Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wireside

by Solifuge - Jam Entry

NOTE: To play the Java version, download and run the Start.bat file for Windows, or Start.sh file for Mac and Linux. Make sure you have the latest version of Java, found here: https://www.java.com/en/download/

GENERAL CONTROLS:
- Mouse: Navigation
- Arrows: Scroll Map
- Space: Toggle View between Wireside and Meatside

COMBAT:
- Select/View Unit: Left Click on unit.
- Move: With unit selected, click on a blue square.
- Attack: With unit selected, click on a unit in a yellow square.
- Spawn in Wireside: Click on your selected unit (must be in an open square).
- Use Terminal: Click on an adjacent terminal.

STATS:
Power (POW): Determines HP and Attack Damage. Reduced by Attacks.
Armor (ARM): Reduces Attack Damage. Reduced by Break Attacks.
Move (MOV): Determines how far you can move.

OVERVIEW: Wireside is a 72-hour cyberpunk strategy RPG about the possibilities and limitations of uploaded consciousness. Guide Sarah, Bill, and Anna through three levels and discover the hidden treasure of the WIRESIDE.

CREDITS:
Solifuge: Game design and Graphics - http://www.twitter.com/dahold
Vector: Writing and Concepts - http://www.twitter.com/vectoriahugo
Magma McFry: Programming and Scripting
Willfor: Music and Team Support - https://willfor.bandcamp.com/album/wireside-official-soundtrack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Overall(Jam)3.70
#126Audio(Jam)3.65
#129Theme(Jam)3.66
#132Innovation(Jam)3.58
#164Graphics(Jam)3.93
#187Fun(Jam)3.31
#203Mood(Jam)3.45
#244Humor(Jam)2.89

Comments

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41am

I really like the art style and concept, nice use of the theme too

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08am

Good concept that isn't seen much in games. Pretty good quality for what's there, too. Clean graphics, and soundtrack is rockin'.

Control-wise, I'd have personally preferred keyboard input, but that may just be old habits speaking. Main issue was with menu navigation though - highlighting the entire clickable area would have been more intuitive, but it works as is.

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19am

Nice work! I dig the back and forth mechanics.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22am

That is really cool! I love how you have to go to another world to deactivate parts like doors. Clicking everything got a bit tedious but otherwise it was a lot of fun :D

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20am

The art was pretty nice and the idea behind it all was also cool. But there were some camera issues during combat and then I got stuck in cyberspace after one of my avatars died.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:46am

Impressive! I like the concept and the art is pretty slick.

I feel like it would've controlled a lot more smoothly if it wasn't so happy to scroll when the mouse was near the edges, and it did crash on me once. Well done, though! The world and gameplay show promise, but making it faster to preview between worlds and making the action/controls more precise in general (make it easier to select characters rather than requiring so much clicking, for example) would go a long way.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

There is a lot of meat here, both in terms of gameplay and story. Very nicely done. I love the setting and the characters have some well-written detail. Switching between sides is an awesome mechanic. I feel like there could be a full length game in this universe.

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Simply amazing

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

Good graphics and music. I liked being able to switch between the two worlds. The moving and attacking was a little slow. If you sped that up and added some attack animations, it would be even better. Anyway, good job.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24am

Took some time to take in all the controls and mechanics. But it was really cool that you managed to do a proper story in a jam game! A neat entry overall. The cyberpunk concept was really awesome.

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:58am

Art was nice, Concept was nice, gameplay was OKAY but could get boring quickly

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:08am

Took me some type to get used to the controls. When you lose it would really be better to have some screen, than just close the game. The graphics and sound are very good. Could use some more work on descriptions and what can you do when its your turn.

pikkpoiss says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16am

Wow, there's so much work put into this game! Controls were a little bit fussy but I got used to them. The switching mechanic wasn't immediately obvious and then I got stuck in cyberspace, but I figured things out after that. I really love a good strategy RPG and this seems like an awesome execution with a lot of potential.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:11am

Really really ambitious idea (that wasn't executed half bad!)
Loved fire emblem when I was a kid, so this is the kind of game I'd always wanted to make. Great graphics and music for this short of a time.

kbm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:44am

hey, thanks for your indepth comment, much appreciated! also: thanks for the advice to check out "the asylum", very interesting flash game, really weird as well :)

also really liked your game, very nice aesthetics and the concept is really interesting and worth expanding on! good job!

