Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surf Camp: The Legend of the Surf Ace

by GertJohnny - Jam Entry

It's your first day at surf camp, and there's trouble brewing...

Controls:
Left/Right or A/D keys steer your board.
Other controls will be revealed as needed.

Now available on iOS, as Super Surf Bros! Check it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Overall(Jam)4.40
#4Fun(Jam)4.39
#17Audio(Jam)4.24
#23Humor(Jam)4.04
#28Mood(Jam)4.18
#56Innovation(Jam)3.82
#72Graphics(Jam)4.29
#222Theme(Jam)3.47

Comments

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

This was tons of fun! You really recreated the 16 bit experience astoundingly well. I only wished there were more moves I could do. The speed and the arcs is very smooth and finely tuned. And very nice audio! I'll definitely be coming back to play this again later. Excellent job!

thenmal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

Best game I've played all day. Bookmarking and showing to my friends. Great jam Bro!

Robinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

Really impressive! Felt like lots of content, and I laughed so hard many times. That rock paper scissors man! not fair :)
You're the first one I give several 5* to

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

I love the style, man!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

Reminds me of Summer Games (was it called that) that I played on my Amiga.
Simple and fun and superb pixels!

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

Woah, the game was great :D Hope you'll expand it, or at least post the source code, cause it would be nice to be able to put own surfer in or expand it myself :)

crustforever says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56am

Really awesome man. You did it well and it's funny. Pretty complicated story mode and great mechanics.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05am

WOW! This my friend, is an awesome game! 5/5 Overall!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00am

So radical man!

chase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10am

Great take on the theme, I love it! This game is really good tho, it brings me back to other times. I loved the sequence between surfing and rock-paper-scissors, that was great. The surfing in general really intrigues me as well, in terms of the game-play programming portion, really interesting stuff!

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

Nice surfing gameplay, the rock paper scissors minigame was a good idea :)

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Nice! Awesome game!

Loved the graphics and music.

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Hahaha, I like that we got the same idea for a theme ;)

I had a great fun with this game, got me hooked until the end, I like the variety between gameplay. Good job brah!

uRLgR3y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

This was a really awesome game. Great work!

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Superb retro style game! Reminded me on my younger days... :-) Very well done!

Venturelli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Excellent, excellent game for a jam. Really impressed! I wast losing the rock-papers-scissors all the fucking time though haha

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Awesome job, the surfing mechanics are highly entertaining.

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

This is better than a lot of steam games!

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

really would like a solo practice mode when surfing, the amount of AI opponents nearby right at the start of the game makes it a bit rough when you are trying to learn the controls and creates some frustrating and immediate wipeouts

Also would like a bit more forward momentum when you jump off the wave to give a bit more time before the wave tube catches up.

Good core game, reminds me of summer games surfing

elpaulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Very fun, it make me remember a lot the surf game of California Games on NES. Cool music, cool controls : great job !

spartangeek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

perfect LD game! That's amazing!

cavf88 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00am

I love this game! I want it on mobile! Awesome job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:24am

The game is great. I have a tons of fun myself. Great Job!

avalonknight says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:06am

Dude, this is just amazing, and a ton of fun. I like the controls, and the physics were handled well. I really like how the theme was executed.

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45am

This is amazing. Had so much fun with the surfing. I have no idea what the Rock Paper Scissors part is supposed to be about but whatever! A gamejam entry with progression? I'm impressed

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:36am

best game so far!

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Very cool gameplay and fun to play.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:11pm

This game is amazing.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I laughed when I realized the rock paper scissors battles are fake.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09pm

None of them are fake! Certain characters are just extremely good at rock paper scissors...

KuGrou says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Loved this game. Looked good and felt great to play. Would like to see a larger variety of tricks if you continue working on this idea.

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Good game! The controls are tight... and the rock paper scissor minigame was a very nice and refreshing addition!

