Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dozer's Gem Jam

by PoQA Games - Jam Entry

"Dozer's Gem Jam" is PoQA Games' fourth Game Jam collaboration. It was coded in XNA.

Guide Dozer deeper and deeper Beneath the Surface in search of gems. Diamonds send you into a brick-breaking rampage, but you have to watch your step around explosives!

PoQA Games is an amateur game dev group composed of current and former game testers. We challenge ourselves to make a complete, polished, and fun game within the jam's 48 hours.

Although we took part in the 72-hour jam, we decided to finish the game in the competition's traditional 48-hour limit.

Programmer: Tanner
Artist: Tina
Designer: Derrick
Composer, Audio Engineer: Victor

For those not on Windows, here's a playthrough video of the second zone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26EsOgmXqvo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#110Fun(Jam)3.51
#237Overall(Jam)3.41
#268Theme(Jam)3.37
#275Audio(Jam)3.27
#291Graphics(Jam)3.58
#344Mood(Jam)3.10
#391Innovation(Jam)2.97
#403Humor(Jam)2.48

Comments

Chris Mondok says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:21am

You should probably switch from the link reading "Web" to "Windows". I cannot play this game in my browser.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Agreed :)

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Thanks, missed that in my haste!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

That was pretty damn fun, really enjoyed it. Addictive to play. Seemed well polished too. Nice job on this!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Nice polish!

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

well done tile art

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

REALLY fun game!! Nice graphics and good job with the score and time mechanics. Kept me playing for a while.

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Oh yeah, 149924 points! I have no idea if that's good or bad! :D

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

Wish it wasn't a full install - screenshots look cute, but that's a barrier to me.

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

Sorry about that, Sugarbyte! Our next game will be in Unity web player so all can play.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Very nice! Cool art!

tomhunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42am

Needs a portable .zip install. I don't have a VM set up to install random setup.exe's just yet.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43am

Feels really good when I got a power gem and destroyed blocks really fast!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49am

Nice game, good polish. Gets into a good rhythm as you progress. Uncovering a diamond is very satisfying.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58am

Good stuff really well polished. The art was also good.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Cool game, really polished, great presentation all round. Getting a diamond is awesome.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41am

The game is fun, i loved the graphics and the music and the game is addictive :D. I use XNA too :3. Great work :D

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

well done on your game, and awesome for 48 hours! i like the limited map view and the way it reveals

frankbsad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29am

I think I got a bug. I broke every rock in the first 4 levels but I never found a red gem so I couldn't progress :(

mechabit says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:33am

Fun game, you managed to get a lot in in 48 hours. Well done.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Great work!

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Interesting! franksbad, was that on Beginner?

b_bertoldo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Great job man!!! Awesome work

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:51pm

@franksbad near the end of the 4th level in beginner there is a wall with no collision. I put it there to teach people about secret walls. I am pretty sure the wall is only one layer thick and you will see more blocks you can break on the other side. Give it a try and let me know if that works for you. Thanks for playing!

MithosKuu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Nice and simple, feels like a complete game

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Really awesome job!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:07am

Sweet game! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) youtu.be/HquvNllyc50

mrhill says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I really enjoyed being powered up alot. So satisfying

AutumnGuy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:13am

More depth (no pun intended) than I expected. Clear execution of a solid idea with good game mechanics.

Nice job!

May 9, 2014 @ 7:27am

Good game I finish it in beginner mod

May 19, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Very nice. This is one of those games that pretty fun to charge up combos and go on a drilling rampage. The one thing I might add is an enemy or two. Sure the time is one thing working against you as you rack up points. But a threat that can pop out and kill you might be a nice addition to look out for.

Aside from that. Awesome work =D I ended up putting it in my Ludum Dare Showcase vol 4 video! http://youtu.be/aFa_iU1gvTg

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]