Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Firefish

by Snicklodocus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Firefish is a frantic arcade-style game where you melt rocks to free your fire-spirit brethren. Juggle control many fishes at once while outrunning rapidly cooling lava behind you. Find powerups and choose the best fish for each. How long can your school survive? How many firefish can you save?

Controls:
Space: pause
WASD or arrows: move
1-0 or numpad 1-0: select spirit
q: select next spirit
e or numpad period: use powerup

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#124Innovation3.79
#253Audio3.26
#278Overall3.47
#393Graphics3.41
#433Fun3.15
#449Mood3.11
#776Humor2.14
#1064Theme2.45

Comments

NiallM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

This is really cool. Love how the complexity rapidly increases as you free more fishes and the cooling lava starts to hem you in.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33pm

This is really good. I love how it speed up.
Well done !

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

Interesting concept,a bit slow at first, although good job on the graphics.

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

Really fun. Controlling the multiple fish was really well done. Would love to see this with levels with win conditions!

Almost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

At first I tried scattering and it started to take me a while to cycle through all of the creatures and decide on which direction t go. So instead I decided to go in a straight line, in the same direction will all of the firefish. I seemed to be able to outrun the coolign lava indefinitely, and eventually got bored with 20 some fish freed.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49am

Thank you for the comments everyone.

@Almost: Ah I see how you did that. If I expand on this it will be interesting to think about how to fix that. Maybe spread fish and powerups farther apart.

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

Really great job! I decided to try and micro all the fish as fast as I could, which quickly made the game very difficult but still very fun! Unique concept, hopefully you'll work on a post-compo version :)

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

This was nice, and I liked the increased speed the game gets as you can work with more guys at once. Although I am getting the idea that you came up with this idea before the themes were announced and liked it too much.

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

Creative. Gave my brain a good workout.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

@VDOgamez: Beneath the surface made me think of volcanoes and then melting rock. Somehow, when I was trying to think how that could be fun, I came up with this lava fish thing, haha!

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

fun idea! great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:51am

awesome music!

Penguincat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:09am

I agree with some of the other comments that the game starts off a bit slow, but once it hit its stride it's pretty fun. One of the more unique games I've seen in this LD so far :)

minibutmany says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:25am

Started a little slow, but got chaotic quickly!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:21am

The graphics are really great, that abundant music sound better than usual and the multicharacter feature is pretty fun. Well done!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:31pm

nice concept with multiple characters.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Hi. Web/Chrome/W7 version didn't seem to support 1-0 on numpad or number keys. Cycling through fishes with q only selects from a subset, but did I get that wrong? (I had 3 fish onscreen but it toggled 2-3-2-3 etc.)

Snicklodocus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Thanks for the comments everyone!

@mrexcessive: That's strange. Thank you for letting me know. I can't reproduce these errors. Anyone else experiencing them?

I would say to make sure num-lock is on but you said both sets of number keys were not working. Could some outside program be blocking or redirecting your input? As for Q, maybe fish #1 was dead?

woodenrabbit says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:42am

What a neat game, I found myself losing track of myself as I played it. I felt a little dizzy sometimes when I switched between fish too quickly, but the game was really fun :)

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 4:26pm

You did very well for the first ld! This game was fun and now that the ratings are ended I'm gonna tell you that I wanna see you in the next ld, because you make me smile with this game :), and i put you in my list of people i wanna rate and comment in the ld30, hope you participate though! Good luck ;)!

Snicklodocus says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Thanks again for all the ratings!

WhiteWolf93, thanks for the kind words! I do plan to enter again in August. Hope to see you then as well!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]