Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mine Story

by donan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mine Story.
Help Alan find God's Legacy in 10 levels.
Don't forget to get the Golden Piece on each level ;)

Controls: Mouse and awsd/arrows
L for low quality rescale
Hope you like it :D

Framework: Construct2
Graphics: Photoshop
Fx: Bfxr
Music: Sonar

If you feel too lazy to finish the game: Press DBG (N next level) (K Get a Key) (G Get a Golden Nugget)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#206Audio3.37
#220Theme3.65
#372Overall3.36
#420Mood3.14
#462Graphics3.30
#540Fun3.03
#606Humor2.37
#810Innovation2.71

Comments

hgouveia says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Great Game! i love the Intro ,the art and the music!, i had fun!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

Nice. I really enjoyed the spry piano music. Jazzy. Good stuff.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

The web version runs slowly, making control difficult: input lag makes my character go or dig where I don't want to. Thanksfully the Win32 version runs better. But still, the digging mechanic doesn't feel very smooth. Also, the character doesn't auto-level when trying to enter a 1 cell gape when off by a few pixels, always annoying. The gameplay isn't very original. Nevertheless, on a technical level this entry is good: There are no bugs, the game feature many different trap and power-ups, the graphics and sound are what you'd expect from a game from a jam, etc..

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

This one needs android port :D I feel like playing with child of pixel dungeon and minecraft :D

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

I like the title story bit, along with the music.


Jazzy.

CodeHat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

Really cool game! Nice graphics and a nice intro.

TheDreik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

This game has very fun aspect of exploring. Drill only on mouse pressed became annoying soon, but in other aspects this game has good potential.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

Nice! Love the sneaky red herring on B6 too :P Great little game.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:45am

Cool game! I had trouble finding what I think was the last key. The repeatedly clicking to mine was a bit annoying, but other than that it was great!

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49am

cool intro, cool char, cool game

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51am

Nice! Enjoyed it :D Really liked the effects.

Jase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53am

I liked the music and atmosphere, but it was really lacking information on controls. I sat there for maybe a minute before realising that the mouse was needed :)

Diamonde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

The caves are so cozy! :) I'm most impressed with how complete the game feels - with all the levels, the nice audio and, of course, the great visuals!

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

I didn't have that many problems with the control input lag or anything using the web version, though the edge collision detection seemed a little off and I had to align myself through narrow paths perfectly to proceed. That didn't stop me to have a lot of fun with it. The intro was very nice and the miner looks really adorable.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

Neat game, pretty well done. I'm annoyed by the character always being unable to slide into a single tile. Maybe make his bounding box smaller, or add some sliding/threshold code?

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

Not bad

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

Nice little game. The clicking though oh the clicking!

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36am

Great Visuals, Great Audio, Great Mood, Alas... My finger really hurts now haha. Would have loved if the drill button was holdable. Other than that I enjoyed it, was really relaxing.

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

OK, this is not my perfect game style but it's very cool

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice and neat game

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53am

Lovely game, really enjoyed exploring the cave and it made me look for the Golden Nugget in each level, what I didn't like was the movement, I could often got stuck between rocks and made it somewhat frustrating.

Lerc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

I wondered why you let the player return to past levels until I got to the end. Game works well overall, but player movement is a bit of a pain when trying to align with tiles. You might as well make the player walk until the next tile boundary.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20am

Thx for your comments. Appreciate all you said :)
I'm aware of how hard it is sometimes to enter on block spaces :/ I had a last hour issue with Construct2 and the scale of the layout affected cursor precision in a horrible way and had to change layout size. Due to that the player bounding box scale changed and couldnt make it fit as good as originally coded it to have it in time :/

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

Breaking the stones was a great joy.

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51am

Great game, very fun to explore!

x1212 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

Great game!
Had to go back a few levels because I missed one nugget, but didn't know which one it was ...

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14am

Nice game. I like the music and the visuals. The input was a bit problematic for me, though: Letting the drill drill continuously instead of having to click several times would be a big improvement. Or is there such a powerup later on? Only made it so cave B6...

