a long time. Nice confy sofa in the women bathroom, just like The Office.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

Haha! This was great! I really loved all of the programs there. #include <NSA>

GmacktheGummy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

This was an amazingly fun game for what it was! I thoroughly enjoyed this entry to Ludum Dare. The humor was phenomenal, and the story was interesting. While the graphics, audio, and overall theme-tie-in wasn't very good, the rest of the game shone through. Exemplary job.

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20am

Definitely loved all the side dialogue. Good humor and music.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

email.AddHug()!

definitely... original?

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

Nice interpretation! There are a lot of collision and layer bugs but everything else is excellent.

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

I thought that this was quite interesting. I just busted out laughing when he started programming 99 bottles XD

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

I loved this - it is nostalgic with a modern twist. This took me back to playing Little Computer People on my Amstrad 6128 when I was a kid. Great interpretation of the theme.

A few little bugs here and there like other people mentioned, but heck, 48 hours?

Awesome!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

Nice game, the layout reminds me of The Office T.V. Show

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

It's all about making something, and you accomplished that despite losing some time. I like the graphics, and it looks like you could take the game somewhere. Good effort nonetheless.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

I was wondering what the get physical button was for, then BAM! Awesome game, I loved it.

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:25am

I loved the graphics and the open-world aspect of it.

skymarionsky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03am

hahaha!!

Glint Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

Great Office simulator, nice pixel art, Very innovative :D

monika says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

There's a couch in the women's restroom.

Humor 5/5

Akihidas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I burst out laughing at the end, even though I had absolutely no clue what to do. Loved it, one of my favourites so far :)

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

But what happened to Lisa!?!?

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43am

Excellent art style (and you did make a lot of art!) and humor. The audio was really good too. Coding/Program humor and boss humor were my favorite.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

Well done! I liked the IT Crowd reference.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I loved it although I have no idea what it's like to be working in an office.

caranha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:43pm

That was silly, but pretty nice :-) I loved the goofy walking animations.

There were some Z-sorting glitches with the sprites, but the game was solid. Thanks for the laugh!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:20am

Definitely the funniest game that I've played :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]