Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Escape

by Masadow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal is to find the exit. You only have your flashlight to look around.

Use your mouse to direct your flashlight
Use WASD or Arrow keys to move around.

Try to find the exist as fast as possible and post your best below :)

I know I could improve the game a lot, at the time of submitting, I have 10 hours left. But due to a lack of ideas and also a lot of work aside from LD to do, I'll stick with this.


Game made with Haxe and Haxeflixel library

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Innovation3.25
#676Theme3.13
#941Mood2.55
#956Audio1.81
#1111Overall2.54
#1182Fun2.08
#1185Graphics2.00
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Lucio says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I like this concept. The flashlight reveals little about the place, and makes the game not easy at all. but I miss enimies

magicspark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Finished in 17 seconds :) You should at least let the winning screen last 1 second, the first time I won I did not see the exit and won, which means that I was still pressing an "up" key so the winning screen disappeared instantly...

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Interesting concept, the overlaid map is probably superfluous, and I gave up because I had no idea what to look for.

Masadow says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:30pm

@stvr: Indeed, the level design is terrible :/ But the innovative point is about the overlaid map

BooleanByte says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:02pm

205 seconds :|. well, i tidnt know wher i wanted to go. first saw the goal when i got to it. It was a litle bit frustrating to dont't at all know wher i whuld nd up. but i assume thats a part of the challenge :)

Candyhandy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:31am

Awesome concept.

frogcheese says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Boy, was I terrible at this. I finally found the exit, but I think I'll keep my score to myself... :P Cool concept, navigating a maze in the dark was hard enough, but the overlay really added another dimension of difficulty to it.

Lucariatias says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:12pm

A very interesting mechanic, yet infuriating. Good interpretation of the theme, it just needed more atmosphere, the sounds became irritating and the game didn't look fantastic.

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Sadly, I could not escape.

mark.goetz says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Got mine in 65 seconds! I like the tradeoff between moving and using your flashlight. I think some graphical and audio polish would've helped, as well as making it clear what the exit looks like. I did like how the exit turned out to be close to the start, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]