Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark

by harleylaurie - Jam Entry

A horror game made by a couple friends for the game-jam.
The objective of this game is to collect all the crystals used to repair the portal and escape the level.
Due to time constraints a proper menu was never able to be made and some bugs with the AI could not be fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Mood(Jam)3.79
#245Graphics(Jam)3.70
#446Overall(Jam)3.09
#531Audio(Jam)2.62
#549Theme(Jam)2.77
#553Fun(Jam)2.64
#620Innovation(Jam)2.45
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

Elforama says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18am

Oh my goodness this game is creepy. I wasn't completely sure what to do though. I started collecting those atom like items. Good job!

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

What am I suppose to do? A menu would help. Good graphics though, creepy as hell.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

OH MY GOD THAT FACE

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49am

Nicely designed enemy mechanics. The enemy models are really good-looking too!

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01am

2SPOOKY

nice work though, legit very scary spooked my guts off

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Heh, I really liked those small creepy guys, they are so cute. Nice work on this game! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26pm

The dead screen is epic XD Good job anyway!

Jeffalisk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:29am

Good fun game, creepy atmosphere and a few scares! Liked the
lo-fi intro and ending screens :D

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:33am

You have some great models and animations here--I'm thinking in particular of the grinning black stumpy dudes (henceforth "Gengars") and the way the ones that look like Haunter swipe at you. Good on you as well on adding enough player feedback that we could have a good idea of when we were being attacked, and how much damage we had taken. The system was effective, but unlike a lot of the "bloody the edges of the screen" effects we see in games to indicate HP, you did a good job of keeping the middle of the screen clear so that it's still possible to navigate.

However, it's very hard to figure out what to do here. I didn't feel I had any control over whether I won or lost, or any real ability to strategize. Was I supposed to shine my flashlight on the ghosts? I guess the enemy AI problem was that the Haunters kept on going after me even though I lit them up?

The voice acting got repetitive very quickly and didn't sound like the same VA, while the pentacles didn't really seem to make sense and there was a mismatch between the environment, the story, and the creatures occupying them.

But the moment when I first saw the black stumpy ones scurrying around, just vaguely outside of my vision, was fantastic. More of this, please.

D2FXRayG says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice atmosphere but the getting hit sounds were too loud

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]