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:43pm

@GertJohnny - and some are extremely bad ;)

Come on, some characters lose every time.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:53pm

This game was so pitted. I have nothing constructive to say, except that it was super dope and my favorite jam entry thus far.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59pm

@ActionRemix - it sounds like you're a rock paper scissors expert to me. There's no need to brag :)

v3games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:53am

That is addicting. I think you are a contender in the fun category. Once I picked it up I had a hard time putting it down.

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:42am

Wow ! very good game ! addictive and fun ! control are perfect ! Just Wow !

v3games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I came back to play your game. You have to polish this up and put it on phones.(and let me know when you do) I am addicted This is Cool Borders meets Road Rash AND IT'S AMAZING!

GertJohnny says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:57pm

@v3games - oh, it's been on iOS since a few hours after the comp ended. I've even added Head 2 Head mode (2 players on the same device), and the wrench battles are pretty intense. I'll definitely consider making the iOS and android versions available if there's enough demand. It's by no means finished, but I agree that it's super fun on mobile.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Amazing game. I'm almost #1 but I keep falling. I'll keep on trying until I win! :D

oldbean says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:24am

Very, very fun! Very addicting! Always one more challenge to keep things interesting and fresh. And the whole ambiance is perfect! Visuals and music are perfect, I love them! Way to keep the 16-bit graphics and music alive! Challenging enough to be interesting, achievable so that it is fun! Very well done! :)

May 2, 2014 @ 8:31am

Wow, awesome. One of the tightest, best playing arcade games this jam. Great music and art. Stellar effort. This would have shipped and made millions in the 80s :)

v3games says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:05pm

So now all my coworkers are playing it too... Just stopping by again to say great game. Best game I've seen so far this jam and I've rated 70+ games.

conormn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:03pm

HOLY CRAP! Congratulations on making the best NES game ever :)

Poffers says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:01am

I cant believe you made this in just 48 hours its soooo good and better than most $40 full release games
LOVE IT

May 3, 2014 @ 7:11pm

great game, gave me a California games flashback

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:30pm

First of all, let me congratulate you on utilizing what was quite possibly one of the best interpretations of the theme.

Now, with that out of the way, I must say that this one really impressed me. The graphics are marvelous; watching the rippling wave crest & the rotating surfer almost had me mesmerized. The music was upbeat and catchy. The gameplay was exciting, satisfying, and had just the right amount of risk vs reward. Controls were responsive & introduced at an understandable pace (good call on only announcing keys once their function becomes available).

However, I didn't see much of a point to the RPS minigame in between rounds. In fact, I feel that it really breaks up the action, and it takes me right out of the game. It's clear that it was used as a way to get new items/abilities, but I think it would have been better if items were awarded based on your surfing score.

Overall, fantastic job! I'll be coming back to play this one now and then. :)

ahmeni says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Fantastically done. Amazing sound, tight controls, great mood.

Dat soundtrack :3

May 7, 2014 @ 4:21pm

You are featured in today's episode of Ludumdare to Believe by the Button Masher Bros! Check it out at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsYGv849RzM

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I saw your game in https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsYGv849RzM . Nice job, good graphics, sounds and jokes :P ! Hahahah, congrets

dector says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:24pm

I was soooo close! :) Liked game! Lot of fun!

http://piccy.info/view3/6353363/652ae3167d2a120750e922c44f275846/

FrozenCow says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Dudebro, awesome game! Surfing felt really good (a bit like Ski or Die!) and the rock-paper-scissor was a nice minigame. Really nice job in 72h!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:47am

Pretty sweet game, doing tricks was fun.

It was really frustrating at the end, I couldn't seem to beat it. No matter how many times I smacked the surf ace with the wrench he never seemed to get knocked off, and his score was always just slightly better than mine (even if I had 20k points or 40k) so it was obviously coded that I had to do something else to beat him, or it was impossible. It was really, really frustrating.

Other than that the game was totally gnarly, dude. Well done.

