Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Underkeep

by DaanVanYperen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Deep threatens your keep! Delve treasure and build up your defenses to ward off the onslaught of imps!

"A Lady shan't wait for things to surface!
Bring me treasure so our keep may grow ever stronger!"

INSTRUCTIONS: USE MINIONS BEFORE THREATS SUBMERGE (click minion, then threat), GATHER TREASURE, BUILD YOUR KEEP FOR EXTRA MINIONS.
Controls: Mouse

LibGDX and Artemis-ODB. WebGL required, if you don't have a WebGL compatible browser (Like IE), try it with Chrome or Firefox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#108Graphics3.98
#260Humor2.96
#328Overall3.42
#333Innovation3.39
#361Audio3.06
#474Mood3.07
#575Theme3.24
#587Fun2.98

Comments

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

it's not entirely clear what the player is expected to do. I think I was able to piece together the mechanics, but I don't feel like I'm getting enough feedback on my progress/failures.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

I couldn't really figure out exactly how to play. I clicked around randomly kind of getting it? I love the minimalist music! Sets a great tone/mood with very little.

EpaceGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

Oh I see, neat game. It took me a few tries to understand how to play. Basically keep your starting queen idle most of the time to generate money, noted with the squeaky sound; at first I thought the queen was throwing rocks down at the enemies.

Use the money to build walls (fort hit points) or buildings to create units. Click a friendly unit (e.g. knight) and send to kill something on the map.

I find it becomes a challenge of how quickly and accurately I can click. Friendly units will constantly be coming back from battle so I found myself selecting my spelunker accidentally.

Time is critical, so by the time I build a reinforcement, I could have destroyed two enemies instead (better). Hotkeys would be nice, like one to spam reinforcements in a panic frenzy.

Also I notice you can build a structure on top of a stack of wall reinforcements, seeming like a safer option, but it is the first to get destroyed.

I enjoyed your game. Well done!!!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26am

A little bit confusing but funny, especially the sound effects.

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

At first I was very confused how to play and was randomly clicking on the screen for a while. But once I figured out what was going on I found the game pretty enjoyable.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

This took a bit of time to figure out (at first, I thought I was building towers to block attackers), but once I did it was a really fun fast-paced action game.

xergin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

It was a bit difficult to figure out how to play at first, but hey - we're all smart people here. :P

It's a nice twist on a defense game. I kinda felt like the map/radar should be bigger than the castle stuff though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Very nice game. I think this would if it was on a tablet. Graphics were amazing.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

I like the game. Didn't understand it quite well, but it feels like it has potential.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

Was a little hard to get going at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was really fun and enjoyable. Great job! :)

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

Awesome game :D
It was really really fun to play once you get the basics ^^

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

Bonus tip for comment readers (love you!): Click the queen repeatedly for some extra bonus coins.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

It took some time to understand mechanics. I think this game MUST be ported to touch devices! Great idea!

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

Really nice graphics and overall presentation! A bit difficult to understand what to do tho.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44am

Once I understood the concpet this turned out to be a very entertaining game. I actually like the scaling and challenge given in the later game. I selected the spelunker often when I would rather have liked to send a knight down to the creeps though. Love your graphics-style as usual. The audio fits very well. I will check out the source to see where I can improve my entity-system thinking. Good job!

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Very impressive polish and graphics, but I don't really understand what is happening, sometimes clicks do something, sometimes they don't?

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Very entertaining!

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Awesome game! But either I suck, or the game is not properly balanced. I'm also not sure what to do with the dungeons and portals, what's the difference between them. But overall really, really good!

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Really fun game, took me a few goes to understand what was happening but once i got it, had some fun with it. Great art as well. Managing your guys was a little annoying though, they kept cycling just as i tried to click on someone else.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Great art style and sounds, the game felt really good but I had almost no clue what to do before reading the instructions. Even then, things were pretty un-intuitive. Other than that, you did very well, good job! :)

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

I figured out the mechanic pretty quick and thought it was a fun game. Got to rank 70

rezoner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

I hope people will have patience to understand the mechanics as it is totally worth it! Great visuals and voiceover - I would replace music with something ... more like music :)

capnramses says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12pm

"treasure!"

