Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Strawberry in the Underworld

by Armanky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS
WASD == Movement
Spacebar == Jump
S + Shift == Dig
W == Return to surface (next to a vine)

As HTML5 does not natively support gamepads, I recommend downloading JoyToKey and mapping the inputs that way, although the game is perfectly playable with a keyboard.

You can download JoyToKey here:
http://joytokey.net/en/

Music and sound effects were created using pxtone Collage, which you can download here:
http://www.cavestory.org/pixels-works/pxtone-collage.php

Aside from a few basic systems I've made in previous projects (asset management, handling of animations and audio elements, etc), everything you see is coded from scratch in Javascript. This game was not built on any external framework and all physics and systems unique to this game were built from the ground up.

I hope it's as fun for you to play as it was for me to make!

NOTICE: I recommend playing this in either Firefox or Chrome, as Internet Explorer seems to crash as soon as you go underground and the sound doesn't work. I'll look into fixing this as soon as I'm able.

5/10/2014
I've now posted a link to the post-compo version, which fixes a number of issues people have been having with the game. I'll be making updates to this periodically, as there are still a number of bugs to fix and some polishing work to be done.

For the sake of fairness, PLEASE do not play the post-compo version until you've played and rated the original!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#56Theme3.96
#138Audio3.53
#192Graphics3.80
#199Humor3.12
#260Mood3.38
#425Overall3.31
#427Fun3.16
#487Innovation3.15

Comments

CaptainKraft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

The art isn't bad and it seems pretty complete. Not too bad.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20am

Great use of the theme and nice art. The controls made it a little frustrating for platforming sections.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20am

Interesting level design and great audio/sfx.

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

Cool idea with the over- and underworld. It took me a while to get that the goal is to find 3 carrots. Nice puzzle game. Only thing that bugged me is that the controls are a bit floaty.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

It was all bright and cute - then I dug in the ground :(

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23am

I like the world swapping mechanic--I tried to do that with my game as well, but you used it much better than I did.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09am

This is really nice.

I found the controls a bit floaty, and it was frustratuing to lose my progress when i died. Hoever, the puzzle aspect was really well done and it looks great.

I wish there was more than one level!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

Great take on the theme. It was cool to have two distinct levels line up like they did. I liked the graphics as well, it gave the game an overall cutesy tone.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Excellent art, amazing music, but wow I got frustrated with the platforming. If it was a little less floaty this would probably be my favorite game so far.

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I thought I'll fail to complete this entry but I tried to dig not only where plant grows. And it works. :)

Art and music are like fun old-school console. Enjoyed it.

Also, it's not very comfortable to move with left hand and jump with space. So I attached gamepad. But may be it'll be good idea to duplicate WASD to arrows.

Good entry!

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

Great job man! The only complaint I have is that the jumping is a bit loose, makes those pesky platforms frustrating. Other than that, the art is good, the music is good, the use of theme is great! Very well rounded entry, good job!

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

really cute game, I like the double worlds, and I love that your game is html5. I sometimes had trouble with the underground world going in black though.

Udell Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Got stuck, but I like the idea, nicely executed.

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I liked the contrast between the Strawberry world and underground. Cute graphics. Like others have said I found the movement controls a bit tricky too.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

Like the art and the music. the sound effect stopping when he's digging remind me the good old games

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:12pm

My complaints are that the camera does a poor job following the player and the input keys feel really unnatural. Aside from that, fine job, the contrast between the overworld and underworld is humorous.

Armanky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Appreciate the feedback, guys! It would seem the universal grief with my game is the floaty platforming, and the real tragedy is that fixing most of your problems (including the camera) involves nothing more than tweaking a few variables. I've gotta stick to the rules and leave it the way it is, unfortunately.

I wish the keyboard was more suited to platformers, but it's really hard for it not to feel awkward, which is why I recommended using a gamepad. Even so, giving the option to use arrow keys is a pretty stupid miss on my part.

I'll definitely get a post-compo version out that feels a little nicer to play and relies less on strict platforming. Again though, thank you for playing and possibly enjoying! This was definitely a fun one to make! :)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Lovely music, really adds to the feel of the game.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Really enjoyed it. It's a bit glitchy here and there (once fell through the floor in the underground, jumped out of the top screen of the screen -> window turns black), but really cute character, really love how happy she looks when she's running.

Good job!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:37am

This is beautiful! The mood's great and it's truly adorable. That said, the platforming controls were so slidy and floaty that I pretty much couldn't get anywhere with it... and, if you'd had any more time, I would have really appreciated an animation of the pooch going up the vines in the underworld. As-is, the transitions were really harsh and kind of disorienting.

Ellian says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:47am

Very, very solid entry. Took me a while to realise I could dig anywhere and not just on a vine, and there's too much momentum in the controls, but very, very good thing you've got here!
Amazing art, good sound/music.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:37pm

That's really hard ! But fun :D

ThingoStudios says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:10am

The game is super polished, given that you made it in forty eight hours. That being said, the physics are really really wonky, and the platforming felt artificially difficult due to the weird lack of traction.

Sort of reminded me of Eversion, but stylized and much better than Eversion.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Love, love, love the graphics! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/ln7f84GPnPg

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Nice game, I liked the concept, the music was pretty cool too! Unfortunately, the player was really hard to control, but I enjoyed the game! :)

King_Mew says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Cute and fun! Great job!

Kragnir says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:15am

I like the graphics.

The dig idea is interesting but in this case doesn't really seem to add anything other than complicating the gameplay for no gain.

The game camera seems to work in an odd way and is in the wrong place most of the time.

The amount of momentum the character can build up make the controls feel bad for a platformer which is something you seem to have noticed considering you don't need to do a single difficult jump to complete the game. There are plenty of platformers where you can have good control of your character even with a keyboard I don't think that works as an excuse.

When you notice yourself redesigning the levels to fit your controls and camera you should probably take a step back and think about what you really want from your game.

Overall a pretty nice looking platformer. Some depth and difficulty would be nice.

tanjent says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:44pm

This is like playing NES Metroid again. Really good graphics and music.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I love the above/below ground puzzle style. Agree with all the other comments though about the floatiness of the jump mechanic.

loxo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great and unique idea! Nice graphics, audio and gameplay. The game fits the theme very well and it's fun to play.

gre says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:46pm

I love Ludum Dare games like yours which have took the "Beneath the Surface"+"Two world" approach. Only a few of you :)
About the controls, I think you should support arrows next time, and also maybe just holding one second the down key is ok (no need of shift).

Really cool concept and nice execution.

misterwalter says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I enjoyed it. The controls were definitely frustratingly floaty, but I really liked the two different worlds. having them merely touch instead of being almost exactly the same doubled the explorable world, which I liked.

Seme says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Wow. Very nice! I really liked the graphics and sounds! It took some time to ge used to controls but I got hang of it. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]