Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rosa Neurosa

by Wertle - Jam Entry

Rosa Neurosa is a digging/mad libs/improv game. Help the patient discover the true cause of their phobia by digging around for memories and explaining how they are related.

If you come up with a funny (and safe for work) story, share the link in the comments!

Controls:
AD - move
Space - jump
E - pick up memory (sometimes the memory spawn in rocks and you can't pick them up, sorry!)
Mouse - aim drill

Credits:
Lisa Brown (@Wertle) - Design, programming, sound
Will White (@Willmandagames) - Design, art, animation, music

Special thanks to:
Nick Weihs - math consultation
Amanda White - came up with the name. QA management
Everyone who stopped by during the dev stream to help playtest and offer ideas for phobia objects!

Known Bugs:
- this works best in Chrome. There are some crazy bugs in Firefox that I hope to address post-jam.
- Sometimes memories spawn under rocks and you can't pick them up
- Occasionally on the final screens, clicking through will reset the game instead of advancing the story (so copy your link as soon as it comes up!)

Second Note: If you played an earlier release of this, you might have to clear your cache for the final version to show up. If the title screen still says "this is a video game," then you need to clear :)

(edit: fixed a progression stopper)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#18Theme(Jam)4.08
#20Humor(Jam)4.09
#30Innovation(Jam)3.95
#68Overall(Jam)3.76
#138Graphics(Jam)4.05
#141Audio(Jam)3.60
#156Fun(Jam)3.39
#178Mood(Jam)3.50

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

That was one of the weirdest games i've played here! haha!
It's a great idea! It would be nice if the text box could give me a hint about the apropriate verbs to use, my ending turned out quite messy because of that haha
I'm sharing it:
http://tinyurl.com/o2qlvfb

Good work!
Oh, and awesome animation too

Wertle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52am

Thanks baykush! :D

I used my last 10 minutes of submission time to clarify the text box, hopefully it helps (it now also says "use complete sentences as though you are speaking to the patient," you'll have to force clear the cache to see the update)

nddrylliog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11am

Hey Wertle! Really innovative (well not the platformer part but the combination), impressed by the amount of content :)

You asked me to share my story and.. well I'm drunk, so I won't because it's not a nice story. But I laughed a lot!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47am

Interesting take on the theme.

The platformer/drilling part isn't really satisfying in my opinion. At first, I thought the light bulbs were the memories I was supposed to interact with.
That's only after having discovered one in the tiles that I understood I was supposed to avoid the light bulbs and randomly dig in the surface.

This ended up that the very first item I saw, I made a story with.

On the first play, I was tempted to not write true sentences because I found it kind of boring.

Though when put together at the end it made for a silly story that made me laugh. (I prefer not to share it, it's pretty silly/not nice)

So, to me, perhaps you could cut out the drilling part, or change it with something less random and without "psychopath lighting bulbs" that would be more efficient to bring the fun of the ending.

Nevertheless, good graphics and sounds, I liked the doctor's blabbering sound. And once again, interesting take on the theme and nice effort of adding psychology in the mix.
It's not fully a success yet imo, but it's a nice first step.

Congratulations on making a game in a week-end and submitting it !

moonmagic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

The text boxes after you find memories are so great! I wasn't quite sure what to do with the lightbulbs; I could tell they were Enemies, but they were trivial to avoid once I was underground. I wish the drill was many many times faster, it would have been great to just blast through the bear's mind.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52am

Haha, very entertaining! Love the little animated scenes!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13am

The gameplay itself I found a bit lacking. I'm not sure what it was supposed to be other than maybe dig dug. However the art quality and story writing mechanic make this a formidable entry. Also an interesting use of the theme.

~AlucardX60

colludium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15pm

That's hilarious - nice work, great sounds and excellent graphics.

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30am

I quite liked it, the concept was unique and the mechanics linked to the theme well. It could use some work to enhance playability, but for a weekend it's awesome. I love the art style, by the way ^_^

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:59am

Loved the graphics XD I said that my guy had a phobia of spiders because he was bitten by a radioactive spider when he was a kid turning into spiderman lol. Really nice game, the theme use of going inside the human body is similar to our idea with Infection, so I love it ^^ awesome game

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:25am

wow the art style is awesome! and its a unique twist on the generic mining game. awesome!

May 1, 2014 @ 12:51pm

This was great, I really love games that give the player a chance for little creativity. I guess the only frustration was that I wanted to find things and make up the story, but I kept getting hit by the light bulbs (which i initially thought were memories). I guess the platformer bit didn't quite gel with the story side. Overall very high marks from me though, great work.

Here is my clean, safe but totally bizarre ending:
http://tinyurl.com/qbn9my6

TobiasW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Oh wow. Since you can't watch me play your game like you did, here's a list of my unordered observations:
- That title screen. "A digging psycho-analytical improv game." What? Haha :D
- The sounds are great! The only thing that's a little bit off for me is the jumping sound, but everything else, great! My favourite: Drilling on stone.
- I love how she casually strolls through the memories, wielding this ridiculous drill.
- At first I thought that those lamp enemies weren't a good idea because they don't contribute to the core idea, but after a few minutes I changed my mind: They are fun to outsmart and add a sense of urgency.
- I thought that at the end I'd just get a text of the things I wrote, but I actually get a link for the whole ending to share? Awesome!
- The art is really great all around! The minimal animations in the opening add to the feel, and everything ingame looks really pleasent.
- Visual effects are nice! The screen shake, the dirt particles and the lights - yeah, polish!
- I liked the music a lot too. It underlined everything well.