The other thing is the collision response, it feels like the player is sticking to the walls and hitting small corridors is quite difficult. Had a similar problem on my game, so I know how hard this can be :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

Good game. But clicking 4 times on each rock made me give up at B5. Maybe I didn't find the power up to enhance the drill power.
This also lowered my audio rating since you hear the drill sound all the time, although the theme is great.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

Red gem improves the click rate so you can drill faster and feels lighter :)

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

Music and graphics create a nice atmosphere.
Game play is a bit repetitive however.

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Great! My favorite part was the speed boost effect! Cool! Please rate my game or just check it out! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34910

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

This might be nice smartphone game ;)

Ludusamo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Thought the overall story and presentation was fantastic. The controls are kinda clunky for me as is the collision detection, but otherwise, very impressive for 48 hours.

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

well done :)

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Not too inovative, but fun anyway!

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Fun to play + good music.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Fun to play with + good music.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I loved the stair walking sound effects. The player was a little hard to control once I got the speed upgrade. Overall a well done game, good job.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56pm

the art is nice love the concept controls got a bit unresponsive every now and then nice effort

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I find the controls really frustrating and annoying. Why wouldnt you allow going diagonally? Bad controls are ruining the whole experience. The game itself is pretty ok.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

CustomPhase, you are right. I forgot to switch one command from 4dirs to 8dirs during a test. Damn, now i understand the issues xD. I think thats possible to change right?. Its one word from code. Updated it. http://puu.sh/8ra6Z.png

Muu? says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Great intro. Background music feels great with the game.

The lack of diagonal movement is a no-no and the need to follow the player with the mouse is boring.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Muu, just fixed it while you were playing i think. It was a mistake of one word i did exporting the final version of the game. If you could try it again and see what you think after that :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Great music, good graphics, and I liked the concept and the mechanics! Only thing I would change would be the ability to drill by holding down the mouse, having to click a bunch was somewhat annoying. I didn't get far enough to see, but did the gold nuggets serve a purpose, or just high score?

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

You cant finish the game without them all :)

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Thought black stuff was coal. never been so wrong :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Slow drilling was a bit frustrating but after I got upgraded it was enjoyable. Really like the music.

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

great gfx, sound and music!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really nice game, had a good sense of design and progression. I like the upgrade mechanic. Losing all those upgrades definitely makes you want to avoid falling into any holes! Nice graphics, nice audio, and I had fun playing it. Good work!

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Very well done! Stacking up on upgrades made me feel so empowered :)

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Pretty awesome game :) I love it

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Nice mines!

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Good job! Upgrades are always fun!:D I wish I could've held mousebutton rather than spam it to drill though.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30pm

I like the mechanics a lot. I didn't like the amount of friction on the walls, because it made movement difficult sometimes. The art and sounds were good. Nice job :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Super fun gameplay, good music and great pixel art. Really good game!

Sumizome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52am

Seems fairly nice and polished.

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:03am

I'm a sucker for piano themes, as well as mining games so this is great.

evilDan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

I'm pretty darn impressed by all the content - upgrades and all

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:41am

Very nice art, torches were a nice touch to help guide me and not let me get lost. Overall very nice game :)

GresponApps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

A lot of potential, 3 things I didn't like: drilling with mouse clicks is pretty annoying, the miner gets stuck easily to the walls and loosing speed when trying to walk on diagonals.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:57am

Movement was a little clunky but otherwise not too bad. Fell in one of the holes and lost all of my upgrades, curiosity killed the cat I guess.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

solid effort. great gameplay and I want to play more. it goes to my favorite folder.

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00am

Good Game. controls are hard on the web version. Love the music :)

ahmeni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:10am

Fantastic music!

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53am

Once I got the upgrades, the game moved at a reasonable clip. However there wasn't too much of a challenge. Once you knew the trap blocks, it was smooth sailing. Maybe some enemies would spice things up. Good job.