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Amazing game ! I enjoyed it ! Love the pixel art and the audio :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice game, really cool art.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Got to keep level 36, it's getting pretty fast paced at that point.

cavf88 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Game was not clear how to play. The sound effect were nice and the graphics too.

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Took me a bit to figure out what I needed to do, but once I got rolling it was really enjoyable :)

capnramses says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

i really liked the presentation overall. webgl is a great choice for sharing stuff. havn't seen libGDX yet. i really liked the recorded sounds++. the pace - my blood pressure can't take it! great stuff!

CharlieLove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

A pretty fun game. Wasn't quite sure my first play through what to do as the game starts fairly fast paced. Once I got down what I should be doing, I definitely enjoyed it.

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

When I understood how to play it was pretty fun, great job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

It started to get pretty fun once I got the hang of it. Unfortunately by then the wall was crawling with more monsters than I could handle :(

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

It's a shame this game is so confusing at first, I'm pretty sure you lost some players before they could see how the game is played

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Nice game, but I think the minion selected should be with the keyboard instead of mouse. Right now it's tedious and rapidly overwhelming

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:30am

Once I figured out what to do, this turned out to be one of the most unique game mechanics I've seen in a long time. It feels like a tower defense, but kind of plays like tapper. I think a little more clear guidance would be good, but overall, it's a great entry.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Took a little bit to understand. Great game after that.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Very original and innovative! But I don't really think this is easy to understand.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Very original and innovative! But I don't really think this is easy to understand.... Oh my God, those sounds... "TRESHUUR!"

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Creat game! But really confusing at first. And the sound are nice at first but get annoying =/

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Once I learned not to start off building walls it was fun, and ended up getting quite frantic.

The 'hocus pocus' sound effect made me laugh way more than it should have. :D

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Took a minute to figure out what to do, but really well made and fun! Also is that a dog squeaker toy? lol, nice one.

matt_j says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:11am

Cool! Wasn't too sure how to play, but a great gameplay experiment!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:41am

Good concept!
Like how you split castle and dungeon. But some rules wasn't clear for me. Anyway, good job!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:47am

Very unique idea with the theme. Fun, addicting gameplay. Rad art. Good challenge. I'd love to see a post-compo with a good tutorial and some polish. Great work as always!

dector says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:09am

Good game. It's getting hot in few minutes.

atombrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Very great graphics style. I also like the game, but it is first hard to figure out how to play and then gets somewhat hard with the time. But this could be very cool with more classes, enemies, loot etc ;)

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:47pm

I reached Keep Rank 23, I don't know if that's good... It's an excellent game, quite deep and well balanced, it becomes a bit too hard very quickly and it becomes tedious to allways click on the threat. Still it's one of the best game I've played so far. Great job man :D

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Needed some better instructions and feedback of what can do what, and you get overwhelmed pretty quickly. Good job though!

Trilby says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:13pm

It took me a while to get it.

It's nice and unique. But eventually, I couldn't keep up with it with my trackpad. Lol

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:09am

A bit confusing at first, but I can see that it can get pretty fun over time. Well done game!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Was really cool once I get behind how it works!
The pixelart looks great and the audio is ok.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:02am

had some potential but the game was very hard to play - maybe I need to try it again - adding to my play again later pile

Thorig says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I think it's pretty cool, but it could really use some more explanation :)

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:30am

So it's like a tower defense game... I didn't really care for the game itself, but the pixel art graphics are awesome. Also the squeaky toy sound effect. Hahahaha.

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:51am

Though I didn't understand what to do at the first time I continued to play and liked it. So many clicks I had done that my hand still hurts)

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:55am

This game shows some promise, but the characters jumping around randomly and the non-obviousness of what's going on in the map make it pretty frustrating. This game could be really fun if you made it easier to actually control.

Teesquared says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:11am

It took a bit to get a handle on the game mechanics but it was worth it. A fun and innovative game. A little too much clicking for me when things get heavy and it proved to be too much for my web browser too :( Overall though great game.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Really nice entry with great graphics! When I figured out how to play I got into it for while.. :-) But lack of detailed instructions is biggest spot of this.. Also it seems like last constructed building gets destroyed first which is unfortunate in later parts of the game. Good job though.

Kragnir says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:25am

Nice idea, the game could use some more clear instructions and hotkeys for the different things. Once you understood how it worked it seemed to simply require clicking as fast as possible but it is a nice idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]