Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

My Little Secret

by Thein - 48 Hour Compo Entry

POST-COMPO WEB VERSION: Added using shift or X to speed through text and sprint! Other than that, the game is exactly the same.

***

My Little Secret is a short and sweet adventure game with four possible endings. Your dog Boomer has gone missing. Discover the mysteries of his disappearance, and eat breakfast too! I can't say too much without spoiling anything, so just play and enjoy!

Here is a walkthrough for all endings if you get stuck:
http://pastebin.com/B0dZHvEd

************
HOW TO PLAY:
WASD and E for action.
OR
Arrow keys and Z for action.

Escape to quit.

You can press P at the title screen to reset your save.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#69Mood3.86
#254Humor2.98
#303Overall3.45
#312Audio3.15
#428Graphics3.35
#535Innovation3.09
#587Fun2.98
#693Theme3.11

Comments

cleitoneldorn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

The game entered an infinite loop when I used the mama's bed, I am playing again without doing that, the game is pretty cool!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

After my first ending I got stuck beside mom's bed after finding the secret. It just repeated: "This is where mom sleeps" over and over. But the mood of the game ist incredible! Nice work!

Thein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Oops! Thanks for pointing that out. I've uploaded a fixed version.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

This is where mommy sleeps. This is where mommy sleeps. This is where mommy sleeps. This is where mommy sleeps. This is where mommy sleeps.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

This is really cute! The text sounds were annoying unfortunately, but I think how slick everything else was made up for that.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

):

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Nice little adventure game! Little on the slow side though, if it were a little faster I think it'd be a lot more engaging. Great work otherwise!

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

LOL. I knew there was a twist... But i had to look at the other comments to know where to go. Like others have said, incredible mood!

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

Wu...Wut.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33am

Web version requires a right click "go fullscreen" before it works. Not reviewed yet but it's very charming presentationally!

Thein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43am

Hmm, the web version works fine for me. Unity Web Player is kinda weird sometimes.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

*******SPOILER***********





That was DISTURBING MAN.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

Thanks for the fixed version ! Nice game, the graphics are perfect, cute and yet, you can tell something is not right. Great job !

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

Wonderfully disturbing! I knew right from the start that this was going dark places.

The whole thing, unfortunately, moves too slow. The text speed especially is kind of mind-numbing to deal with. Especially when you're asking us to play through the game multiple times.

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

Whoa this is creepy, nice mood. Btw it would be good if you could speed up the dialogue & walk speed.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16am

It was hard to get through because of how slow the text and movement are. But definitely neat, had an Earthbound feel early on.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

Pretty cool!

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

Great game! Super creepy! Personally, I like the pace of the kid. I agree the text is pretty slow.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:16am

That was... surprising!, Really fun; I feel like the dialogue is bit slow but that's me just being picky. Awesome game

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43am

I wish the movement and text were faster, but other than that it was pretty solid!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I audibly gasped. I only got ending #2, but still, it was great! The movement is definitely too slow for me though, I almost stopped playing. :-/

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Lovely little adventure!

rorycooke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

its totally nuts, best game i've played this time by far

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

WTF!?

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

#################### SPOILER ###########################





Poor Boomer!!! :.( I really enjoyed the game though. cute and disturbing at the same time. awesome.

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49am

The game is good, played it for a longer while, but there are two important things:
You should be able to speed up the dialogues, don't know if it's only here that I can't
The character should be a little faster
While adding those 2 things, it wouldn't take people so long to explore your game, because most of the time you're walking and waiting for the printing of short dialogues instead of getting into the story.
Except of these two, the game is really nice :)

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51am

wow.... well, that was a surprising turn. The walk speed was painfully slow, otherwise nice game :)

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04am

Fun, scary and quite surprising (ending 4), but the sluggishness of the interaction is agonising. And shift/x still doesn't speed anything up in the web version.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06am

Alright game, though the pacing could have been a little quicker with faster movement and dialog, but it's just...

...well...

...I was hoping the secrets were going to be...um

dirty secrets

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11am

Pretty great game

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46am

Haha I loved the little things he says when checking items

<Clock> "Time to Die" LOL

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:58am

nice little game, it was hard to notice that the blue print revealed where to go, furthermore, please increase the text speed, good job

ArthurMaker says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:28am

Pretty nice game...

cavf88 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Text sound is kinda annoying after a while. The ams is pretty cool, it gave my the chills. I only saw one ending, but the fact that you have 4 is amazing. Great entry!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Reminds me of Earthbound !

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Rather disturbing, but very good.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:59am

Disturbing, loved it!

shadow64 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:26am

I enjoyed the game and the way that it turns out. I didn't play more than Ending 1 though I figured out how the others would probably go. It's an interesting use of the theme and I liked most of what you did.

I'd talk about the character/text speed, but you've already addressed those in your fixed version. Overall an interesting game.

Oh and "Yum. Panties." is the worst.

Melondonut says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:40am

Goooooooooooooooooood! I really love the game except there is no "skip" button. :D good work!!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]