Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Skin

by minibutmany - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Deep under the skin the immune system is hard at work!
As a white blood cell you need to eat up bacteria or shoot antibodies at them. Make sure they don't kill too many red blood cells or your master will die!
After 60 seconds prepare yourself for a boss battle with the king of bacteria!
------------------------
Controls:
Player 1 controls:
WASD Keys to move.
J to rotate shooter counter-clockwise
K to rotate shooter clockwise
L to shoot

Player 2 controls:
Arrow Keys to move.
NumPad 1 to rotate shooter counter-clockwise
NumPad 3 to rotate shooter clockwise
NumPad 2 to shoot

-------------------------
If the 1024 version is too big, try the 768 version.
You need webGL to run this, make sure you have it turned on
in your browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#133Theme3.80
#519Innovation3.11
#534Audio2.81
#668Fun2.89
#679Humor2.27
#754Overall2.97
#1010Mood2.44
#1014Graphics2.46

Comments

yetanother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:43am

Original usage of the theme. The local multilayer was fun.

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Nice way to play with the theme. Everything seemed to work well together. The controls took a little bit to get used too. Over all good job, but more sound effects would be great. Having audio feed back, and a clear GUI is important. I had no idea the antibodies could run out.

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

When you kill a bacteria you regain 1 health and 1 antibody

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Very interesting theme interpretation. Controls took a bit to get warmed up to, but it was pretty good once I got into it.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Solid game idea, sort of a topdown shooter tower defense thing.

If the controls were tightened up, and another mechanic or two and this could be cool.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Nice use of the theme, mechanics were a little floaty but was fun to play.

maffydub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Good idea - I like the game mechanics and music! Sometimes it seemed as though a bacteria could get a cell before you had an opportunity to shoot it, but other than that it was a lot of fun.

In particular, nice one on getting the boss battle and multiplayer working in 48 hours!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Fun game. I had the same problems as CayoDaves but overall enjoyed it. It was cool that you could push the red blood cells to safety as an alternative to shooting bacteria.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Was fumbling around a bit with the controls and purpose of my actions at first, but it became clear pretty quickly. Boss Germ stomped on me. :P

May 2, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Awesome game concept. Very accurate to the real world. I love that you need to bump into bacteria to get receptors to shoot. However, it is not very clear what the losing or winning conditions are.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:04am

The multiplayer feature was pretty fun, the music was really cool too!

Muciojad says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:01am

Quite good entry, I had small problem with a little "heavy" controls but anyway it is solid game for 48 hours ;)

ZQMony says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:44am

Very fun game once you get used to the controls.

Keehan12 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:46am

interesting controls, but found them very fun!

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:52am

Nice! Cool music, cool gameplay, I was a bit confused at first about what was happening when i shot a germ, but got it by the time I started my second game, nice work!!

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Really clever take on the theme! It was a bit difficult to protect the blood cells near the end when bacteria started spawning almost on top of them, but I managed to make it all the way through. Nice work!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:11pm

The game is pretty buggy. I went off-screen by accident and got stuck and couldn't move. Objective is clear enough, I guess.

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Boss fight was cool

tompudding says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I really liked the controls, something a bit different!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]