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08am

Really polished game, you can see, a lot of work went into it.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16am

I like the style and actual gameplay, but the controls seem a bit "clumpsy".
But that's my only negative thing about it.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:45am

The little effects add a nice touch to it. The collision box for the player could be smaller to avoid bumping into walls, but it's just a minor thing, might be just me :)

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Wow! I'm amazed! Very cool game for such short time period!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

nice entry.. quite liked the art style ..good work :)

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Nice concept, well executed, I really liked the graphics :)

hadesfury says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Great polish !

Sodaware says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13pm

This was a lot of fun. The constant clicking got a little tiresome after a while (holding to drill might have been better), but other than that it's a pretty solid game. The music is great, the sounds work well and there's a nice progression system - it was fun getting the upgrades and finding new items. Good job!

lasergans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Thanks for this game ;)
Feels solid and is fun!

callidus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

nice game, really enjoyed it, fun to play, didn't have any input lag problems, liked the ending :-D

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Great game! Nice piano music!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48pm

I like the smooth music. ;)
Rather than clicking, I think just hold-click would be a lot better for drilling.

vexille says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Awesome music, it really adds a jazzy feel to the atmosphere! I was kinda annoyed that you lose the ability to walk diagonally when you pick up the movement speed upgrade.

vigrid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I liked the graphics and sound in the game. The controls could be made a bit different to allow diagonal movement.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

very solid everything. nice that you were able to fit some rpg features in such a small amount of time.

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

The gameplay was a little bland (just mining away) but it was relaxing and each upgrade felt nice!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Great job on the intro and music. The gameplay was pretty boring for me. The controls are sluggish, and I don't understand why using the mouse was better than just a keyboard key. All I'm doing is digging and there's no challenge. Good effort though!

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22pm

nice idea!

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Good Game!! I like the graphics and sound but the controls feel a little clunky.

TeamOmni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

really nice game music is nice, good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Pretty cool, you got alot done in the time! Felt a bit cheated after losing all my upgrades when I fell down a hole though :(

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Pretty cool game and well polished but I think it needs more challenge since the beginning. It's too monotonous to only dig, maybe some enemies?

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Nice! I really like digging games, and you managed to put a lot of stuff in for 48 hours!

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Liked the ending :) As others already mentioned, the controls feel a bit stiff and the collision boxes are a bit off. But I still had a lot of fun. I think a few less levels would be better. After the bombs got introduced the game becomes a bit boring.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46pm

nice work! great music!

Udell Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Fell in a hole! Would have been nice to know that was a bad thing before I did that...

Penguincat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

The controls are a bit awkward, not only due to keyboard input lag but the combination of moving with keyboard plus clicking on blocks to mine is unintuitive. The biggest problem for me was blocks take too long to mine; there's no value in wasting the player's time making it take so many clicks to break through each block, it should just be one click, or just break the blocks when you walk into them with the keyboard. I also think there's a few design issues like for example showing a darker spot on the tile when there's a pit under it makes the pit pointless, in practice it's no different than an unbreakable block because once the player sees that those blocks have pits then he's not going to mine them anymore. Maybe there's new stuff introduced in later levels that make long mining times or pits make sense, but unfortunately I got bored before I got there. However, I really liked the graphics and music, and what little story there was at the start had a nice bit of character to it, so I think you could easily turn this into a fun experience with some tweaks to the controls and gameplay, and maybe adding more story/background elements to discover along the way to give the player something more interesting to dig for than virtual gold pixels :P

notajetski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Moving diagonally would be awesome.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

gave my mouse a run for its clicking money. great! good atmos

Jake_Cohen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20am

This game was pretty fun and the music was nice. I had no idea the holes were holes until i lost 5 upgrades by purposely stepping into one =P

Only downside is it's a ton of clicking. If only you could hold the mouse or a button down to drill (like a drill)

roaet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very nice. I like the concept though the movement was making me feel uneasy. There is a bit of exactness with the bounding box of the character. I think it should be shrunk a little bit.

I enjoyed upgrading all of the things! Let me hold the mouse button down though!

