Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid Munchers

by Sumizome - Jam Entry

You're controlling an asteroid filled with creatures which are eating it... Collide with other asteroids to eat other creatures and restore your asteroid before it gets eaten...

Win by eating all the other asteroids. Eat asteroids with less creatures than yours...
You lose if your asteroid gets eaten either by its own creatures or by another asteroid.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#504Audio(Jam)2.70
#571Fun(Jam)2.60
#587Overall(Jam)2.82
#594Humor(Jam)1.93
#603Mood(Jam)2.62
#639Graphics(Jam)2.61
#670Theme(Jam)2.36

Comments

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40pm

i don't have a mouse wheel (laptop) so might be good to add an alternative control if you add to the game at a later date.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Neat and polished little game!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54pm

That's a cool concept for a game, controls are a bit strange, but good originality!

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Interesting idea, I found the zoom a little bit sensitive for my taste, but I enjoyed the experience. Good job!

FREEZX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Pretty cool, really liked the mood

flrn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

It took me some time to understand what was going on there but when I got it it was quite fun :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

Takes a couple of go's to get used to but I really enjoyed it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34am

It's pretty dark. Not so dark that it's unplayable, but I had a hard time making out the asteroid shape without changing my display settings.

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:36am

Nice music.

Eirikir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

I really liked it, it was really fun. Just playing in a laptop wasn't easy controlling the scroll wheel.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12am

Simple and nice :) Especially loved the creature design!

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

I too had to adjust display brightness to see what was happening. Fun :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52pm

It's quite difficult to understand what's going on at first. And the controls are a bit strange. But all in all this is a solid, good game :)

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Couldn't tell why I kept losing, but seems like a promising prototype. Nice entry!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Took me awhile to figure out, but good XD

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Good job !
Just need a little tutorial ..
keep it up (:

BadPaul34 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I like the concept but don't feel it suits very well to the theme. It can be really fun anyway. It can't scroll with my laptop.

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:18am

pretty difficult, but a neat concept

May 4, 2014 @ 5:02am

Interesting concept. But Harder-er are like easy for me. Might try adding more than one enemy to make the game harder. :)

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Kinda hard to get which asteroid is mine. Also gameplay relies too much on waiting. But it's pretty and an interesting concept.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]