Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

our god lives underground

by Andrew Shouldice - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game uses the arrow keys and mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.79
Coolness51%
Graphics4.63
#7Audio4.23
#20Theme4.13
#24Overall4.09
#290Innovation3.46
#607Fun2.96
#807Humor2.10

Comments

Crabman says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Daaaaaaaaaaaamn, that is awesome. O_O

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

The graphic is really cool - some strange and beautiful aspect. Black and white is a good choice. The story seems hypnotic like an old poem. I would understand how you can obtain this result with pixel design. Well done ++

Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Love the graphics on this one. Very nicely done.

XenosNS says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23am

That atmosphere, so good.

kato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:46am

amazing!

lokijki says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

This is absolutely beautiful. Amazing job.

Kino333 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Overall this was wonderfully done. The graphics were very fitting, the sounds made me jump and uneasy, and everything synced up nicely to set an amazing mood.
I want to know what the heck he found!

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

Beautiful. Succinct abyss experience. So many fun little touches (the skittering animals..!) Humble ritual embedded in impossibly huge structures.

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

goddamn that was great

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43am

That was really wonderful. Great atmosphere!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43am

The graphics and atmosphere are perfect! I shivered when I first use the elevator. The perception od depth is really well done.

I would enjoy a longer version.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Outstanding job! I too would love to stay longer in this world.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

those doors

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Beautiful atmosphere.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40pm

The atmosphere in this is superb, love the art style and sound design.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

This game gets top marks for me all round. except maybe humor ;) really great atmosphere and feel. so impressed right now. great work

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Top notch atmosphere. I like the concept. It should be developed further. Adding some puzzles and/or equipments could work. The pixelated filter bothered me, though. I don't know if it would be good for longer play sessions.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

Beautiful, amazing mood/atmosphere. I love the large grain sizes and awesome shadows. You really know how to put together a game

graebor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

Outstanding visuals and atmosphere, dude. Cool shadows and depth, good balance of detail/vagueness... really enjoyed exploring the space! Would love to play a more meaty/lengthy game in this style :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03am

Good visuals, I really liked the mood you were able to portray!

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

Wow, I'm TOTALLY in love with the visual style. It builds up such an amazing mood, and the short length works great.

tchem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23am

That´s great,,, awesome atmosphere,,,, !!!!

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31am

Wow. Best graphical style I've seen so far. Sound design is flawless as well. Great entry!

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

WOW! I absolutely adore the graphical style and the sound design. This piece of art goes far beyond gaming.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36am

Wow, the graphical effect really got me, along with the first elevator ride in the opening. The perspective did this game great justice especially for what was seemingly plain Unity cubes. Great work.

nesis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

Really loved the mood and atmosphere. Great use of postprocessing to nail the ambience, the music was very eerie and mysterious. I'd love to see this aesthetic composition combined with some kind of simple, driving mechanic.

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:08am

Amazing job here, art and audio are really stunning. I would like to play a longer version !

Flux says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52am

This is amazing. Did you really make this in 48 hours? The sound.. the mood.. wow!

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22am

Awesome art style, it's visually very powerful despite the small window. It suggests a lot of things and makes my imagination run free, I love it !

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37am

Wow, it's a short experience but you packed a lot in there. Love the aesthetic and the atmosphere. Audio design was spot on as well.

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

So beautiful! Fun to explore, and a great experience.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

This is epic. Its awesome. Its the best mood i have seen in this contest. Congratulations!

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Really good. I think the noise/static effect is overplayed in LD, but you it had a nice contrast against the silence underground. Dante in miniature! Top down Gustave Dore.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44am

Very nice visual style... great sound effects too.

elliottd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48am

how you do that tho

ehtd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

Loved the feel

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:53am

The graphics, mood and sound in this game were great! Until I got to the ending... It was somewhat anti-climatic... I mean, what did he find? Why was he going after something (and also what was he going after)?

Still, it's an awesome entry for 48h! =D

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:44am

Best audio I've seen so far. It looks oustanding too!

marccspro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05am

The sound in this game is very well made !

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:10am

WOW! That's incredible! I am a big fan of atmoshperic games and this is one of the best I've played so far! Amazing job.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

Simply incredible style and setting.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Atmosphere and style are top notch.

Split82 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Awesome mood and graphics. I'm glad someone else made B&W game too :)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:18am

Very athmospheric game! Oh. Not game actually. Just some interactive story.
Visuals are great. What about article "how make pixel graphic in Unity"?