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:20am

Great game. I really enjoyed playing it. Great graphics, sound and story. Thank you for that great game.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Great game! Though it did bug on me in various place like when open the other tab and the game scrolled into black screen, or like I can't end turn when the avatar died. I like to see the game polished and finished. Good luck. :)

MSaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Really COOL audio and graphics.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

This is really impressive for a jam game. Great interpretation of the theme, and I like the idea of a world with a fragmented cyberspace thing... could definitely be a nice longer game :)

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Incredible entry. A tactic-rpg is such short time? Amazing!
Hope you'll expand the idea and make a bigger game out of it. :)

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:24pm

When I click "End Turn", or when I alt-tab out and do something else for a bit, it scroll out of the map, into the dark, and I feel lost and scared because I'm afraid I won't manage to find back the play area.

I wish there were keyboard shortcut, because the entirely mouse driven interface is tiring to use after a while.

Nice little entry though. Would also have fitted well in the recent Cyberpunk jam.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

The style of this is incredibly slick - both in how the game graphically and musically handles dipping in and out of meatspace, and the peppering of style cues from the GBA Fire Emblems, right down to the style of the mugshots.

I'm not sure if something went wrong on my side, but I was unable to unlock the second security door - you're unable to jump to wirespace next to it, and going back and defeating the first security gem again seemed to do nothing. Ah well.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Can't run, I'm using OS/x

burgerdare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:00pm

really neat idea here, although there doesn't seem to be much of a penalty for having an avatar die.
On a side note, the character design is really impressive. You managed to fit a lot of personality into a small number of pixels.

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:03am

That's the most innovative game I've played so far, and really cool for an RTS; I especially like the relation between life and attack power as it makes you think differently on who you send out. Very well polished for a game jam game.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:24am

Very cool. Reminds me a bit of Advance Wars DS. Mostly I'm impressed that you got a strategy-RPG working so quickly.

Chaoseed says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:23am

Really fun! I'm a big fan of the premise, it seems like there just isn't enough of that sort of thing in games today. The gameplay was reasonably solid, although the characters don't seem different at all (other than the icons, which are awesome), and I was puzzled about the difference between Attack and Break (I suppose I should have read the instructions more carefully). As for controls, I have a habit of clicking just off the text, which makes the option disappear...so I have to go through the selection process again; kind of tedious. I mean, obviously you want some sort of "cancel", but maybe, well I dunno. After a while it succumbed to kind of the same thing that a lot of tactics games get (and believe me, I've played a lot), which is the "move each person...end turn...move each person...end turn" kind of tedium. Maybe you can have an option for "fast play" where the characters don't move but rather "teleport" to their new locations. Let's see, the audio is great; I especially love how it subtly changes between the two "realms" and also when you get attacked. I would love there to be a save function so I can come back later instead of having to go through the entire game in one setting. And speaking of which, I had a problem on the third level: Two characters sit in the left room and spawn avatars, the other is in the middle with her avatar at the switch. Flip the switch to let the avatars into the top, flip it again to let in the security gems. I damage the gems but they kill me; all right, I'll spawn avatars again...in order to get them into the top room I flip the switch, which *resets the gems*? The level is impossible???

But in all, I definitely want to see this game developed more. ;)

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:44am

Great concept!

GarethIW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:02pm

That's a whole lot of stuff for 3 days! I'm not really an RPG guy, but I really dug the Wireside mechanic, great work!

Hob623 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really nice graphics and sound. Although I had a bit of trouble with scrolling, especially around the edges.

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Wow, wow. Very good! I like the cyberpunk take on the theme and the way it reflects directly on the gameplay. Good graphics too. Controls need a little bit more polish but, hey, it's ok, it's a jam after all.
You should definitely keep working on this.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:09am

The premise of the story is interesting, I found it remarkable that you got to extent on the story in a LD game.
When I found out that this was a tactics game I thought that was awesome, I would like to make one some day as well.
I got stuck after some advance and the dead of my avatar with a black screen.
The music I think needs to be a longer loop, and the controls do need some work, they're confusing at first but you have a pretty good base for a greater game in this genre.

geekdrums says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:28am

I liked the interactive music between real world and avatar world.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:11am

Wow a turn based strategy game this is really neat! Unfortunately some bugs got in the way of me finishing it but holy crap the GREPHIX! and the story sounds reeeeallly good too!

