Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shinoumi

by Jhelle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made using Phaser.
Survive in a hostile random generated place and gather pearls.
Beware of what lives beneath the sea.

Controls:
left right = move
up = jump

Too tired to write much more, will add tomorrow.
Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Graphics3.90
#457Mood3.10
#558Fun3.00
#613Innovation2.97
#629Humor2.33
#640Overall3.10
#867Theme2.87
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

It's beautiful. But there isn't really a goal. :D

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Nice dodging game, good job on the moving terrain and the particle effects.
Possible bug: in my first attempt, I started so high up, that I couldn't jump out of a gap because the top of the screen was in the way.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

i got to like 12 points and then the level screwed me ahah GG

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Very good game! I really liked the rain effect. Only criticism is that sometimes the hills became too high to jump over.

crneumre says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Fun little game.
It gets a bit frustrating when the tiles get too high and i can't jump over to the other side to collect the pearls.
But other than that good work!

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Haha it reminded me of Tremors.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I liked the water monster that tries to get you when you are near the water and the particles effects. The idea of the moving ground is great but sometimes it makes it impossible to cross the level =/ And after 7 pearls there is just so much flying stuff hahaha !

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Nice job, I liked the visuals particle effects, sprites and colors overall, although my player started too high and color didn't help to find him :P

By the way, the player sometimes gets stuck with his arms in the air. Which looks like a bug, but it would also seem to be screaming or something, haha

The moving platforms and procedural map are great. It may get you stuck for a while until a path is available, but it helps the mood of survival. Keep up the good work!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

This is a cool little game!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47am

There's the seed of a really fun game here! I had trouble with the hills being too high, but it didn't happen too often. I do like the shifting hill mechanic though. I really like the feel of the graphics the most, there's something very off about the color scheme, the orange water especially. Love it. Nice work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Damn that was scary! I enjoyed it quite a lot, great work! :)

ThisIsDave says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I really like the graphics and the constant reshaping of the level. It's a really cool mechanic!

madalaski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Very beautiful, very interesting but no sound. =l

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:34am

Nice ! Great game, I like how the floor moves, the rain, it feels alive. Maybe there could have been more mechanics, bonus, different enemies, but otherwise it's great, could be a good start to a bigger game.

copain says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:53am

really good graphics. Pleasant to play but just collect coins is a little goal...

Adrian says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:06am

Like it.
Rain effect is just wow.
Hills can be too high to jump over.
No sound, too bad it can help for immersion.
Map should be larger and maybe a start point and an end point, to make a goal.

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Argh. 12 points. There is definitely an "end game difficulty curve" problem!
Art is good. Controls are tight. I like the idea of the collapsing/transforming landscape. Add music, fix the difficulty and add some more projects, maybe a left/right scrolling and you're onto something that could turn really addictive.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I like the pixel art style a lot here, gameplay is quite ok.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]