Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tunnel Runner

by Alucard Jay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tunnel Runner

A basic racing game against the clock. Dodge and weave your way through ever increasingly treacherous tunnels, all in the hope that you will make it out alive ....



CONTROLS :

Navigate the menu with the mouse.

Select your input device in the OPTIONS menu (QWERTY, AZERTY, xBox360 controller)

The Vertical Axis can also be toggled in game (inverted or normal) with the Y key.


QWERTY :

Pitch - W and S

Roll - A and D

Yaw - Q and E

Accelerate - , (comma)

Decelerate - . (period/fullstop)

Shoot - Space or Left Mouse Button


AZERTY :

Pitch - Z and S

Roll - Q and D

Yaw - A and E

Accelerate - ; (semicolon)

Decelerate - : (colon)

Shoot - Space or Left Mouse Button


xBox 360 Controller:

Pitch - LeftStick Vertical

Roll - LeftStick Horizontal

Yaw - Left Bumper and Right Bumper

Accelerate - Right Trigger

Decelerate - Left Trigger

Shoot - A Button


The highest score is saved via Unitys PlayerPrefs system.



CREDITS :

Here's to all the free assets I used from the Unity Asset Store, many thanks.

Spaceship : SC _ CGPitbull : https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/11711

Rebel Probe : Tiger Shark Studios : https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/3549

Rock Texture : Unitys Terrain Assets : https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/6

Explosion and Afterburner : Unitys Standard Assets (beta) : https://kharma.unity3d.com/#/content/14474



Thoughts from the author :

5 hours in to this Ludum Dare and I abandoned my first project after realizing I would not achieve anything like my vision, let alone a playable game within the timeframe. So I made this game. I wanted more features in this game.

The original story was "you are monitoring several planetary excavation sites, with the main role of rescuing the occupants of various outposts when they became under siege".

This game is actually just the first part, navigating the tunnels to the underground mining facility, where there you would have a skirmish with various other craft and even alien life forms. Even more, I was going to swap to a first person shooter where you searched the facility for survivors and cleared out any intruders. Then flying the rescued back to the orbital monitoring station.

Yet another idea too grand for my capabilities within the competition timeframe. (note to self ; practice using Blender before wasting 5 hours during the competition constructing various basic cylinders).
The main thing I wanted to accomplish was creating a procedurally generated level. And while there are many flaws with the matching of pieces, I'm quite happy that the idea behind the method worked. All the tunnel surfaces are modified with perlin noise, and my next step is to work out how to make the pieces seamlessly tessellate. There are problems with Unity and inward facing meshes that have a lot of detail when not set to convex, and collisions sometimes show it.

Thank you for reading, and I hope you have fun playing this little game. Enjoy! =]

Jay Kay (Alucard Jay)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#202Graphics3.78
#406Mood3.16
#424Theme3.41
#459Overall3.27
#618Fun2.95
#690Innovation2.88
#753Audio2.37
#849Humor2.00

Comments

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28am

Really challenging controls.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

Wow that's disorienting. I like it.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45am

I'm interested to see if anyone passes 3 minutes without using the brake. Hot tip - it's actually easier using the yaw controls rather than the roll controls ;)

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

reminds me of "descent" - a 90s game - liked it

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

Played 10 times or so. Never got to where I had to shoot anything (not far enough). I started with the mouse and quickly abandoned it, as I couldn't speed up or slow down. Pretty fun, looks great and nice for 48 hours. Would suggest stuff like a speed meter on screen and maybe hull damage so you can take 3-4 hits before dying? Great job.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

Really nice, I liked this a lot. Some sounds and more mechanics would be that but other than that its fun to just accelerate as fast as you can to test your reactions, and also look at how nice the ship is.

mat1er says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Disorienting, hard, but fun

evilDan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:22am

LOVED it. Would have like having fewer controls (or more time to figure them out) but overall very awesome.

psychonull says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:15am

Loved the controls, though they're hard to catch. Catchy game, good job.

Keehan12 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:06am

I really enjoyed the graphics and mood, but gameplay could have some working on.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Excellent worj with the spaceship. I like the tunnel-exploring too, though it's a bit hard ;P

...it actually reminds me of my own game Vertical Void. The tunnel-part, it has no spaceship. Yours is better in that regard ;P

Almost says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:04am

It's kind of cool, but the "slow down" button seems to change the game from super hard to super easy. Without it, I never reached an enemy, and with it I could navigate every turn simply by being patient, and the monsters that I encountered didn't seem to have ranged attacks.

Since you passively accelerate, the game gets more difficult over time but with the "slow down" button I can control my ship easily regardless of how far I have progressed.

It also would be cool if I bounced off of walls (toward the forward direction) instead of being destroyed and respawning. This bounce could damage the ship, and 3 hits would destroy it.

It would also be cool if in some places the cave becomes more like a cavern than a tunnel, so that I have a choice of where to go to avoid something instead of just "which way does the path turn next"

May 19, 2014 @ 11:42am

Quite fun and challenging game without using the brake. Liked the feeling of being lost and journeying down

littleball says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Could be an amazing game, but I found it frustrating working out where the tunnel went. Graphics are fantastic and the control mechanic feels solid. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]