Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeons Of Yeragr

by Brunodev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Caves of Yeragr is a game made under 48h for Ludum Dare 29. Theme: Beneath the surface. This is a 'roguelike' kind of game, with 12 random generated rooms, that include position of blocks, monsters, loot, amount of loot, how much loot you get, it's new everytime, so you can get a crazy experience! Level up you character by killing monsters and get stronger to survive deeper rooms! As always my art fails but I tried. Please enjoy it if you can!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#138Audio3.53
#241Humor3.00
#530Mood3.00
#575Theme3.24
#603Overall3.14
#621Graphics3.06
#736Fun2.82
#969Innovation2.50

Comments

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

Awesome game! I like the music and the graphics are pretty nice!

Kiyaku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

the music is pretty groovy :D been looking for other roguelike games so glad to see this!

Brunodev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35am

@Boodog Thanks buddy! :D

Brunodev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

@Kiyaku Yeah I love them! Thanks for your review!

GhostID says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

I really liked the large pixel style :). I really liked the text when I died "Congratulations Sir! You are dead!" That made me laugh :P.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

@GhostID haha thanks buddy!

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

:D Nice game, Bruno! I figured out the strategy to beat it and went to town! I have that music stuck in my head and I thought the concept was nicely designed. Good work ;D

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:24am

I liked this game, really. Although you have some collision bugs cause when I attack to my left I go strait through, but from my right I stop. It was better than I had expected. Sad for me I only make it to depth 3 and die on depth 4 every time I try.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Sup danidre! Thanks for your review bro! Yeah that collision bug SUCKS I'm sad that I didn't had time to fix it! Yeah once you get the strategy it gets real easy believe me. One hint is just avoid stronger enemies at start like the undead, warlocks and ghouls and run for the loot (potions, chests and scrolls. All of them can randomly give you some extra stuff including health!), then when your character is strong enough (Good amount of health + good level) you can just go ahead and bash some enemies :D

vogon101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

A good game. Fun yet slightly un-orriginal

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice job, simple, but good and fun!

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

@vogon @CodeNMore Thanks guys :)

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I liked the graphics and music.
Didn't see any difference between rooms (except chests position)
Picked up everything, killed every monsters but still died, it seems impossible to finish the game, a bit of balance would be great.

Also couldn't figure out what the spacebar did.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

@Marcellus Yo! Thanks for the review! I didn't really had time to change much visually on each room, except the upper blocks which are random and it makes it cool! Apart from that, all the loot and monsters positions are randomly generated also what/how much contains in each chest/scroll/potion, and the stairs are also randomly generated. They follow an algorithm that that they can generate in the far left of the room or in the far right! If it generates in one side, it doesn't generate in another, and if it generates in both sides, it randomly chooses one side and spawn it. Also the number of monsters are random between a certain range. Eg: This room can generate up to 3 snakes and 2 zombies. Sometimes you'll get 1 of each or the all of them! The spacebar was a actually way to combat flying enemies like the Warlocks, Ghouls and Yeragr the final boss. Couldn't really finish that feature though! If you're having trouble beating it, you could follow the advice I gave the guy above: "One hint is just avoid stronger enemies at start like the undead, warlocks and ghouls and run for the loot (potions, chests and scrolls. All of them can randomly give you some extra stuff including health!), then when your character is strong enough (Good amount of health + good level) you can just go ahead and bash some enemies :D" Thanks for your attention!

DarkMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

The music is great, but it's very unfinished. You can fall fall through the boundaries or get stuck at the bottom of the floor.

The enemies are, well... what you kind of expect of a "speed-coded" game: pretty simple, maybe you could add just some more frames to it. The way the player attacks is also confusing.

Overall... I appreciate your effort, but maybe you could try to polish the game a little bit more. :)

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Nice one! Good graphics and audio! I didn't quite understand the "dodge" move - maybe some more instructions would be useful?

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

The controls are quite weird to understand and there is some polishing issues (like the game over text or some collision bug), but the graphics and the music is not bad. So, maybe you would need to work a bit more on the gameplay ? Still, a good start.

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I got the room 12 and tried to fight Yeragr, but he killed me before my health went down to 0 :( (plus I heard some music playing over the top of the regular music).

Theres something about the super low res art that I love, plus the music is freaking awesome. The gameplay is rather basic, but it works.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

@maffydub Thanks for your review! I'm not sure if I can add a new frame with instructions?
@sam101 Thanks man! Time was really on my tail this time!
@Zutty Thanks for your awesome review dude! Weird, killed you before your health went down? Whoa this is weird, I'mma try to debug my code once more, and try to reproduce this bug since me and friends finished the game many times, and we never had this issue! Sorry for that experience and thanks for playing.

madalaski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Nice music but graphics could have been worked on a bit better. =l

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

@madalaski Thanks bro! Yeah my art sucks, and it's usually worse so haha

insane66 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:26pm

coolieo

danidre14 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Bruno I found a BIG(HUGE) glitch in your game. I reached level12 and I saw this Ghost Boss. My health was 489. I started attacking and then when I killed him, I saw a Congratulations you are dead screen. :/ I know I did not die because I was waiting till my life reaches to 200 to run for chests, but as soon as it reached like 200-250, it said that I died. :\ I'm gonna play it again to test that out now.

Brunodev says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:32am

@danidre Oh yeah that was really supposed to be fixed!

d__adee says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:42am

Hmmm... I can only attack when moving right? Also, I just kept on moving left. xD

joe40001 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:14pm

More than once the ladder didn't appear. And I appreciate the effort that went into the game it just didn't feel like skill affected gameplay.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Love the music!

Brunodev says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:07am

@joe40001 As I said before, the ladder can spawn on left or right corner of the map! Sorry for not pointing that out I guess.
@matthias_zarzecki Thanks bro, I'm glad you liked it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]