Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Your Skin

by JumbocactuarX27 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
WASD for movement
Left Shift + W or S for going into vents (parasite form only)
Left Ctrl to Eat (parasite form only)
Left Ctrl to abandon your host (after eating)

Tips:
Doors are color coded. Match the color above the door to pass. Doors with no light are always open.

If you get stuck, press the R key.

Known Bugs:
You shouldn't be able to move during a few animations that you can move in the middle of.

Will try to upload a windows port on Monday.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#315Humor2.84
#475Innovation3.17
#497Theme3.33
#875Audio2.08
#892Graphics2.63
#916Fun2.60
#931Mood2.56
#945Overall2.77

Comments

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Interesting game. Nice use of theme.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Like the animations and the art style. Not very clear at time to what you have to do

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:13am

Good job! I'm on a mac so whenever I ate someone I would always get kicked to dashboard, and would have to go back to my browser.

But nice artstyle, and nice game!

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:24am

I like the creepy music.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30am

Man, that guy's face was delicious. And I was hungry... I hadn't eaten anything since I got there.

Controls were a little hit & miss; it took a decent amount of key-mashing before I could get into the vent.

All things considered though, this was an interesting game, and I would like to find out how it would end. Points for simple-yet-effective walking animations.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30am

oops - I guess the music I heard was coming from a different browser tab! I like the way you gradually add the controls in the game.

muramasa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:31am

I just hate having to restart every time I lose. Anything else, I love it! Great concept!

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:34am

Good job! One of the things though, is that I couldn't figure out how to go through the roof/floor for a little while. Also, if you were on the edge of one of the vents, you could go through the roof/floor. Awesome job, though! Nice graphics, and idea!

Switchbreak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35am

I finished it! Very cool. This game has a pretty good idea and it executes on it.

It could definitely use some sounds (I like the little bit of voice acting, though the volume on it seemed to vary wildly). The UI needs a lot of work, and there definitely should be checkpoints before that guard with the gun.

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

Great Game

haloflooder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05am

I like the idea of the game, I did find a few bugs one being if you go under the second elevator after you take control of the guard you get pushed out of the map. Overall nice job but I wish the camera would have move a little bit faster as it seemed choppy once you started moving.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:32am

'hey there, you wanna snack?' - thats a real fun!

i wish there could be more games where I can eat people's insides and digest them to feed my parasite nature.

idea is great, but I got stuck after blue guard.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Love the mechanic, but it seems as though I couldn't get into the vent. I just kept dying. Shame!

Reinkout says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:28am

The art was spot on!

GertJohnny says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:34am

That guy looks pretty badass at the end with his monocle sunglasses thing (or is it an eyepatch?). I had some difficulty with the controls, and kept crushing myself under the elevator, but I really like the concept. Add some special abilities to the hosts and add some puzzles to solve and i'd play it for sure.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Nice!
The carcass on the ground was pretty cool in pixels.
But it is a little hard to play, and the controls to enter the ventilation ducts were difficult.

CommanderJ says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:41am

great take on the theme, sort of on two levels. I didn't hear any music (used web version), but I did like the voice at the beginning.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]