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

I'm a sucker for well-implemented 2D lighting - good work on that front. I was a bit put off when I decided to see what the holes did and lost all of my power-ups to date - it felt like I was being punished for my curiosity.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10am

good music and cool effects. it took me a second to figure out what i was supposed to be doing, though...

valid4life says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:16am

Nice! Good playthrough. I enjoyed the different powerups, traps, etc

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:21am

Nice little explorer game :)

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33am

I really enjoyed this game, the concept was sound. I loved the upgrade system the most, second best to the sound track. I was very impressed with your audio.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:58am

Very nice, really like how you worked with the power ups

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:19am

nice little game. great job!

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Love the exploration. Overall a good game!

Almax27 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Nice little game :D Some explanation of the controls would have ben good, didn't realise I had to click to drill for 30 secs or so, and it was frustrating that I couldn't move diagonally, otherwise solid entry!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

The music is very cool, the game is simple but addictive, maybe a little bit repetitive but anyway the upgrade system is interesting !

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:51pm

graphics and lighting, nice game.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Very enjoyable. My only complaint is that 4 clicks per block feels like a lot. Perhaps there's an upgrade I just didn't find?

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Great job. Good gameplay, music, graphics, story...

gwa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Wow impressive what you have done :) realy cool game But i lost all my buffs :( after watching a bomb to long.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:53pm

That mining noise was so satisfying to hear! Really fun and cool concept

MidCry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Easy to grasp game play ... Nice work

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Very good game. It feels very complete and polished & kept me interested right through to the end. I think you should have made the player sprite a little smaller or the tunnels a little wider though, it was a bit fiddly lining up with them.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Nice job, had fun playing. Liked the graphics

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:01pm

The controls are a tad weird, but I didn't mind the game and found it relaxing. Great work making every part of the game.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Solid kernel of a game :) Just needs something like hazards or time-pressure to make it feel more like success and less like just busywork.

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:59am

Wow this is amazing!

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:53am

Really liked how you used upgrades and some simple mechanics to allow the player to explore. There wasn't much of a challenge though... and if there was, I didn't get the chance to get to it. Good job, I enjoyed this one!

Jamcount says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Loved it.

schnüt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:26pm

That was quite fun! The upgrades felt great, making the mining much easier. :D

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Whoa, this is really good! I hope you continue working on this game!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Beautifully made, I still wonder how to do such lighting, have to look it up sometime... As others said the main problem are the controls. Up and down always take precedence over left and right, even when you're standing against a wall. It bummed me out that I lost my upgrades when I walked into a pit, the slow mining was too frustrating. DBGN didn't work for me.

nonentheless says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I agree with the annoying clicking, would be great if it was assigned to a key. Still pretty nice after few seconds of play.

Detocroix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Oof, the bomb was harsh. I dug the tile and tried to pick it up. BOOM! :D

kikaz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Except the obvious miner for a 'beneath the surface' theme, it's really good. Good graphics and good music, thanks for the time I spent on it. Good job !

KunoNoOni says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Really nice game. Awesome job on it! The only really problem I found with it was the bounding box of the player needs to be shrunk a couple of pixels. This would alleviate the issue with having to be exactly in the right spot to move the player between 2 rocks. Shrinking it 1 to 2 pixels on all sides should do the trick. Other than that it was an awesome game!

Clavus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Well rounded game. Nice presentation. Drilling got a bit tedious (would've been nice if you could just hold the mouse button), but overall it was nicely polished.

King_Mew says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:43am

I loved the music. I found it a bit monotonous, but it was still fun!

Also, I thought the backstory text scrolled a bit too slowly.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:55am

Really cool game, lots of polish & cool mechanics.

May 2, 2014 @ 8:55am

Oh, that music... Wow! Really nice entry!

Nezzhil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:08am

The gameplay need more work.
The controls are a bit weird, left click to drill is tedious. Also, the game need some threads or countdown timer to add intensity to some challenge. I think that would benefit it a lot.
On the other hand, the music and game concept are cool. Good job, you need keep working on the gameplay-desing to improve!

atombrot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Had much fun playing (until I accidentally died and had the slow drill again ;) ). Very nice presentation in general. The game feels very complete.

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Great music!

GhostID says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I really enjoyed the music and graphics! I really enjoyed the animated lighting, it made the game more eye live. I did find destroy tiles kinda long though. Tapping on a block multiple times gets annoying. Holding it down would be best,

Good game :)!

