Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

One more day

by Menesetsu - Jam Entry

This game is about a guy in biohazard suit with a metal detector. He's walking along the beach in constant searching for batteries and cans with food.

All he needs is to survive one more day.

Controls:

Arrows - movement
Z - turn on/off metal detector
X (hold) - dig

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#7Theme(Jam)4.21
#40Innovation(Jam)3.86
#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#43Mood(Jam)4.07
#59Overall(Jam)3.79
#81Graphics(Jam)4.24
#254Humor(Jam)2.86
#286Fun(Jam)3.14

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02am

Played it for couple minutes, feels great and looks good. I'll play more tomorrow and rate it. I'm too tired, goodnight :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

It feels really good, the atmosphere is great, I like very much your character, looking cool ! Nice job !

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31am

looks great and a cool concept! Awesome graphics, excellent sound

aviktorov says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

Thank you guys! We had to cut significant part of the game in order to deliver it polished and smooth. Hope we'll return that part in post-compo version. :)

onemoar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35am

Noooice!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49am

Okay, second play with rating. It was though but I gave most of my points to innovation, graphics and mood. Theme and audio are second. The little details in this game like shadows of the floor and day&night cycles are impressive. I'm kind of curious what you guys will add in the post version. Good job :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:35am

Gorgeous landscape.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:47am

its ALL FIVE STARS! Great JOB guys!

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Doesn't work on win7/chrome. After clicking the play button some blue card flashes in the background, but the game stays on the menu screen and doesn't launch.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

It looks great, though even though I was digging when the detector was beeping as rapidly as it could I only ever found one battery :(.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Would be great to include a linux-executable since the webplayer is still win/mac-only... :(

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Yes, I think it might be a good idea to include win/mac/linux standalone builds. Working on that!

BadPaul34 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Nice game ! I love the concept and how it fits to the theme. The sound is good. The graphics needs to be perhaps less cheap (especially the light) as when it is really sunny, we can't read or see very well the ground.
Good job.

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Great game, but gameplay was confusing. Whenever I dig something up, there's a sing, but I have no idea what that did.

StoneMasters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Worth starting up just for the atmosphere of the game. Survived a couple of days! Cool idea.

MithosKuu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:21am

This is Rik from the CORE Games team, posting on Mith's account.

This looks seriously good and I'm in love with the style and atmosphere, but unfortunately I didn't really feel like I was progressing at all. I'm sure that was just me being not super great at it (and being a little sleepy) though, so seriously. Probably one of the best entries I've been able to play so far.

Menesetsu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:47am

@dertom, added linux standalone compo version. Enjoy it! ;)

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:58pm

The game has great graphics and sound. I enjoyed playing the game but I got the same feelings as @MithosKuu. I found several items but didn't feel I was progressing at all.

Menesetsu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Thanks for commenting, randoman! Could you tell what might give you that 'progress' feeling?

May 5, 2014 @ 9:55am

Extremely moody and very pretty game. Nice animations on the character.
Beeping sound was a bit annoying. Also, it would have been good to have an additional visual feedback for it.
Having no Battery left means your practically dead, no? Or is there anything you could do once Battery reaches 0?

Menesetsu says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:44am

@Maschinen-Mensch, on zero battery metal detector will beep less frequently so you're still able to search for items.

jtpup0 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Love the atmosphere, visuals, and sound.. I really like this

v_n_j says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:37pm

That voxel sand is awesome! I wish there were holes in the sand after you dig, but i believe that's a part of what you have cutted.

Menesetsu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:30am

Thank you guys, you're making us happy! :)

teambrookvale says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:58am

Awesome graphics and mood. Really cool and fun game. Very well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]