P.S. Waiting for more polished version. Now its looking promising =)

pLaw says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Gorgeous visuals and audio. Your game is really strong when it comes to atmosphere and mood. For my taste, I'm missing some more interaction. But still it's one of the better (or best) games I've seen this LD so far.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I had some pretty heavy graphical glitches which made it really hard to understand what was going on, or even find this game beautiful. I will come back to it later (didn't rate yet)

TobiasW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:26am

Oh, cool! I was hoping you'd make another entry this time :)

There isn't much (or any) gameplay, but the atmosphere definitely makes up for that. I could've done without those big grains, but the perspective (I don't think I've seen any 3d game with that much perspective in top down yet) and the shadows were really awesome! My favourite part were those little critters and how they shyly retreated from my light.

shadow64 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:10am

I have to say. While it's not a "game" per say and more of an experience, it's still an impressive one. The use of the camera angle, lighting, black and white, static effect, and sound? This has to be the game with the best mood that I've played.

Very well done. This was a pleasure. I'm really impressed. Thanks for playing and rating mine. :D

May 2, 2014 @ 12:08pm

WOW what a gorgeous mood i love it !

May 2, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Wow. That was so tonal and amazing. Fantastic job!

May 2, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Good style, but you will add gameplay?

allinlabs says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Too short. A lot of good things though: loved the architecture work you done, there some neat ambient sounds, and the black and white contrast is superb. Not much to do in the game (simple puzzle mechanics like in Ico would be wonderful), but I think that ok, it's contemplative and there's a lot done for a 48h entry. Well done!

porglezomp says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:51am

WOW. This is the one of the most beautiful games I've ever played. For 48 hours, it's amazing.

MrLeePerry says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:33am

Love the environment! Great construction and style of course... just really well done. Nice nice work!

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:40am

Wow awesome shader, that plus the audio set an amazing mood!

cbear_wallis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:57pm

wow...this is really awesome!

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:13pm

The ending is not that great, but this is one of the best entries I have played this Ludum Dare. I would love an explorer game like this.

TeamFlare says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:40am

Wonderful atmosphere, the highcontrast pixelated look works very well, maybe a bit too much motion in the noise. would love a windows version I can play fullscreen :) Very cool entry! :)

GarethIW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:28am

Astounding look and feel!

pansapiens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:58am

A stunning little experience. Thanks for sharing. Normally this is the part of the comment where I go "but you should add/change yadda yadda", but in this case .. it is what it is and I enjoyed it.

NickZangus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Amazing! Incredibly immersive ... Great job!

MarloweX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Creepy and sad in a way few games are. Played twice in a row to really dig it in. My congratulations on this achievement, man

porousnapkin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:39pm

That was incredibly evocative. Fantastic job.

lekochen says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Wow...this is awesome. The lighting, the architecture, the atmosphere...

abayb says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:06pm

That was amazing! The sound was amazing!

mcapraro says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:33pm

first off, i am a huge fan! i loved probe team (even did a few posts trying to recreate it in flash). this is so awesome! you really capture mood and set the atmosphere so well in your games. this feels so simple but has a lot of depth and i was at the edge of my seat.

cant wait to see more from you!

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:39pm

It's hard to judge since the visuals are so immersive. I enjoyed "experiencing" your game ... an interactive opening cinematic :) I finished wanting to play it.

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:58pm

That was so great *o* !

petey123567 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:03am

Those scuttlebugs! Hot damn!

May 14, 2014 @ 2:32am

best one ive played.. so atmospheric ..good job man :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:45am

5/5 for graphics! Amazing graphics! Great job!

May 14, 2014 @ 6:57am

Great sense of mood and I liked the visuals. I walked forward and rode a couple of elevators? Did I miss anything? Would keep working on it and add gameplay. Would be a neat little rpg.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:58am

Graphics and Audio are absolutely outstanding. Very well done, a nice experience especially the details like the camera speed and mouse usage.

Ditto says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:02am

Hooooooly shit? What was that, this is superb! Congrats, this is art!

kristof says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Wow, this was a very nice experience! Great use of atmospheric sounds and visual effects. I could not get it to play fullscreen as the right mouse button did not open the context menu. That would have been even better. Great work!

okkolobr says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Great visuals and sounds.

DesignerNap says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:32pm

out of all the LD entries I have played I keep coming back to this one. Is the main character the god? is he visiting the god? is the god the thing at the end? if the main character IS the god, is he returning home? from where?... I don't want any of these answered but that is what I have been thinking about. :) great work.

Suese says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Visually great, a game? Not so much.

May 18, 2014 @ 1:19pm

whoaaa, amazing graphics and atmosphere!

Make A Game says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Visually striking, liked it very much. Great work.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Wooow! Man, this it superawesome!

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:55pm

amazing overall 'feel' to the game, the static black&white was a good idea, amazing job!

Dans17 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I love the graphics and mood. I just wish there was more gameplay

deadarius says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 10:20am

Man, can you please do windows exe?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]