DeathBread says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Well done, especially the intro! :)

donan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Thx for all your comments. Few days ago released a fix of 10 seconds change(1 word of code and 1 pixel move) that should have fixed the collision box and 8direction arrows but it seems like i uploaded it wrong. It should be perfect now. I should have checked my upload but i couldnt at that time >.<

About the clicks. Did the clicks mechanic on purpose, but it seems i should have added a hold button version too. I will think about it for a postcompo version :)

CaiusTSM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:26am

Wow, great graphics, music, and gameplay. Nice!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:10am

Cool game! Loved the upgrade system. Felt like I was constantly getting better as I got further and further along. Wasn't a big fan of losing all the upgrades when I died though. Felt like a harsh penalty. Overall though, very nice game! Great work!

runvs says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:46am

Hi there, nice entry. You could need some improvements on the sounds (drill sound is very annoying afer a time and why is there only a walking sound on changing levels?).
plus a "minecraft" digging mode would have been great, where you simply hold the mouse button pressed.
Nevertheless a great game!

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I waited for a bomb to destroy the tiles before walking over it, but it still killed me when I walked up to it even though it exploded over a second ago and there was no visual explosion remaining.

savethejets1 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:04am

Interesting stuff!

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:26am

Pretty fun game, and loved the ending.

jsspiegel says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Really fun game, love the music!

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Very nice, wasn't sure how to improve the mining genre beyond Boulder Dash when I was thinking about the theme for my game, but it seems I was not thinking that hard. Effective controls, good mood and very good mechanics. However, I think that the drilling part may be improved in a post compo version, like adding a usage feature that would make the drill bit break over time, so the player has to keep finding drill bits, instead of pressing several times the mouse button to break blocks. Never the less, a very solid entry.

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Real chill music

May 4, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Very polished game. I really dig the music.

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Nice concept. Loved all the mechanics, but losing all abilities after dying was kinda frustrating for me.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:14am

I like the presentation, but you introduce new threats to the player without signalling them very well as threats... I died to both "holes" and the "bomb" merely because they looked like powerups, causing me to lose all my buffs. It's funny being so mean, but it then makes players nervous of the other mechanics like locked doors etc.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Extremely well polished. The game play is lacking in challenge, but what's here is really nicely executed.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Oh man, losing the upgrades upon death is evil, makes the game much more tedious, to the point where i found it preferable to just reset (granted i wasn't very far down, but still).
Being able to hold down the mouse rather than repeatedly clicking would also have helped, or perhaps drill strength instead of drill speed powerups.
Pretty fun otherwise, and the amount of content is impressive!

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:07am

Solid game! Great progression with the upgrades :)

May 7, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Good job ! I love the gameplay, the art and the audio ! Well done :)

May 8, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Fun game! The music is good, but doesn't quite fit the mood. Nice ramp of mechanics as the levels progress.

Garris says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Intro scene was very well done, and the graphics were clean, if a little simplistic. The music was great, and really added a lot to the experience. The only thing I really didn't like was the constant reclicking to dig. I think it would have been less frustrating to just be able to hold the button down to drill and having drill speed affect a timer. Overall though, this was very well done.

thaaks says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice. The music was cool. The game is fun but could use some more different game play elements. Clicking the mouse so many times to drill a yellow stone became tiring pretty soon.
But I think if you elaborate a bit on it you have a very good game!

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Very well done! Really entertaining, and the music and sound effects are great. Perhaps the sound effects are a bit too loud.

AlexFili says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Great intro, the gameplay is nice and the hard work to break stone is a good metaphor for the real act of mining

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Fun game. I like how the lights and bombs guide you through the levels.

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:50pm

I liked the atmosphere on this one.

FrameMatt says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:39am

Its awesome, it reminds me the old snes games. (:
*Sorry for any typos

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:36am

Great game :) I like the "mine stuff" games, the only think I would change is the drilling method, so that it would be more complex and interesting in the long-term gameplay.

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:47pm

A bit tiresome to click every time, but it's a solid entry.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]