Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spunk Spelunk

by ChuiGum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is by far my best Ludum Dare Entry (This is my third). Not amazing but I'm pleased on what I've gotten in 48 hours. Spunk Spelunk is endless. Collect diamonds, kill bats, watch out for shrooms, and don't melt in lava!

Instructions: Up and Down Arrow keys to move, Left and Right arrow keys to shoot, space to jump/swing, p to pause, and p to play at the menu.

I wasn't officially done yet. In the entry I noticed it was a little dark. I now realize that the controls were kind of uncomfortable. Check out the post-compo too! Well, hope you like!

(2nd) Update: I thought I finished the game but I updated it today (May 13th). Lava comes up from the bottom instead of the top, it's not as super dark as it was before, the bats' eyes are also a little brighter, at the top of the screen it shows you how far down you've traveled in feet, at the game over screen it shows you how many emeralds you've collected and how far you've reached, along with your best in feet and emeralds collected, and most important of all the controls are better this time. Instead of space to swing, it's the left and right arrow keys. Z to shoot, and like always up and down arrows keys to move. You can play the official game if you like but remember that your vote is supposed based on my entry. Check out my website if you'd like too, ccolongames.com - c:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#181Fun3.53
#470Overall3.26
#483Humor2.53
#510Innovation3.12
#559Theme3.26
#602Audio2.67
#611Mood2.93
#648Graphics3.02

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53am

Definitely a game that you want to keep playing over and over and see how much you can master. The concept ideas and art was amazing. Even though it was made it 48 hours, this game is polished enough that it could be considered a fully made game.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Addictive. It's really nailed that "just one more" motivation and keeps you wanting to try again.

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Good work... too much fun

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

Man, i liked it! Simple, fun and addictive. Found it strange to shoot using the arrows, but in the end I got used to it (my initial reaction was to switch sides with arrows and shoot with a key).A little bit of polish and it could be an even better game.

Fun fact: when I pick up the first diamond, there's a weird graphic glitch with Wine on Linux. But overall, the game played very well on my setup (no need to dual boot, which is great!).

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36am

The swinging from one side to another was quite interesting, kept me playing for a while.

Stopped because I had a hard time dodging when boulders would fall on both sides at once.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

Really neat. Reminds me a lot of Battletoads. Would be nice if you could move up/down while swinging, which could add some opportunities to dodge through obstacles mid-swing. Could be quite challenging!

Weird colour pattern on screen confused me until I realized I was tripping on mushrooms :)

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

It took a couple tries to get used to the controls, but fun game. I'm not very good. I got a hi score of 4! Nice graphics. Well done!

Rusky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35am

Pretty solid all around! The controls were a little awkward with switching buttons to shoot when swinging across, but it worked out okay.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nice gameplay and with a bit more polish a great one!

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:12am

Liked the mechanics, and it could be a full game with a bit of polish. Well done!

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:03am

Really really cool and solid game.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:05am

I don't know if it's just me, but I found graphics a bit dark, it took me a while to realize I could shoot because the bullets were a bit hard to see.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:13am

Fresh mechanics! Awesome!

May 1, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Small tip: Make the bullets much larger and a bright color, so you can see them in front of the dark background and it will make shooting much more awesome!

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:57am

Some help text explaining the controls would be nice =]

May 2, 2014 @ 5:23am

This is an addicting little game :) Good job!

rvmook says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:22am

Addicting nice little game. Cool that you got everything in there. Took me a while to figure out you can't jump once you've reached the bottom which resulted in some deaths by rocks a couple of times. (and FYI Windows.exe file isn't there anymore) Good entry, fun to play!

Reinkout says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:25am

Thanks for the fun game!

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:40am

@rvmook Thank you very much for the info, I fixed the link. And thanks for the compliment :)

blahoink says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:20am

nice take on an endless game. its great to see some variation in that genre. keep up the good work

pkenney says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:29am

Cool mechanic and a nice implementation! I think a few touches of polish would have gone a long way, mostly around shooting the gun and having bullets hit the bats, and also when the player takes damage.

capnramses says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:37pm

excellent work! has a real atari/amiga game feel - felt like i should be using a one-button joystick!

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:20am

Cool! Nicely done!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:41pm

It took me a while to discover that the arrow keys also shoot your gun. This was a pretty fun game! Nice work :)

mneubrand says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:55am

Nice addicting game. Time was just flying by playing it :)
When boulders came down on both sides simultaneously it sometimes felt like there was no way to escape.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:12am

This was surprisingly fun once I figured out the controls! I felt a bit like Indiana Jones :) I can definitely see this as a great mobile game!

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:06am

Really nice game! Nice mechanics and really fun! I don't know if it was intentional but the background was almost completely dark which made it near impossible to see any bats..

I also made a game inspired by spelunky as I've clocked around 150h of spelunky last few months..

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:59am

Graphics were too dark to see well, so kept hitting enemies that I couldn't see clearly. Also, I couldn't figure out how to shoot? It says arrow keys but they don't do anything.

Music on the enhanced version is very good.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:49am

Neat little game, wish you could move up/down while swinging and the controls were more intuitive. Maybe a rapid fire feature would've helped so I didn't have to mash the awkward left/right arrow. But a rebind might do just as well.

~AlucardX60

garygreen says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Both links to Dropbox said the file wasn't there.

phi says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:01am

Great concept, intuitive design, beautiful graphics. It's a little bit buggy sometimes, but all in all it's a nice game. Good job, I'd love to see future versions of this.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]