I'm most impressed with how you pulled of a digital one player improv game though! It was a very fun experience. Here, have ALL my stars!

My endings:
- http://tinyurl.com/kfmmhnb
- http://tinyurl.com/kr4759q (This was hard. I clicked accidentally on the telephone, haha. Also this patient must've really enjoyed his experience with me, a doctor.)

Wertle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Tobias - those are AMAZING XD

MyrddinsOwl says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:07am

This game is amazing! I have to say, I watched you guys make it, but it really came together well in the end.

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:05am

Psychonautsy! :D

Daveloper says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Fun game! Drilling across the levels was enjoyable, enjoyed the cutscenes too!

Deity says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:36am

Nicely done. The "share the ending" with a URL was a cool touch.

The drilling and finding of items worked well and the graphics were excellent. Has potential to be a full game.

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Super fun! My patient's phobia involved spiders that turn into ducks and sit in a chair staring at them. My patient is creepy. Not me, I'm normal.

The one complaint I can think of is the mixing and the repeat rate on the digging sound.

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:15pm

The graphics are great, but he sound of the drill was a bit annoying. I really like that you could make up the explanation. Fun game!

Arakade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:15am

Great use of theme (my first thought was something psychological but didn't come up with anything as good as this!)

I must be getting old because I found it too hard! Those lightbulb ghosts seem to drop on my head every time I start digging! Got 1 memory, clicked "not related" then got 'bulbed again! 8 play-throughs and I'd had enough. Still since that's probably me, I still think it's good work :-)

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:34am

Nice job! The whole mad lib element is probably one of the more original concepts I've seen recently. Anyone who's interested can see my ending here (possibly NSFW). http://tinyurl.com/l95px24

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:06am

SO FUN! Such an odd angle on the theme, but very well done all around. I figured out how to dig traps for the lightbulb/ghost things, and get to the memories. Great job! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:10am

strange game - I could not be bothered writing anything in the textbox would have been better if there were options for me to pick from - I understand from lack of time tho - good job

Dualhammers says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:14pm

One of my favorite games on here! The creative use of the theme is excellent, and the performative aspect of the way you interact with the game is a simply but incredibly effective choice. The game itself demands that the player dance with it for it to work its magic and that is extra special.

Here is my story: http://tinyurl.com/mlrwgyb

Here are a few thoughts on how I might refine the entire experience. Take these as purely subjective.

I completely missed the first text box. Overall, UI-wise it wasn't very clear which item I was writing about. Because the circled items were previous items, and the current item was sort of visually buried in the level I was offset in my story.

The "challenge" of avoiding the light-bulbs was really more an annoyance and not exciting, nor was it intrinsically about the game's main focus. Either flesh that out or cut it completely. Personally I'd have liked to see a deeper challenge involved in finding the memories if the game was suppose to be about challenge, but honestly I don't think that is the real focus either. Maybe delving to secret places allows for longer stories?

Does this game need traditional mechanical challenge? I'm not so sure.

pedro.thiers says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:01pm

gosh, you got such a highscore from me xD I loved the cinematics, they were awesome and outstanding for a jam game. Congrats!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:56am

Awesome!! Amazing graphics, great sound (I love the blabbering), and a really creative idea. I spent more time thinking up reasons than actually playing the game haha, but I missed the link on my first playthrough.. here's the second though :P http://tinyurl.com/kql7vru
Great job guys!

Wertle says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:19am

DrPrettyPatty - that was wonderful, hahaha!

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:08am

Clever, love the art style. Well done!

illugion says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

I really liked the graphics and the sounds ( the character speaking is hilarious ) it was fun to make a story for the patient XD I think i got a bug where no memories spawned, on the third level, i was digging and digging and nothing x.x so i killed myself and found one quickly haha

Really fun to play, great job!

May 10, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Those damn lightbulbs kicked my butt, but I liked it. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

shadow64 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:32am

I certainly had a fun time, however my ending was pretty dark: http://tinyurl.com/kcntwth - My fault since I went there, but I still thought it was fun. Hahaha.

I liked the game play of running from the bulbs, but what do they represent? Bad ideas? I'm not really sure I understood that. Trapping them was pretty easy, but you did a nice job of giving them AI to get free.

I think my only other complaint - and this is minor - is that because I know that I'm making up whatever I want, I'm not really inclined to keep searching once I find an object. If you took the game further, I'd make the objects collectible. That way you're looking for the one that you haven't used yet and not just taking the first thing that comes your way.

The graphics were great. Love the talking sound effect. I think you can drop the bass a little on the found object sound. It's REALLY heavy compared to everything else.

Love that you used the theme in two different ways! Nice!

Overall it was a good time and I'm excited to see what's next. Thanks for sharing and taking the time to play/rate/Twitch my game! :D

iambored2006 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:18pm

The game is great, and I loved the idea of building an analysis, but what made it for me was the voices!

hnjslater says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:38am

Great game and concept but I agree with other posters, the platformer just wasn't enough fun. Pretty though

GmacktheGummy says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:00pm

This game was god damned delightful. The humour all comes from the player, which I greatly appreciate. The gameplay was a tad stale, but it can be forgiven. The nature of the game made me want to play it again, which is always a plus. Overall, amazing job.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Ok, this is pretty normal platformer with some clever ideas. Enjoyed this :-)
My, bit silly, diagnosis: mb54aht

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]