Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Platform Hero

by greysphere - Jam Entry

Why play a regular platformer, when you can crank out a jam, Guitar-Hero style, to move around the world? We mapped a playful melody to arrow keystrokes, then built the level around the path determined by the song. Don't miss a beat and you'll avoid traps, monsters, and fireballs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#10Audio(Jam)4.34
#11Fun(Jam)4.10
#21Overall(Jam)4.08
#29Innovation(Jam)3.97
#52Humor(Jam)3.74
#120Graphics(Jam)4.11
#147Mood(Jam)3.59
#388Theme(Jam)3.13

Comments

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:26am

Awesome!

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

Nice and challenging. A little bit confusing if you try to pay attention to both sides of the screen.

mattrified says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46am

Nice! I really liked it. I think if the keys blinked on the beat of the song, it'd be even better. It's a minor note that other music games like DDR do, but it was still fun! Good job!

Akihidas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

Excellent feel! Really enjoyed it

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50am

Wow, I really enjoyed that! Starting off I wasn't sure whether I should follow the prompts or try and watch the character. Wasn't quite good enough for the ladder but still really fun!

MithosKuu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

At first seeing a guitar hero game threw me off and I was a little disappointed (the assets made it look like a very solid looking platform). However, playing through it was quite a nice simple experience. I like the execution and the clever animations stuck out to me. My only gripe is that there was no score system (which, having failed to add that to our own project, I understand). Maybe make another pass at this now that the Dare is over and add some features!

chill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

really fun game! and a neat concept to boot! the cat getting hit by lightening really made me smile lol :D

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05am

HAHA! I forgot how much I loved rythm games. Way to go!

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

I'm a huge fan of rhythm games so this is right up my alley. It's a pretty interesting ability to blend the platformer with the rhythm genre, my only complaint is that you couldn't actually die, your health just refilled.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

Fantastic work. I love the melon cat. Shame I had to focus on hitting keys, I didn't get the appreciate the art of the obstacles. I barely remember what they were. Great music, well done!

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18am

killer soundtrack, cool game..the web version was lagging a bit but windows version is spot on

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Very cute! I liked the music and art. Very polished as well. The hearts felt a little meaningless, or is that a joke at cats having nine lives? Regardless, some kind of loss condition or score would be nice. I wish I could watch the cat instead of having to keep my eyes glued to the keys, haha!

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47am

Loved the art style and music! Unfortunately it was hard to appreciate all the platforming silliness going on while also concentrating on the keys.

rojo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

The song & gameplay were pretty solid, but I had to focus so much on the fret board that I never payed any attention to the cat. It might be a better experience if you show the key presses on or near the the things he's platforming across.

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

Very pretty. Probably better running native. Browser input is laggy.

pandamicro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37am

Couldn't get it running on web because of an error : "[Error] TypeError: 'null' is not an object (evaluating 's.e.createFramebuffer') (LD29.js, line 498)"

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Pandamicro, are you on your iPad/phone? We don't have support for that yet. If not, what is your OS/Browser?

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38am

Quite interesting. This could be a great mobile game in my opinion, if you get the controls right. :)

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39am

Cat :3
I had to download the windows version 'cause the web was lagging.
It's a nice combo of platform & music game :D, great graphics too

brogrammers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40am

awesome game! only thing I have to say is that the position of the arrow keys is a bit awkward, should have used maybe qwerty keys

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41am

Really awesome! But i was so focused on the keys that i was missing out on the awesomeness happening on the right. Perhaps, you should give some input then play the result on the right? Loved it anyway!

brogrammers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41am

awesome game! only thing I have to say is that the position of the arrow keys is a bit awkward, should have used maybe qwerty keys

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43am

really nice, love the music, I did the run in the first time! cool game

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

What a great game. Until now it is one of my favourites this LD.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46am

Definitely going to be coming back to play this again soon! The graphics and music are outstanding. My only complaints I guess would be the lack of a score at the end to compare how you did, and the fact that if I tried to watch the cat, I invariably caused him great pain :P
Anyway, brilliant game, nice work!

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:47am

I really like the idea of combining guitar hero with a platformer! I felt a bit stressed while playing because I constantly tried to focus on the fretboard, while getting distracted by the right-side of the screen. Cool graphics, And really fun to watch someone else play.

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

My favorite game so far. 5/5 would platform with cat again.

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:04am

wow this game really is eye candy! and i am ALL about rhythm games. so this was awesome. though the calibration could be better, i played it first by sight of notes and targets, then i played it by the actual beat and i missed every one, the notes were early. otherwise, solid!

adamwoolridge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:39am

Cool game! Shame I couldn't watch the platforming as we have to look to the left! Maybe a different layout might belp? Nice art!

Shinxs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Its a really cool game, I enjoyed playing it, the only thing was that i couldn't die. But overall good job!

Dooleus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I absolutely LOVE this game! My only criticism is that the note lanes should be in the middle of the screen, semi-transparent, so you can watch the cat-player do the platforming while looking at the falling notes. You could even have it veeeery slowly slide back and forth across the screen. I think the screen could move a bit slower to the right, too. The art and music are AWESOME.

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:51am

Amazing! Really really good game, I found no problems with it except there were no more levels!

mortus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:41am

That's some really unique gameplay (even if it's essentially just Something Hero game when you get to the basics). I've also thought about something similar some time ago but never had time to try it.

Visuals and sound effects are great btw! I just wish I could see more while trying to concentrate on the keys I have to press.

Frump says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:49am

It was hard to follow the note bar and the cat but overall it was great. Very fun!

May 6, 2014 @ 12:11am

Very very fun! Top marks!

Tomski says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Pretty sweet. wish i could watch the cat and play at the same time ha

peterlavey says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:12pm

I was mistaken to see that the cat was fun xD

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:44pm

very nice and funny game!!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]