Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Three Paths

by crneumre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Three Paths is a shooting platforming game where you are given a choice between 3 paths to continue your adventure.

Note:The music isn't done by me i have no idea how i skipped the part that i can't use music that was not created by me in the rules.
So please don't judge the game based on the music but the sounds were created by me.
Enjoy the game : )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#420Fun3.17
#465Audio2.90
#717Overall3.00
#932Graphics2.58
#948Innovation2.54
#997Mood2.45
#1186Theme2.08
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25am

Excellent game, I really loved the difficulty choice element. That music is excellent, you should definitely keep it around for a future project.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

Plays very nicely, although one room layout was bothersome to me (many single tile platforms in a pit), and I encountered a bug where enemies phased through the wall, halting progress. All-in-all though good work.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Got about 130 gems. The difficulty choice idea was neat. I didn't really like the choice in music considering the color scheme which seemed a bit darker. I only wish there was more variety and possibly even an ending based on how many times you went each route. It has fun gameplay for how simple it is.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22am

Ah ah ah, I've been blocked because an enemy was stuck in a wall :D. However, it's minimalist, but very beautiful :)

Aske says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Entertaining game. I got stuck in a wall, but else i had fun :)

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Well worked out game. Simple, but very nice artstyle. It does become a bit repetitive after a while, as it is pretty straight forward.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Pretty cool concept. I would like to have some sort of end goal. Good feel and can totally see this becoming more.

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I got stuck in a room when one of the enemies popped into a wall, but it was pretty good until then! Good choice of music too :)

crneumre says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Hey everyone,thanks for playing!
I uploaded a new version with a small bug fix to the enemies getting stuck in walls problem,sorry for the inconvenience.
Have fun playing :)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:16am

The game has a problem with the paths sometimes not appearing. The majority of the difficulty comes from the fact that mobs can pretty much spawn on top of you when you enter a screen. The fire rate and knockback chance changes doesn't seem to do much. Would be nice with some depth and other ways of achieving difficulty.

pythong says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:17am

I noticed you can autofire by just holding down the mousebutton, was that intentional? it makes even the very hard paths very simple

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Got stuck by some weird bugs (and a forgotten key -E- which gave me extra points xD) =/

crneumre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Hey Thank you all for the feedback!
I didn't have much time to test the game which resulted in that the game is not as difficult as i wanted it to be,enemies spawning on top of the player and bugs.
I will work on a Post-LD version after the voting,i really want to make it more than it is right now :)
I fixed a few more minor bugs including deleting the E button(:P)

BadgerPriest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I like the three-path concept, but the difficulty didn't seem to be all that different between the three choices a lot of the time, and the rooms did become a little repetitive over time.

Photon says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nice idea, but its pretty repetitive as far as gameplay goes. With a little more variation in rewards and enemies, this could be a bit better.

kristof says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Very promising start for a platformer. The movement speed of the character could have been a bit faster. I encountered a bug, where I killed all the monsters in the level, but the doors to the next levels wouldn't open. Still, good work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]