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:43am

Probably my favorite entry so far! Really great game, fun mechanics, great progression, length, graphics and amazing music! Good job!

May 8, 2014 @ 8:45am

Absolutely amazing game! Also, I've learnt that going Rock doesn't always win. I learnt this rather slowly and painfully.

Dreauw says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:55am

I beat the Surf Ace !
That was the most intense BO7 rock paper scissors of my life :D

Really great job, nice art, nice music, nice use of the theme, lot's of fun and humor : well done !

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:26pm

WOW!. You had me with the old school music, but the rest of it played like a arcade classic as well (summer games etc.).
It was fun to play, the gameplay was excellent and the minigame was surprising.

Just great!

Oh and welcome to the Surf Ace club ;)

Oh and

GarethIW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Ladies and gents, we have a winner! I didn't make it out from under the surf ace, but I got pretty close!

Kyatric says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Very nice game.
Reminded me of some of the first surf games in 3D, despite the side-scrolling/2D aspect of it.

he curves are very nice, the smoothness/speed impression is there as well.

I've been a bit bumped with the rock-paper-scissor aspect of things, you could vary a bit the "out-of-water" challenges I think, that would make the game even more enjoyable.

Also, the "twist" about using a wrench to make your way to the top, that's kind of opposite to surf's philosophy, nevertheless fun.
The Surf Ace is a cheater though, in the way he dodges, needs several wrench hits before getting slammed.

Anyway, a fun nice game, good job, and congratulations on the jam entry.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:05pm

This is probably in my top 5 for this Ludum Dare. I played this for longer than I'd care to admit, trying to beat the Surf Ace. Please, PLEASE extend this into a full game with tons of minigames.

Wertle says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:08am

This game is amazing! It is so cohesive on all fronts and has just the right amount of variety while still tying it together as a whole. I will say I was sad to be forced to the dark side and use a wrench when I wanted to win on my own merits, but such is life :) NICE WORK!!

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:10pm

This takes me back to California Games, my favorite event was surfing. Great take on the theme:)

May 11, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Really fun and well amde. I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/a1xd0I3_xtY

May 15, 2014 @ 1:38am

Ok I was in day 25 or something and i striked everybody with the wrench but when i (finally) get to surface and try to strike him, he doesn't fall, even after 3 hits. Its so difficult, yet so addicting.

GFM says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:33am

Ok... I've got only one thing to say: this was friggin' awesome!
The graphics were great and reminded me of the 16-bit era pre-rendered graphics.
Music was really good and sfx were great.

And gameplay was... really, really fun! I thought it was unbeatable, so I gave up at first (no, I didn't rage quit! XD).
But then, I gave it another try and was able to beat it in a few days (around 10). I was really expecting a worse ending...
But I beat the surf ace. Now I can forget surfing in peace. XD

Lama says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:40am

really fun

May 18, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Awesome game, reminded me of playing the old California games. Like the way you added the extra story element with the surf camp and the rock, paper, scissors game.

Striwx says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Fun, just fun !!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:00pm

This is awesome! It looks and plays great, and i love that the upgrades are tied to the plot instead of a random shop. Couldn't for the life of me wreck the Surf Ace though. Nice work!

ActionRemix says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 3:30am

You deserve it, great job!

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 6:40am

California Gaaaaaaaames!

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 6:41am

Btw, does the rock paper scissors not work for anyone else? I can't (or don't know how to) select the choices.

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 6:54am

Oh nvm, got it

Rustam says ...
Apr 16, 2017 @ 10:13am

This is a great inspiring article.I am pretty much pleased with your good work.You put really very helpful information. Keep it up. Keep blogging. Looking to reading your next post.

http://mikssoft.ru

zwinge says ...
May 12, 2017 @ 12:10pm

We City was designed from the ground up for the iPad, iPhone and iPod touch. http://snopova.ru You can search for items, scroll through recently Fancy'd items, or look through the lists of users you follow.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]