Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underground Minions

by Shinxs - Jam Entry

Me (Shinxs), TheGunMasterDigital and some musical help from Selulance, find there youtube account in the credits.


We used the full 3 days :p and we don't have a lot of maps, more are coming soon!

We did run out of time so we could only finish the first tutorial and the second level, there are a few bugs. We have noticed them and are trying to fix them in the full game which you can play with the link down below (not finished yet). The second level was supposed to be a tutorial on more of the blocks but we didn't get to finish it, time was up.

We don't do this to influence your opinion about the game but if you liked the game and want to play it some more you can find later progress (so more than 72 hours) on this page:

Updates: http://shinxs.com/updates/?filter=underground+minions
Downloads: http://shinxs.com/games/underground_minions/

We hope you liked it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#313Innovation(Jam)3.14
#501Audio(Jam)2.71
#523Humor(Jam)2.18
#580Overall(Jam)2.84
#581Fun(Jam)2.56
#585Mood(Jam)2.67
#592Theme(Jam)2.66
#676Graphics(Jam)2.43

Comments

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51am

The idea is kind of an interesting twist on Lemmings. Unfortunately there was only one level you could fully complete, and the second one was a lot of trial and error trying to figure out what all the actions did. Could be fun if you developed it a little further.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00am

Unix package seems contains windows executables.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00am

It's a nice entry, although the second level should give some more instructions on what actions do. Music fits it, but don't really see the theme in it other than the elevator.
Btw, for the dev, there's a bug when removing actions that made my first action (the ^) increase instead of the action I removed.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01am

It's a shame you didn't get to make more content in the time, would have liked to have seen more!

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01am

I like the idea, but the actions could really use tooltips. Also there is a bug: If you remove an action, you get 2 of the first instead of the one you removed.

Adam Gould says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03am

A cool interpretation of the Lemmings formula! Sadly the second level is pretty much unplayable, but I can see a lot of potential.

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08am

the windows link ends in a 404 :( will check later

Shinxs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10am

@popogames, the link is fixed :)

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:21am

Cool concept but it could really use some time to polish it and create more content, maybe a post-compo version.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:30am

can't seem to actually place action blocks when the tutorial tells me to :(

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36am

Nice take on the theme, reminded me of Lemmings games. The interface was kind of messy, though, and it was really difficult to see what the actions were about. Keep working on this, though, this oughta be fun!

j_peeba says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40am

A little more intuitive interface would have served this game well! Other than that, I like the idea and there's plenty of potential for further development too.

uniquecorn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Needs more polish, but otherwise, nice concept!

Seme says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Really liked to concept. Reminds me of Lemmings a bit.

FGM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Pretty neat game. You might want to check your removing of actions. It doesn't restock the correct action.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:24pm

This looks like an awesome game idea. Unfortunately I tried all permutations of the action blocks and wasn't able to pass the first pit fall in the second level. No matter which action block I placed, my minions seemed to do the same thing.

A few comments:
- The game opens in a window in which I cannot see the entire level.
- The game crashes when I switch to the first level while I'm in the second level.
- Removing action blocks of any kind increases the number of action block of the first kind in my inventory.

I hope you get around to finishing the game, it looks quite promising. By the way, the music is great too.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]