Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface Tension

by frankbsad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about skipping rocks, or not letting the stone go 'beneath the surface'.

press 'up' as the stone hits the water to skip.
press F4 on the home screen to reset high scores.
press F1 to toggle fullscreen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#79Mood3.83
#91Graphics4.06
#109Fun3.69
#116Overall3.76
#202Audio3.39
#320Innovation3.41
#415Humor2.64
#676Theme3.13

Comments

Redream says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31am

Simple, but effective and fun to play :) I got a score of 974.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

Pretty relaxing game :)

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:04pm

this is my favorite game so far. beautiful pixels, atmosphere and style. a game, distilled.

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Loved this!! It's simple but pretty addictive and relaxing. The graphics were nice and loved the ambient soundtrack-- great job!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:12pm

This was great, imagine that a guy throwing rocks could be this much fun!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

This is a simple, beautiful game. I felt like an idiot after waiting for twenty seconds at the start because I thought something was going to happen (because of the "Press UP to skip") :P

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Simple, Fun, Releaxing. Brilliant game!

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Very atmospheric and relaxing game. I really like it. The graphics where beautiful and the sounds fit the game perfectly. The game-play was a little simple but solid.

Great work!

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Very polished game, after playing a bunch of minimalistic games it is nice go see such a detailed pixel art. Currently at 213 meters but I will work on it.
The skip sound is a bit to loud, had not heard the ambient first since I had to turn volume down.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36am

This is lovely! Great choices on color palette and sounds, just pitch-perfect and beautifully simple.

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

580m :-)
5 perfect skips right at the beginning made my stone fly off-screen :D

It looks really beautiful as well. Only point of critique is that there is no real progression in difficulty (or none that I could detect at least). One of the coolest games for me so far!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

My best is 158. It's getting easier when you realize you can focus on the collision with your reflect instead of the collision with the surface.

Also I think it would be better if you scroll your parallax in reverse when you go back to your position. Even if you dont go through all the real distance. Just a bit would work great.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25am

Really simple concept, yet entertaining by loads. Very solid work, loving the subtle sounds and graphics as well. I liked it. Really. Though it seems I'm not as good as other people. Got a 186 with 4 perfect skips. Well, there's room to practice.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28am

A fun and addictive game. My highest score was 227. Visuals and audio fit to the relaxing gameplay. Well done!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Relaxing and addictive is a funny combination but it works well here. I only got a higbscore of 156 but with a perfect x3 combo I feel pretty good about the score. I'll be sure to work on it though.

~AlucardX60

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:23am

Oh man, this was great. I love seeing an entry that isn't afraid to be simple. You picked a thing, and you did it really really well. This was so relaxing, I'm keeping it in my "kill some time" folder on my desktop.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:27am

Simple but very well executed. The ambient sounds give it a great chill atmosphere and the graphics are nice and consistent.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Neat, very simple and effective. I'm much better at this game than skipping stones though.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Great. Simple. Clever. Fun. Relaxing. Adjective.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:46am

Nice entry! I love small scope games that feels complete and polished like this one. Bookmarked

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Great job! A simple, fitting concept that works wonderfully, very polished.

Congrats!

MintArcade says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Great game, well made considering time limit. Nice visuals.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:51pm

So relaxing, felt like I was really there. That feel when you get perfect - oh yeahhhh.

Lost King says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:25pm

An actually neat idea for the theme. Could totally see myself sinking way too much time into this just to get a really bad high score.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:37pm

The mood and theme here are excellent. Everything ties together in a simple and elegant fashion to evoke the experience of a fall day in the woods. It left me wanting more.

I would have liked for the 'skip' sound effect to better match the ambient sound, though, as it took me a little 'out of the zone'.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:09am

Simple but great game! Love the graphics. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/vjBlRj2wHy8

PoQA Games says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

Absolutely wonderful game! The visuals, audio, and gameplay are all well done.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]