May 2, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Wow, great execution and funny plot :D I wish I could make a pixel art game like that, I tried but didn't know how to make big pixels... The gameplay itself is a bit boring though, it takes a lot of time to walk around, waiting periods between rounds, and a lot of clicking. Maybe it would help to give the characters some abilities like in Chrono Trigger (my favorite RPG), require them to be in some configuration and use the terrain. Given the time limit it's of course very understandable that that wasn't possible.

zinfandel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Love this game. One of the most complete and polished entries I've seen this LD. The concept is a great start for puzzle levels, I agree that the flow could be better, one thing I can note is being able to attack directly after a move, instead of re-clicking the character and then the target.

Story is pretty cool too. I'd like to see more!

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Wow, that music is fabulous! Has an interesting premise and use of theme that could definitely be expanded upon even further. The gameplay is fun, though at times a bit clunky: maybe make the scrolling a touch quicker and eliminate the need to click walk everytime. But I suppose those are pretty minor criticisms. Anyway, in summary, I really liked it!

cageinabird says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:37pm

The controls could have used a little tweaking, i.e. no need for the 'walk' option, not putting the end turn next to a scrolling screen, not switching to wireside when you spawn an avatar as the character's turn has ended.

Minor issues aside, the core gameplay is really solid and is ripe for expanding further, the music is awesome, and the story and characters were engaging. Credit also for presenting the theme in an original way. Good job!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I liked it but if you're avatar gets killed you gant seem to continue?

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:15pm

A number of people have said that you can't continue if your avatar gets killed--have all y'all tried pressing the space key to swap between meatspace and Wireside?

May 3, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Oh thanks. I'll take another look now that I know that.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Glad to hear it :>

We should have perhaps put the controls in-game, too! Something to keep in mind for next time.

kikaz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Excellent job, graphics, game mechanics, sounds & musics, everything is here to give a good result, congrats !

GFM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:59am

Nice graphics and songs! Switching to the virtual world to interact with the real one was a nice mechanic.
The game was nice, but it need some changing... Should I be able to respawn at the virtual world countless times? What about leveling and equips? I know that 72 hours isn't a lot of time, but if you guys make another version, think about that. :)
This could be a lot more fun than it is... my only problem is the interface. I feel like it would be a lot easier if everything was done through the keyboard.

May 5, 2014 @ 9:35am

Impressive content, art and music!

Gabriel says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Wow, this is just GREAT!

It is exceptionally well written (should have guessed by the detailed comments you left us!), and the 'dark world' twist on the tactics gameplay was awesome! I also loved the take on the theme - Ray Kurzweil stuff seem to be quite popular these days! :D

The interface / controls get in the way a bit - the one thing I think would make the most difference in that department would be increasing the clickable area of things (characters, walk button, etc) and making them highlight when you are over them. I believe these two adjustments alone would greatly reduce the amount of times one accidentally clicks outside the command areas and end up cancelling it and having to redo it.

Anyway, this is an exceptionally complex and well realized entry for a 72 hours timeframe. Quite impressive! Congrats, and thanks once again for the detailed comments on our game!

Cheers

markusfisch says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Interesting concept and cool graphics! Love it! Fits the theme perfectly.

Really impressive for that short amount of time.

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:50am

Wow, nice game and great art style!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Font is hard to read, but that's minor issue - overall good execution! :)

May 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Didn't quite grasp everything about the story, especially the ending. They found a lot of bodies, and, uhmm, she started crying?

I can feel the ambitions seeping out of it, which I love, although I get the feeling that you did not have Enough Time. The levels felt a bit empty, and you didn't see the npcs that you talked to, which was confusing.

Very nice base game though. The wireside/meatside stuff could be explored far more, I feel.

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:19am

Wow, great to see a turn based strategy game again. These are so hard to pull of.

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Incredible game ! The story was really deep and interesting. I loved also the battle mechanic, both original and well-balanced. Controls were a bit hard to figure out though.

Great entry, I'll check out your other games :)

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:22pm

(and it passes the Bechdel test ;) )

NightShadow0 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Holy crap, this is amazing, i can't believe you did all this in 72h. I like the Banner Saga-style combat, and the wireside toggle is really interesting, though there didn't seem to be much of a penalty for losing your avatars. Graphics are awesome, music is amazing. Would absolutely love to see an extended version of this. Impressive work!

jsmars says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:04am

Really well made and nice graphics! I got stuck after killing some enemies tho, I couldn't get through doors?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]