Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Close Your Eyes

by AestheticGamer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short horror game. You play as a nameless character (though I call him Marshmallow Monk) who has through a stroke of luck managed to escape death row. He takes to an underground subway. Can he break free, and can you please close your eyes?

If the text appears off-adjacent with the game window and trails off the screen, install the font from the font folder

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#449Humor2.58
#530Mood3.00
#582Audio2.73
#916Theme2.78
#958Graphics2.54
#1060Overall2.63
#1063Fun2.38
#1083Innovation2.29

Comments

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

no linux support :(

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

Asked for RPGVXAce RTP to play it, which I lack, alas.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

missing VL_Gothic font?

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04am

Says "RPGVXAce RTP is required to run this game." :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

@Lacaranian & Moonmagic: The RTP is the third link on this page (labelled as "VX Ace RTP (Needed for the engine), can download from here: http://www.rpgmakerweb.com/download/additional/run-time-packages )

@jtpup0: as it says in the description on this page, "If the text appears off-adjacent with the game window and trails off the screen, install the font from the font folder"

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Also as a heads-up, the source version includes the RTP needed, but I didn't want to include it as it added an additional 200 MB to the game size.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

Can't even. 258MB?

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

great music, and the setting was well put together. I got to a point where the only way to progress was a cross-shaped room, but it just kept repeating. I tried inspecting every square in that room and the room before it, and I even tried going back up the ladder, but I couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

(For anyone who may get stuck there, my two hints are think about the eyes, and pay attention to the darkness levels)

deadarius says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

"Extract failed" after running Close Your Eyes.exe

Seppel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20am

The long hallways really killed it for me. You have to walk down for 30+ seconds before anything happens (I was about to close the game except when I started to walk back up I noticed the screen getting lighter.)

As for the game, it's an ok attempt to do something like "Silent Hill" except it beats you over the head and tells you everything, repeatedly. Please take a course in creative writing -- show, don't tell. :)

I want to give this game a good score for the effort that went into it. You've got potential; it just needs professional guidance. :)

////////////////////

SPOILERS below

////////////////////

2. [WEST] [Green] [Yellow] [Red] [Blue] [EAST]

3. Train starts at [Red] and goes to [Blue]

4. Train returns to [Red], then hits [Yellow], then [Green]

5. Train goes to [Yellow], then hits [Green], then ends at [Red]

1. Train comes from east and goes west and stops at [Red] when the station closes.

////////////////////

(Left?), Right, Left, Up, Down

////////////////////

Beware of screamer at end of "game show"

////////////////////

Wait out the spider part and turn off the sound because it doesn't get any less annoying than this.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35am

Ah fixed now, sweet game; that pop-up scared the bojangles out of me

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:16am

I always love to see RPG Maker projects! I worked on one myself for about 4 months earlier this year, I find that platform gets a lot of undeserved hate. Nice work, I liked your game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

258MB JEEEZ lol took enough time

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51am

Nice game!

angelk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02am

Since you used RPG maker, and the install comes with a whole mess of content you didn't create, can I ask if you actually made all the content (audio in particular) yourself within the time limit? I also get the silent hill vibe, very moody :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05am

Yup, I didn't use any of the RTP, all the music was created by me on the first day and was actually the first thing I set out to do. All the spritework too. I prefer to make things from scratch.

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37am

You should think about investing some time making an RTP-free version. I think it counts as "port" :P. And it will improve the chances of people playing it.

Any question, look around at the RMW forums, there HAS to be a tutorial about RTP independization.

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

I really like the ambiance and the humor. Passages when you go down (stairs and ladders) are may be too long.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29am

Very spooky atmosphere :)

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

Interesting game, not my style of game anymore though, loved the intro. Not so much the game ):

broepi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

I played it in Wine and it lacks a bit. Will test it on a Windows soon.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

My favorite part of this was the music you wrote! The first hallway was a bit too long, and the framerate suffered a bit even though I have a decent rig. Great take on the theme though, I didn't even think of subways :P

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

Kind of an interesting game, with a good story at the start! I included it in part 2 of my LD29 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/JHNjbQTDBuQ

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:33am

Graphics reminds me to IB, a indie horror game, so, good work!

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:57am

good

shasharala says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:43am

That was amazing! Scared me very well, making sleep something to be delayed for a while.

ActionRemix says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:24pm

"And if you die, well that would be annoying, wouldn't it? We haven't had a save since before the final boss fight"

Come on, you know what you're doing! I'm not going to keep brute forcing this until I finish it :|

Clinthoney says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:24am

Great game.Love the graphics and the audio.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]